1. TheGothamKnight

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    recently have discovered this rescue/boot disk, i absolutely love it and THANK YOU for all the hard work, it is super super appreciated.

    i had a question though, when trying to use the Malwarebytes bootable rescue, i can not get it to actually scan a drive? it will update but then when i hit scan (even if i do custom and make sure the drive is checked) it just instantly says scan finished without actually scanning, am i doing something wrong?
     
  2. TheGothamKnight

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2021
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    sorry, double post
     
    Last edited by TheGothamKnight, Mar 1, 2021
  3. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    Test by downloading the real Malwarebytes iso. Add a 1 at the end of the original name, Put the first name to the downloaded file. Re-try with this one and tell us if it works:
    https://gbatemp.net/threads/release-malwarebytes-bootable.481046/
     
  4. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    In Ventoy.json, these lines of code appear :

    Code:
        "conf_replace_legacy": [
            {
                "iso": "/CentOS-7-x86_64-DVD-1908.iso",
                "org": "/isolinux/isolinux.cfg",
                "new": "/ventoy/centos_isolinux.cfg"
            }
        ],
    
        "persistence": [
            {
                "image": "/ISO/MX-19.1_x64.iso",
                "backend": "/persistence/MX-19.1_x64.dat"
            },
            {
                "image": "/ISO/ubuntu-20.04-desktop-amd64.iso",
                "backend": [
                    "/persistence/ubuntu_20.04_1.dat",
                    "/persistence/ubuntu_20.04_2.dat",
                    "/persistence/ubuntu_20.04_3.dat"
                ],
                "autosel": 2
            },       
            {
                "image": "/linuxmint-19.3-xfce-64bit.iso",
                "backend": "/persistence/linuxmint_19.03.dat",
                "autosel": 1           
            }
        ],
    
        "injection": [
            {
                "image": "/ISO/MX-19.1_x64.iso",
                "archive": "/driver/mx-driver.tar.gz"
            },
            {
                "image": "/ubuntu-20.04-desktop-amd64.iso",
                "archive": "/driver/ubuntu-driver.tar.bz2"
            },       
            {
                "image": "/cn_windows_10_enterprise_ltsc_2019_x64_dvd_9c09ff24.iso",
                "archive": "/driver/win10-driver.zip"
            }
        ],
    
        "auto_install": [
            {
                "image": "/abc/centos.iso",
                "template": "/ventoy/script/centos_kickstart.cfg"
            },
            {
                "image": "/ISO/cn_windows_server_2012_r2_vl_x64_dvd_2979220.iso",
                "template": [
                    "/ventoy/script/windows_unattended1.xml",
                    "/ventoy/script/windows_unattended2.xml",
                    "/ventoy/script/windows_unattended3.xml",
                    "/ventoy/script/windows_unattended4.xml",
                    "/ventoy/script/windows_unattended5.xml",
                    "/ventoy/script/windows_unattended6.xml"
                ],
                "autosel": 2
            },
            {
                "image": "/SLE-12-SP3-Server-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD1.iso",
                "template": "/ventoy/script/suse_autoyast.xml"
            },
            {
                "image": "/ubuntu-16.04-server-amd64.iso",
                "template": "/ventoy/script/ubuntu_server.seed",
                "autosel": 1
            }
        ],
    
        "conf_replace_uefi": [
            {
                "iso": "/CentOS-7-x86_64-DVD-1908.iso",
                "org": "/EFI/BOOT/grub.cfg",
                "new": "/ventoy/centos_grub.cfg"
            }
        ],
        "dud": [
            {
                "image": "/rhel-server-7.4-x86_64.iso",
                "dud": "/ventoy/dd.iso"
            },
            {
                "image": "/rhel-server-7.3-x86_64.iso",
                "dud": [
                    "/ventoy/i40e_dd.iso",
                    "/ventoy/qla2xxx-8.07.00.51.07.0-k-dd-rhel7u3-3.10.0-514.el7.x86_64.iso"
                ]
            },
            {
                "image": "/SLE-12-SP1-Server-DVD-x86_64-GM-DVD1.iso",
                "dud": "/ventoy/brocade_adapter_sles12sp1_dud_v3-2-7-0.iso"
            }
    However, the specified folders and iso's do not exist! Why not?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Does one of Jayro's Lockpick's tools allow you to bypass a password without changing it? If not, can you provide me with a free equivalent?
     
  5. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    All of those lines of code are just example plugins, you just fill them out with your ISOs if you need to use them. And yes, Jayro's Lockpick will bypass Windows Logon passwords on any Windows machine.
     
  6. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    But, will one of the tools temporarily disable the windows connection without changing or deleting the user password (keeping everything intact)?
     
  7. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    There shouldn't even be an internet connection, it's an offline tool. Everything will be intact, just the password made blank.
     
  8. Gremlin220366

    Gremlin220366 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2020
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    PC UNLOCKER 5.3 will allow you to bypass the password without resetting it. Boot into PC Unlocker select account to bypass and click options and then bypass.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  9. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    I apologize for no February release, as I've been quite busy this last month. March should have a decent release though. Not many ISOs have been updating lately, so there hasn't been much of a push to update either.
     
  10. Tizie

    Tizie Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2021
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    Netherlands
    There is no need to apologize @Jayro . You are our hero and we are very grateful for your contribution to the community. There is no pressure on the releases from you. Take your time, because on top of this you also have a personal life just like every human being.
     
    Ludo453, AAA3A and Jayro like this.
  11. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    Hello,
    1) I asked a lot of questions this month and you answered almost all of them!
    2) You have the right to take a break, given what you are asked!
    3) Don't feel you have to work non-stop!
    4) Your work is wonderful and helps a lot of IT people!
    5) Thank you very much for all you have done for us by publishing each version of Médicat one by one!
    I know it must take a long time, but it works perfectly and solves the problems of all Médicat users and more!
    Thank you very much, thank you very much!
     
    Tizie and Jayro like this.
  12. Fhed

    Fhed Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Philippines
    Minitool Partition has error. Only registered copy can be run in Preinstalled environment something...
     
  13. user4

    user4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Austria
    Jayro, I think it's enough to release a new MediCat USB every two months. The software doesn't change so much that you have to offer a new version every month.
    Also, some people only have a slow internet connection with a data transfer limit. For them, it's hard to download an extra 20.9 gigabytes every month.
    Thank you for your work.

     
    Tizie, AAA3A and Jayro like this.
  14. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks for understanding you guys. :yaysp:
     
    Tizie likes this.
  15. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    If the tools contained in Médicat are for Windows, is it possible to start for example mini Windows 10 or Médicat VHD on other operating systems (linux, mac OS...)?
     
  16. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    Only within a virtual machine, as far as I am aware.
     
  17. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    I did some research without finding anything, so I posted a question on the ventoy forum.
    I just got an answer this morning:

    screencapture-forums-ventoy-net-showthread-php-1614760441503.png
     
  18. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. Well at least now we know, and since Longpanda is aware of it, maybe he will add folder background in a future update.
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Mar 3, 2021
  19. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    Before Medicat is based on Ventoy, what software do you use to make the key bootable?

    I believe that, before, each folder had its own background, right?
     
  20. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat Dev and Gameboy Modder
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9,288
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it was based on the last 2.xx version of SARDU, right before SARDU became v3.00 and became yearly payware bullshit. I could no longer make newer ISOs, so I was forced to just stick with what I had. I later manually upgraded Syslinux from v4.x to v6.x myself. And stuck with that for a few years until June of 2020 when I discovered Ventoy. The only thing that sucked about the SARDU ISO was the inability to boot in to a UEFI menu. Instead, he just included rEFInd, which is worthless to me, and very difficult to modify to my liking or with my themes/artwork. Thankfully Ventoy came around, so I could reboot MediCat into the awesome BIOS/UEFI powerhouse that it is. And since I don't take donations, I just tell everyone to donate directly to Longpanda instead. He keeps MediCat alive just as much as I do.
     
  21. AAA3A

    AAA3A GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2021
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    France
    I visited their official website: they take care of almost nothing and the customization leaves a lot to be desired!

    Where are the language settings on Mini Windows 10?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Multiboot, MediCat, Repair