Metal Gear Solid Twin Snakes Disc 2 Problem

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by Pikachu025, Jul 11, 2007.

Jul 11, 2007
  1. Pikachu025
    OP

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    I've been playing this game - burned to a GCOS-MultiDisc - for two or three days now, and I've now come to the place where I have to switch discs. However, no matter what I do, I can't get it to work. Disc 2 burned alone to a DVD+RW? Nope. Disc 1 & 2 burned alone to two DVD+RWs? Nope. Disc 1 burned to a DVD+RW and Disc 2 burned to a DVD-R? Nope. I always get the same error: "An Error has occured. Please turn off the NINTENDO GAMECUBE and see the instruction manual for further help." (or something like that).

    I really want to continue playing this, I'm now going to see if I find the original somewhere cheap, but if I can't: Why does this not work? Is there anything I'm missing?

    (Oh and yes, all discs boot fine by themselves. It's the disc switching from 1 to 2 or vice versa that doesn't work.)

    EDIT: Hmm, removing the disc at a point where I normally shouldn't switch discs and then reinserting the disc results in the same error. Very strange. I'll try to see what happens in the same situations using my original Tales of Symphonia...

    EDIT2: Nope, my original ToS works perfectly fine changing discs mid-game. ...Very strange. Any ideas?
     
  2. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Uhh, thats because once you're switching games, you have to go through the encryption check. And since you're playing yarr'd games, they don't pass and cause that error.
     
  3. 2cb2ct7

    Member 2cb2ct7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Australia
    @Linkiboy

    If I understand correctly it is not possible to play any multi-disc GC games on a chipped Wii no matter how the discs are prepared? I was unaware of this before now [​IMG] Glad I didn't start playing MGS!
     
  4. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Thats how I think it works. Some games might not have the check on the second disk, but I have had trouble with this on multi-disk games on PS1.
     
  5. Pikachu025
    OP

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Eh, doesn't matter, I got a original copy off eBay now.
     
  6. Akuma147

    Newcomer Akuma147 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    It works perfectly fine at the disc swap point on my Wii w/ Wiikey.
     
  7. mattwasx

    Newcomer mattwasx Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    You could just borrow or go out and rent a copy, get past the spot, save and then continue playing on your pirated copy.
     
  8. Pikachu025
    OP

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    lol, renting video games in Europe? Good joke.
     
  9. nathan026

    Newcomer nathan026 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    Australia
    Hahahahaha
     
  10. limmy

    Newcomer limmy Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Cambodia
    Hello,
    I played and finished MGS Twin snake (Us version, burned to two dvd-r (8cm)) on a wiinja v1 chipped wii and worked fined. The swap point worked as it should.
     
  11. Dirtie

    Former Staff Dirtie :'D

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    3,705
    Location:
    Zealer
    Country:
    New Zealand
    It might have helped to tell us what chip you have.
     
  12. Pikachu025
    OP

    Member Pikachu025 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    960
    Location:
    Austria
    Country:
    Austria
    Me? I'm using a Chiip, v0.9.1.

    Doesn't matter now anyway, real copy arrived yesterday.
     
  13. gambit420

    Member gambit420 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    France
    hey pikachu025 renting games in europe isn't that hard. if your flag is true, in vienna there are approximately 10 videorentals where you can borrow wii and gc games. outside from vienna things might look not so good of course!
     
  14. test84

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    so, after a YEAR, is it possible to play multi disc games with Wiikey clones? like when both discs are burnt into one disc with GCOS generated image.

    that question is asked for RE rebirth, Zero and MGS:TS.
     
  15. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No. The game won't recognize the second disc that way. Burn disc 2 to it's own disc. Disc 1 can be on a gcos multidisc though.
     
  16. wabo

    Member wabo GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,082
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Exactly what i wanted to know, thanks for the tip!
     

Share This Page