Metroid Fusion on VBA GX

Discussion in 'Wii - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Starzboy77, Jul 12, 2010.

Jul 12, 2010

Metroid Fusion on VBA GX by Starzboy77 at 2:28 AM (2,130 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. Starzboy77
    OP

    Member Starzboy77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    The game runs decently but not at full speed and I just can't play it unless it's up to par. Anyone able to run this game at full speed? Are there any other GBA emulators out that can do this on the Wii? The game runs perfect on my PSP with CFW but I need to play it on my TV!
     
  2. Gamer

    Member Gamer DS Gamer

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2002
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Monterrey, México
    Country:
    Mexico
    Nope, the emulator still needs a lot of optimizations to work properly (full speed) with the Wii PowerPC processor. So, many games will work with low to heavy frameskip and a few ones will be unplayable. And no, there isn't any other GBA emulator on Wii.
     
  3. Magil

    Newcomer Magil Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Newtown Square, PA
    Country:
    United States
    Wait, what? VBA GX works perfectly with every game I've tried, including Fusion...
     
  4. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    plays fine and fast for me must be the settings your using.
     
  5. luckwii

    Member luckwii GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Country:
    United States
    Mine has always worked well. I have seen a lot of reports of problems, but I haven't had any.
     
  6. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Since GBA roms are too big to fit entirely in memory, they need to be continuously read (in big chunks) by the emulator from the device when doing ROM access so the method you use to load ROM can have some impact on the emulation speed .

    Installing IOS202 for USB2 speed might help, from what I've experimented it seems that USB2 > DVD >SD > USB
     
  7. Tantric

    Member Tantric GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2007
    Messages:
    185
    Country:
    Canada
    GBA roms fit quite easy in memory. The max GBA rom is 32 MB, and we have 64MB of MEM2 to store it in - plenty.
     
  8. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yes run it from a usb it will help.
     
  9. Starzboy77
    OP

    Member Starzboy77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try that. Always ran it through SD. Thanks.
     
  10. Starzboy77
    OP

    Member Starzboy77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    I tried running it through USB and I load VBA GX though USB but then it can't find my roms on the USB and says "can't find SD card" and I have to put the SD card and it will read the roms on the SD card but nothing on the USB even though I can boot VBA GX through USB?
     
  11. Starzboy77
    OP

    Member Starzboy77 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    123
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind I had to install the latest IOS202. But there is no change in the speed of the game. Its playable but not smooth completely and stuttures when I jump or the screen moves up and down. How do I know this is going USB2.0 speed? I know I have IOS222 installed...
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    how'd you get it to run off a hdd the damn thing won't even work for me even though hermes 222 IS installed.
     
  13. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    Oh yeah, you are right off course, my mistake.
    I was wondering since you are here: what is the faster ? MEM1 or MEM2 ? I would have thought the first 24 MB would be faster but i'm not sure.
     

Share This Page