1. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    neofita likes this.
  2. user4

    user4 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    May 3, 2020
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Austria
    BitComet has a portable edition: http://www.bitcomet.com/en/archive
     
  3. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    I personally use uTorrent v2.2.1 Portable, because it's the last good version before it was bloated up to be a commercial product. And also because the magnet links it generates aren't 5 miles long, unlike qBittorrent.
     
  4. vaporwave

    vaporwave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    @Jayro I'm wondering if you could add the anti virus tools from "MediCat Second Opinion" onto the main medicat version?
     
  5. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    Of I did that, then MedCat USB would be 8GB bigger and require a 64GB USB stick minimum. I'm trying to keep it at or below 32GB for as long as I can, because it's a pain to download for some people as it is with it's current size. Not everyone is blessed to have 1Gb/s internet like I do. :teach:
     
  6. vaporwave

    vaporwave Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2018
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    Australia
    Thats fair lol, I guess I can always just copy the iso's over to mine from the second opinion copy right? the icons and that should transfer too?
     
    Jayro likes this.
  7. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    You would have to manually paste the new entries into ventoy.json, but yes... Just don't overwrite ventoy.json! It will totally hose your MediCat USB menu if you do. The upload should be done, so let me create a post in the computer forum here in a bit. I'll post the forum link here when it's ready.
     
  8. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    MediCat: Second Opinion is now up for download. You can find it HERE.

    MediCat - Second Opinion Logo.png
     
    Abominator, crg and neofita like this.
  9. momosala

    momosala Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2020
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    France
    JAYRO,
    Medicat 20.11. I have just downloaded it and installed it on my USB key according to the new protocol. (For compatibility reasons with my devices, I formatted it in FAT32).
    The result is beautiful. The work was colossal. Thank you very much for your contribution. Thanks to you, we have transportable OSes and very efficient tools for computer maintenance. Thank you.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  10. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    You're welcome. Enjoy!
     
  11. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Singapore
    Just notice the Acronis Disk Director v12.5 is not a English version.
     
  12. khaosdvorak

    khaosdvorak Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Is there any reason not to use exFAT when using a regular flash usb drive for Medicat? For instance, is there some kinda limitation of the exFAT filesystem that would cause some booting issue with something on the USB drive or its utilities?

    I ask simply because exFAT limits writes to flash usb drives when compared to NTFS, and can actually improve drive life.
     
  13. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Singapore
    Notice that and actually I try out both way.
    Believe this is due to 32K cluster size (by default) on exFAT vs 4K size on NTFS. With a 32G drive, (in my case, I add a few ISO files) my files actually fit nicely on NTFS partition (with about 100+M left. But it would not fit on the same drive using exFAT format.

    Think there is too many small files taking up the space.
     
    Last edited by Chansm, Nov 28, 2020
    Jayro likes this.
  14. khaosdvorak

    khaosdvorak Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2020
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Strange, i tested this on my 64GB SanDisk drive with both exFAT and NTFS partitions and both times everything seemed to be working.

    I believe that you can't boot on some old bios systems while using exFAT due to older BIOS limitations though. So I switched to NTFS following the default instructions with a clean Ventoy install and all is good.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  15. TheTitus27

    TheTitus27 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Canada
    Hello, I've been using Medicat for a few days for work, but I cannot make MediaCreationTool work!
    Everything else seems to work just fine, but MediaCreationTool just freezes the computer for a while and then does nothing...
    I'd like to use it to reinstall Windows 10 on my clients PCs, and also for diagnosis.
    Is there any known issues with this? Thank you !
     
  16. xSpideyx

    xSpideyx Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Turkey
    Hello Jayro,

    This is a very nice work, thank you for your all effort.

    I have some questions :)

    1- I have recently discovered your multiboot Recovery USB and before that I was using Easy2Boot with my iso files on my HDD. Most of them worked with your USB too but I could not boot "Elementary OS 5.1" Linux iso and I got security fail on UEFI Secure boot.

    Could you please advise me a solution or alternative Linux distribution?

    2- On your USB I could not find any Linux Live iso. Depending on my search on the net there should be "Lubuntu Linux" on the previous releases if I am not wrong.

    Does it still exist?

    3- I want to change the keyboard layout language to Turkish on your Mini Windows 10 (WinPE) but I could not find a permanent solution on the settings after booted or editing the iso file before booting.

    I made a bat file with code below; it is working manually after booting but I would prefer a permanent solution before booting.

    Could you please tell me how can I do it?

    "
    @Echo off
    Wpeutil SetKeyboardLayout 041f:0000041f
    exit
    "

    4- I want to use my Bluetooth Mouse on your Mini Windows 10 (WinPE) but I could not manage to activate Bluetooth nor install my driver for Bluetooth on your Mini Windows 10 (WinPE).

    Is there any way?

    Thank you again :)
     
  17. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    1.) Elementary OS is listed as working on Ventoy here, so I'm not sure why you get an error. Might be your machine.

    2.) Lubuntu was replaced by SystemRescue (Formerly SystemRescueCD) a few versions ago. Under "Boot an Operating System, the SystemRescue ISO is infact a Live Linux distro. Once it boots to a command prompt, you just type startx and hit enter to get to the XFCE desktop.

    3.) I think it has to be integrated into the WinPE upon creation, not added in after. Unless you can use NTLite to add language packs, I wouldn't know.

    4.) On the root of the drive is a folder called System. Inside is a drivers folder, and you can place your bluetooth drivers in there (.inf, .sys, .dat, etc), and the OS will inject them upon loading the desktop. But it does make the desktop unresponsive for a minute or two, so you'll need to be patient.

    Hope this helps.


    It might just be an old version, now that 20H2 is out. There's also a Win ISO Downloader tool in the same section of the PortableApps menu that you can use to download an ISO from Microsoft directly. Hope this helps.


    I admit, I hadn't previewed that ISO first in VMware like I usually do. I'll try to get an English one eventually.
    UPDATE: Found an English version. Will be on MediCat v20.12 later next month. Thanks for telling me so I could fix it. I'll credit you in the changelog.
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Nov 29, 2020
    xSpideyx likes this.
  18. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    Singapore
    Not a aproblem. I use my own copy but is a iso image instead of wim.
     
    Jayro likes this.
  19. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,628
    Country:
    United States
    I honestly don't see a difference between .WIM and .ISO, with the exception of saving disk space by using .WIM. That's mostly why I go with .WIM files instead of .ISO files.
     
  20. Kast0r

    Kast0r Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Poland
    Hello Jayro ! This set of tools is fantastic. Version 20.11 works like a charm and its far far better then version one before 20.0x which after updated Ventoy made my pen-drive unbootable. Now need more tests but so far i tested:
    WinPE10_8_Sergei_Strelec_x86_x64_2020.09.21_English works fine,
    Linux puppy 9.5 works fine.
    More tests coming soon.
    Keep good work !
    Kast0r
     
    Jayro likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Multiboot, MediCat, Repair