1. SteveF

    SteveF Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Spain
    Is it possible for you add a link from the Desktop to Install Windows? Possibly a folder where we place our flavor of Windows and Setup file is executed.
     
  2. gunix

    gunix Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 28, 2018
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Austria
    Ventoy v1.0.38 released

    ventoy.net
     
    Jayro and neofita like this.
  3. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    If you're looking for a folder to put your windows installation iso files, it's in OSimages and it automatically appears in the Ventoy menu!
     
    SteveF likes this.
  4. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    Jayro, for the next medicat update, will it be possible to update Powershell (I can't run it and when I open a .ps1 file, it tells me I must have a newer version of it)?
     
  5. SteveF

    SteveF Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Spain
    Actually, I meant from the Desktop of Medicat, while in the WinPE. Thank for the heads-up about Ventoy anyway.
     
  6. Renodos

    Renodos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Hi, Jayro,
    could you create a tool similar to Ventoy? The tool for updating the existing MediCat USB package to the latest...
    This is what I mean:
    On the USB drive is for example 21.01 version of the MediCat USB package and when there is a new version you release, the tool will update the existing package on the USB drive to include new, changed, or removed files...(just download and update the difference between 21.01 and 21.03)

    This would be much easier than downloading the whole new package after releasing a new version or update it alone according to the release notes.

    In my opinion, you have done a very good job with the MediCat USB... Just keep going...
     
    Last edited by Renodos, Mar 17, 2021
  7. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,397
    Country:
    United States
    I have integrated the new file filters from Ventoy v1.0.38 into ventoy.json, with all of them disabled to 0 (zero) by default:
    { "VTOY_FILE_FLT_ISO": "0" }
    { "VTOY_FILE_FLT_WIM": "0" }
    { "VTOY_FILE_FLT_EFI": "0" }
    { "VTOY_FILE_FLT_IMG": "0" }
    { "VTOY_FILE_FLT_VHD": "0" }
    { "VTOY_FILE_FLT_VTOY": "0" }

    Progress has been slow, but still being made. Just a tiny bit more testing to do and she ships out. (v21.03)

    The PowerShell in the VHD should keep you going in the MediCat VHD in the meantime.

    It's in the Start Menu, through the WinNTsetup3 thing. Alternatively, you can use Rufus to do a "WindowsToGo" installation on a regular harddrive/SSD, and it won't behave any different than a regular Win10 installation. And can be done from within the MediCat WinPE.

    I don't think so, I have no idea how to even make that work. I can't program shit beyond BASIC on a TI-83 calculator. :rofl2: I wouldn't even know where to begin.


    And I apologize for the delays in responses, I'm not getting notified when people comment here anymore. I just have to manually check the thread from now on every morning. :unsure:
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Mar 17, 2021
    nekinhas likes this.
  8. Renodos

    Renodos Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2021
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Slovakia
    Ok,
    then just upload the files that have been changed, updated and added in new version...
    Something like 21.03 update package...

    Thanks.
     
  9. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,397
    Country:
    United States
    I've tried that, and it's just a major pain in the ass for me to manage. Also increases my uploads by quite a bit, and I have a very slow upload speed.
     
  10. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    Is it possible to put the keyboard in AZERTY in Ventoy because the password of shredos for example is in QWERTY?

    What software do you use to change les.iso to.wim? Or maybe they are already in the correct format when you downloaded the tools?
     
    Last edited by AAA3A, Mar 17, 2021
  11. jdavid98

    jdavid98 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Cuba
    Hola Jayro quisiera saber como se puede editar la iso para agregar nuevos programas. Quiero agregar un reproductor de video como el PotPlayer y otras herramientas como el HDD Regenerator. Muchas gracias por tu trabajo y esfuerzo facilitando el trabajo de otros
     
  12. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    I already asked the question: Jayro uses UltraISOPortable which is present in PortableApps to modify iso. If it is to modify for example mini windows 10, Jayro uses 7zip for boot.wim and, if it is read-only, Jayro uses Easy_DISM.

    Ya hice la pregunta: Jayro usa UltraISOPortable que está presente en PortableApps para modificar isos. Si es para modificar por ejemplo mini windows 10, Jayro usa 7zip para boot.wim y, si es de solo lectura, Jayro usa Easy_DISM.
     
    borekon likes this.
  13. Tizie

    Tizie Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Jayro, two comments above you, has already given that answer. He said, "Just a tiny bit more testing to do and she ships out. (v21.03)". Don't pressure him with these nonsense questions about whether he will release it soon.

    When I go through this topic, I see that only you are asking him most of the questions and stalking him with reposting questions.


    Converting .ISO to .WIM can be done via the standard compress tool DISM on Windows:
    https://www.tenforums.com/tutorials/133098-dism-create-bootable-iso-multiple-windows-10-images.html
     
  14. Henx

    Henx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I tried to boot this on my 4K dell laptop, but the text and icons is so small I cannot use it. Sadly couldn't find a way to change the resolution.
    Another thing I've tried is to install the intel drivers to see if I could change it on the graphics control center, but it always says 'There is not enough space available'.
    The custom resolution utility is not an option either, as it needs the GPU drivers :/

    @Jayro Is there a solution for this? is there a way to include the drivers for Intel, AMD and nVidia and have it installed before the WinPE boots?
     
  15. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,397
    Country:
    United States
    Release coming today. I'm prepping the files now, and uploading will begin shortly.



    Graphics drivers don't usually work in WinPE builds because the PC needs a reboot after installation, and well... You reboot and you're back to square one. Plus, it would bloat the hell out of the boot.wim file, requiring much more RAM and longer boot times. MediCat VHD might be a better alternative for you, and it can be added to the VHD folder on your MediCat USB stick. (64GB stick or larger required to fit it.)

    Yes, this is quite easy. Make sure you're updated to the latest Ventoy version, and boot up the MediCat USB to the Main Menu. Push F5, and choose Keyboard Layouts. Then choose AZERTY. You should be all sorted after that.
     
    Henx and nekinhas like this.
  16. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    Thank you very much for this wonderful work! You help a lot of people and your tool is great! Thanks again and have a nice day!
    Thank you very much for this wonderful work! You help a lot of people and your tool is great! Thanks again and have a nice day!
     
    Jayro likes this.
  17. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,397
    Country:
    United States
    No worries. I just hope @ventoy can add a preferred keyboard layout option under the control plugin eventually, so people can keep their preferred keyboard layout between reboots. Would be a nice feature to have.
     
  18. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    Yes, but in the meantime, we don't often need to put our keyboard in Ventoy.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  19. Henx

    Henx Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 11, 2018
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Superb! I didn't know about the VHD version. If it is not too much to ask, having one file hosting service for this version would be very welcome.

    Btw... I love the new install with Ventoy separately. Much easier to customise this way. I don't have any more problems now :D
    Love your work! Thanks for providing it for free.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  20. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    France
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/officia...ows-10-virtual-harddisk-for-pc-repair.581637/
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Multiboot, MediCat, Repair