Menuloader v0.4 TEST (by marcan)

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Forcystos, Aug 7, 2008.

Aug 7, 2008
  1. Forcystos
    OP

    Newcomer Forcystos Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Puerto Rico
    Original post in Spanish:
     


  2. alex

    Member alex GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,657
    Country:
    United States
    lol... If you go to static.hackmii.com it says go away. XD

    Wait, is this like the other one, complete region free or do you have to run it every time?
     
  3. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    This one does not touch the NAND, so no, it has to be run every time.


    On a side note.... you can choose the menu IOS, so we might be able to patch in a softmod....
     
  4. Gnac

    Newcomer Gnac Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    79
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    YOU BIG TEASE. Get ready for 10 pages.
     
  5. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Haha..... I never said I would be the one to do it....
     
  6. erolz

    Member erolz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2008
    Messages:
    448
    Country:
    Belgium
    what can we do with the Menuloader?
     
  7. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    so wait... what does this do?

    from what I could try to understand, it's an "on the fly" language or region selector?
     
  8. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    +Region free Channels and Discs
    +Disables the health warning
    +Disables the background music
    +Loads the system menu based on the IOS you select(including custom IOS5 and 249)
    +Enables system menu debugging via USBGecko

    All without modifying the NAND.
     
  9. Christen

    Member Christen GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2007
    Messages:
    154
    Country:
    Canada
    Oooh boy, here come all the "I can has softmod?" comments.

    But, so I understand correctly, this is the version for NTSC Wiis?
     
  10. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    For anyone who doesn't understand what this is for: It's mostly for testing out patches, that could be made to the system menu, without the risk of bricking anything. So if you are not a dev, you can just turn around and walk away. [​IMG]
     
  11. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    This is a huge break thru... awesome work marcan!

    As a side note, is there any word on breaking Starlet yet? I really wish I knew how to do this, and had all the tools, but alas, I have to sit back and watch [​IMG]
     
  12. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    What would you want to break on Starlett? It works good as is. And there are allready custom IOS-versions running on it, if that's what you mean.
     
  13. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States

    Software running on Starlet is not of any concern. Controlling it, however, is the concern.
     
  14. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    IOSs are Starletts firmware, so if you run your own custom IOS on it you controll it. Where s the concern?
     
  15. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    c'mon, this pecuniar talk
    you both know what you are talking about

    system menu patch = custom IOS for system menu = unlocked starlet features directly from system menu
     
  16. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, you're quite misinformed.


    Starlet is a SoC and the IOS is the operating system.

    It's the equivalent of a PC and Windows.
     
  17. kedest

    Member kedest GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Country:
    Netherlands
  18. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
  19. Cyan

    Global Moderator Cyan GBATemp's lurking knight

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2002
    Messages:
    16,448
    Location:
    Engine room, learning
    Country:
    France
    The Marcan's menu may have different features.
    How can it disable the health warning if it's a temporary patch ?
    It have to be applied with HBC each time you want to use it. Reseting the wii will remove the realtime patch, then the warning will come back (I think).
     
  20. flobo

    Member flobo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    France
    Import games that were not working without freeloader/gecko OS still do not work. (both GC and wii).
     

Share This Page