Messed up Argon install?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by eddietop, Mar 18, 2008.

Mar 18, 2008

Messed up Argon install? by eddietop at 2:54 PM (844 Views / 0 Likes) 10 replies

  1. eddietop
    OP

    Newcomer eddietop Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hi,

    I just received my Wii back after paying to get the Argon installed in it.

    First thing i do is fire it up and it hangs on the health/safety screen.

    I Power cycle it many times and i finally get into the main menu, try to put a disk in the drive the reader wont accept the disk; like the drive has no power or something.

    Power cycle few more times and i hear the drive spin up on boot, wasn't doing so before so much of not been receiving any power. I stick an original disk it and it comes up with an error and tells me to eject and reboot Wii [​IMG]

    Something is wrong with my Wii, it either crashes on boot/drive doesn't get powered up or it errors when trying to run a game (even originals).


    I take it this is a bodged install by the company i ordered it from or could it be firmware issue?


    Thanks for any help,

    Eddietop
     
  2. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Too be honest, sounds like they murdered your Wii.

    Have you contacted them and told them what happened?
     
  3. MarcoZ

    Newcomer MarcoZ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Either them or the delivery, because it doesn't seem too much of a dvd drive-only problem (crashing wii, power not going to the drive...)
     
  4. eddietop
    OP

    Newcomer eddietop Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Have contacted them, they want me to fill in an RMA on their site. Obviously i'm a bit dubious, they seem to be one of the most well known places in the UK though.
     
  5. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    An RMA, already?

    Usually a company will do a few other things ... ask you to check this and that ... before doing an RMA.

    Sounds like they are either having regular problems, or they suspected something might be wrong.

    Best to fill it in, and have them take your machine, and either fix or replace it.
     
  6. eddietop
    OP

    Newcomer eddietop Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Could the Argon its self be faulty and thats why the issues are so spread?
     
  7. Bob Evil

    Member Bob Evil The Department of Home-Made Insecurity

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    3,783
    Location:
    Out of the corner of your eye
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    To be honest, as it was not you, but someone you paid to do the install, and they seem to be offering to fix it, it does not matter what the fault was caused by, but only that it be fixed.
     
  8. eddietop
    OP

    Newcomer eddietop Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your right i guess i'm just worried that my whole Wii has been hosed.

    I'll get the RMA setup with them.
     
  9. MarcoZ

    Newcomer MarcoZ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Well did you try anything else than starting a disc? like, a VC game, opera, wii shop, etc.?
     
  10. eddietop
    OP

    Newcomer eddietop Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Went into Mii menu, loaded fine press home key to get back to main menu and it crashed [​IMG]

    Something is evidently screwed up with it.
     
  11. MarcoZ

    Newcomer MarcoZ Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Location:
    Italy
    Country:
    Italy
    Really really strange. Either it's related to the DVD drive or the Wii is completely fucked. Have it replaced :\
     

Share This Page