metal gear solid + gcos + wii pal (wiikey 1.9s) problems

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by NoZart, Jun 6, 2008.

  1. NoZart
    OP

    Newcomer NoZart Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    hey.
    the setup:

    wii pal, wiikey 1,9s
    wiigui 1.40 (set to pal, 2 games), imgburn

    the problem:
    i have some cube games collected and burnt some multiDVDs, all fine. but metal gear solid twin snakes keeps acting dodgy on me.

    using the US/NTSC version, when i burn the game to single DVDs OR GCOS, i see the konami logo for one second, and then the screen goes black and puts out the following:

    ERROR: module 'shared/mgso.rel' is too big
    limit is 4868096
    size is -2130739200
    over by -2135607296

    the size number varies between single and multidvd versions.

    when i use PAL images, GCOS simply hangs at "setting audio fix"

    i checked the isos for bytesize, all correct.
     
  2. Shyvnal

    Member Shyvnal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    169
    Location:
    UK, Birmingham
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe its the media your using?
    I have a wiikey, pal wii etc and i didnt have any problems, not sure if i was using the pal or the ntsc version though
     
  3. NoZart
    OP

    Newcomer NoZart Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    same brand and mediacode as with the other gcos images i burned. so that can be ruled out.
     
  4. Hardcore Gamer

    Member Hardcore Gamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's what happens to me but I was using the PAL version. It gives me slightly different numbered errors, mine says

    ERROR: module 'shared/mgso.rel' is too big
    limit is 4874240
    size is -2128641975
    over by -2133516215

    Man, I was looking forward to playing this today.
     
  5. knewknow

    Newcomer knewknow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    hmm.... I have the same error. Recent usenet d/l?
     
  6. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I used GC Multiboot to burn MGS: TS and Fire Emblem to the same disc using ISOBURN and it works fine. I'm also using a Wiikey utilizing 1.9s firmware.

    You may have a bad copy of the game. Have you tried re-downloading?
     
  7. knewknow

    Newcomer knewknow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, I suspect the same thing, considering I don't really see this error anywhere on the net, and 3 of us are having the same problem all within a few days.... and coincidentally there is an mgs up on usenet right now that's about 7 days old [​IMG]
     
  8. JKR Firefox

    Member JKR Firefox Back.

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,130
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, just re-download. I'm sure you can find a copy somewhere that works [​IMG]
     
  9. knewknow

    Newcomer knewknow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep... already on the D/L ;P
     
  10. din75

    Newcomer din75 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    32
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I had the same problem & found out it was a patched iso
    I got a different version of the game & it works fine now
    I am on the part where u have to swap the discs & put in the second disc & I'm having problems
    Burnt both on one GCOS disk & it doesnt work -let disk in (no good), tried taking the disk out & putting it back in (no good)
    Burnt disks 1 & 2 on seperate GCOS discs but still no good
    burnt disc 2 as just an iso but still cant get round it
    anyone know how I can get the 2nd disc to work?
     
  11. Hardcore Gamer

    Member Hardcore Gamer GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2008
    Messages:
    340
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That one is a gcm file, doesn't work, but there is one about 66 days old, two iso's that works.

    I've no idea about disk two working though.
     
  12. knewknow

    Newcomer knewknow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep, the second one I snagged works very perfectly. Just look for ck-mgsts on your favourite usenet search site ;P
     
  13. NoZart
    OP

    Newcomer NoZart Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Austria
    i tried the NTSC/US image (the 9 day old one), gave the file-error, also the pal image (54 days old) craps up.

    ck-mgsts is flagged (JAP). is the game still with english onscreen text and voices?
     
  14. knewknow

    Newcomer knewknow Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
  15. coldjim99

    Newcomer coldjim99 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    hey there i am having the same problem as din75, i have just finished disk 1, and i want to move on to disk 2,but i cant access disk 2, becuase i burnt them on the same disk.. for some stupid reason
    will burning just an iso of the second disk work?
    as i really want to comeplete so i can do mgs 2 and then move on to 4!
    so plz help.. im on a wii with a wiikey chip
    thanks
     
  16. maggifixxx

    Newcomer maggifixxx Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Germany
    Well I have the same problem using GCHombrewBooter + SD-Boot.
    Game Asks for using Progressive Mode, then the Konami logo appears, after that: Same Error
    Only the number is a bit different for me i think. (-703670865 Whatever)

    Prepatcher and Scrubber don't change a thing.

    Should I search another release and try it with that?
     

Share This Page