1. Kast0r

    Kast0r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Poland
    I confirm that antivirus 360 total security cleaned some apps from folder "PortableApps" like ccleaner and burnaware.
    So not only during installation they will be deleted but even after I turned on protection.
    After added them to safe ones everything is back to normal :)
     
    kramm likes this.
  2. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    The instructions on page one instruct you to disable your antivirus before you begin. Sorry if there was any confusion. Everything it finds will be a false-positive because of how portable applications are packaged.
     
    4lfre1re likes this.
  3. kramm

    kramm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2020
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Same happens with ESET Internet Security, which includes the NOD32 antivirus. They are detected as potentially unwanted applications, not virus or malware specifically. I guess that's the default setting and you can change it.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  4. John69

    John69 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    I've just been playing with V20.11 & have a few questions:

    Is there any relevance to the [UEFI] & [BIOS] before the filenames in the various categories?
    Is it to signify that this software is not compatible with the opposite thing?

    I use UBCD a lot in v20.10 of Medicat, but in this latest release, it has the [BIOS] before it's name, and as I boot in UEFI mode, it comes up with an error message about a missing file?
    I'm not sure what has changed to make this software fail as it always used to work on Medicat?

    I'm trying to add the latest Knoppix (Linux Distro) but when I try to run it, nothing happens & my laptop hangs.
    It's supported on the Ventoy page.

    I tried the Malwarebytes bootable, connected to the internet & tried to run all of the scans, and each immediately fails after 1 second & doesn't actually start the scan before the error.
    Should I manually use the update option before trying a scan or simply let it look for an update, which it does anyway at the start of any scan?

    Thanks in advance.
     
    Last edited by John69, Nov 29, 2020
    Jayro likes this.
  5. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    1.) Yes, the [UEFI] and [BIOS] tags signal which boot mode works best for which ISO/WIM/EFI file. The ones marked [UEFI] *should* work in either mode, but the BIOS ones don't support UEFI mode.

    2.) I'll have to look into this and see what I can do, but it's always worked for me in [BIOS] mode.

    3.) I take it you've tried Knoppix in both boot modes?

    4.) I always update manually first, then restart the app in the tasktray, and reload it. Then I do a custom scan and manually point it to the drive where Wi does is installed. (It's not always C:\, and you don't want to waste time scanning RAMdisks and other unnecessary drives like X:\)

    Hope some of this helps, and I'll dive into the other issues later today.
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Nov 29, 2020
  6. John69

    John69 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    A computer either has a UEFI or BIOS, but not both?

    As my laptop boots using UEFI there is no way for me to try the BIOS option?
    Could the fact you are now using Ventoy be why UBCD used to work on this laptop & now doesn't?
     
  7. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    Computers now use UEFI, yes. But they usually have an option to enable Legacy BIOS (CSM) boot mode too. If you hit F11 or F12 to bring up the boot menu, do you see your USB listed twice? If so, the non-EFI one is legacy boot mode. You may have to disable secure boot first for it to show up.
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Nov 30, 2020
  8. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Singapore
    You are right, ISO image is 100+M larger.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  9. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    Yup. And when you add up 70MB~100MB per ISO, it adds up quick. Definitely shaved off a lot of dead weight using the wimboot plugin.
     
  10. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Singapore
    I can confirm Knoppix work. I add it to the Boot an Operating system directory -- [UEFI]_KNOPPIX_V8_6.iso
     
  11. John69

    John69 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2020
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks...did you prove it works using BIOS or UEFI boot (or both) ?
     
  12. ShmilyGone

    ShmilyGone Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Hi guys!
    Do we have another method to make bootable USB supports both Legacy and UEFI mode?
    I tried using Ventoy. But it only works in Legacy mode, in UEFI mode it can not boot to USB and go directly to Windows.
    I used another ISO (Sergei Strelec) but it doesn't work too.
    My testing PC is Acer Travelmate P259 and Thinkpad T430s.
    Thanks!
     
  13. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    With the strelec iso, you have to extract the SSTR folder to the root of the USB, and then it will work.
     
  14. ShmilyGone

    ShmilyGone Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Vietnam
    Hi That is not my problem. I think it can not boot because UEFI mode on my pc only detects GPT partition, then i tried format Ventoy USB with Option>GPT and it worked.
    Thank you so much.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  15. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    Glad you got it sorted mate. :)
     
    ShmilyGone likes this.
  16. schlumpfpirat

    schlumpfpirat Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Haiti
    Hey, just signed up to ask this – how can I make an ISO out of your zip archives?

    Using an iodd MINI, so that's why an ISO would be desirable. Cannot really use Ventoy here, as that would completely defeat the purpose of the iodd MINI
     
    Last edited by schlumpfpirat, Nov 30, 2020
  17. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,647
    Country:
    United States
    If you just extract the ISOs out of the image, you basically have the same thing, but you'll need to use a donor ISO for all the .wim files, rename them to boot.wim, and save them to .iso format using UltraISO, PowerISO, or similar first. Ventoy is sort of like making ANY USB device into an iODD in a way. I own the iODD 2531, and love it. Threw in a spare 500GB SSD and never looked back. Recently I've been tempted to put my iODD's files on my C:\ drive temporarily, install Ventoy to the drive, and then put my files back to get the best of both worlds out of the hardware.
     
    schlumpfpirat likes this.
  18. schlumpfpirat

    schlumpfpirat Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Haiti
    Kinda – I think the main benefit of the iodd is that is simulated a CD-ROM Drive, so you usually don't have to hassle with UEFI x BIOS + USB Boot. Migrating the *.wim images is quite a hassle but I guess what can you do ¯\_(ツ)_/¯
    And you'll obviously loose the nice splash screen. Already thought about imaging everything to a USB stick as described in the tutorial and then creating an ISO off of it.

    Thanks for the feedback tho. Hope I'll get it for me and my 20 colleagues to run. Absolute must-have for any Sysadmin
     
    Last edited by schlumpfpirat, Dec 1, 2020
    Jayro likes this.
  19. mikelbc

    mikelbc Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Spain
    good morning! what a great job jayro, thank you very much.
    I am testing Ventoy for the first time, is there an option to have different versions of medicat on a 64gb pendrive?
     
  20. Kast0r

    Kast0r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Poland
    The MediCat is the one package and only one (but You can add more iso to boot from to "OSimages" folder). The choice is Your :)

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Jayro I have changed one line in ventoy.json file
    line 403 to
    "alias": "Run Own Images -->"
    Look much better now... I hope You dont mind :)
     
    mikelbc likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Multiboot, MediCat, Repair