Megaman 9 question

Discussion in 'Wii - Console and Game Discussions' started by gblock247, Jul 12, 2008.

Jul 12, 2008

Megaman 9 question by gblock247 at 12:27 PM (1,249 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. gblock247
    OP

    Member gblock247 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Messages:
    462
    Country:
    United States
    K with the advent of VC hacking and such, when Megaman 9 comes out on the Wii since in all rights it's gonna be a NES rom(from the looks of it) will it be possible to extract it and turn it into a base NES Rom playable on a regular Nintendo emulator? Just curious, since people are able to take regular NES Roms and inject them and play them on the Virtual Console. Thanks [​IMG]
     
  2. GameDragon

    Member GameDragon Mugiwara RAWR!

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2005
    Messages:
    1,355
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    It is NOT an NES game. It is a current gen game using old NES graphics. To put it simply, it is a Wii game, not an NES game.
     
  3. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    You'd be just as likely to see Lost Winds attempted to be turned into an SNES rom. If that makes it more clear.
     
  4. grubbymitts

    Member grubbymitts GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Country:
  5. Celice

    Member Celice GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,916
    Country:
    United States
    A damn good imitation, if you ask me. So far, all the visual aid we've had points to this being an authentic NES game. Hell, Capcom is even adhering to sticking with only four colors per 16x16 tile.

    I wouldn't be surprised if it is being developed as an actual NES game. The second you see no support for widescreen, the second you know it'll be true ^^
     
  6. Hooya

    Member Hooya GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,878
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Country:
    United States
    It uses some transformation technology that the NES can't do though, like rotation and scaling that is outside of the realm of NES capabilities. Some of the screenshots suggest this anyway.
     
  7. abort_user

    Newcomer abort_user Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2008
    Messages:
    48
    Country:
    United States
    actually. the nes could handle all that. i watched the whole video. its a little sad that people dont know what the nes is capable of.

    its an nes game. the problem: i doubt it is optimized for nes hardware. i highly doubt they will make an nes binary though they could in theory.

    but who knows maybe the wii ware game will just be a nes romhack with an emulator inside duct tapped together.
     
  8. Sonicandtails

    Member Sonicandtails GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    8 sprites per scanline rule is broken without flickering in the screenshots, and since the game does not use a blacked out leftmost bar to load the scrolling of the screen, it's not a NES ROM.
     
  9. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Mega Man 1/2 didn't black out the left bar, you know. Only 3/4/5/6 do that.
     

Share This Page