1. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    Just very small files like logos and htm files and such. I deleted them and booted Memtest86 just fine, so they weren't needed.
     
    BuxB likes this.
  2. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Singapore
    I am using 32G USB drive. After building 20.09, found there is some 3G+ free space. So I used Disk Director program to move Ventory partition to end and expand the original partition that hold the iso files.
    After that, I copy "[UEFI]_PlopLinux-19.4-x86_64.iso" from old 20.08 USB drive to 20.09 one.
     
    BuxB likes this.
  3. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    I purposely added 1GB of free space on the drive, so people can add a few Portable apps or small ISOs if they don't want to resize it.
     
    Mikado73 and BuxB like this.
  4. Pabli

    Pabli Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2020
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    Poland
    Okay so when I am booting medicat I've getting one option in boot menu: "Linpus lite" and that one gives me an error. When I deleted files from VTOYEFI and copied new files from ventoy-1.0.20, it started showing me two options in boot menu. "Linpus lite" and "EFI USB Device" that I can boot normally :D

    Edit: There is something wrong with my laptop and ventoys secureboot support option, so I'm gonna use ventoy version without secureboot support
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Pabli, Sep 5, 2020
    BuxB likes this.
  5. Trigger911

    Trigger911 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    thank you Sir I am surprised I did not see that. I am guessing I am blind hahaha
     
    BuxB and Jayro like this.
  6. homeboy38

    homeboy38 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    France
    Hi,
    Since the latest update, after disabling Secure Boot on my ASUS BIOS, I have a "Secure Boot Disabled" message and nothing happens (to be honest, I did not wait too long). I tried the other key which I had not updated since 20.08 and I was able to boot normally.
    Ventoy issue?
     
  7. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    Possibly. I could have easily forgotten to add the secure boot option. :ph34r:
     
  8. homeboy38

    homeboy38 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    France
    How can I/we check/correct it directly on the stick?
     
  9. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    Burn a fresh copy to USB, and then run Ventoy to "update" it. But first check the options that secure boot is checked, and do the update before messing with the partitions.
     
    pandabeathugo likes this.
  10. homeboy38

    homeboy38 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2020
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    France
    argl, not just a config file to modify or a missing file that can be copied from the official ventoy update? No other way than burning a new key (no more key left on my side)
     
    pandabeathugo likes this.
  11. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know how secure boot works, so I really don't know. This is the only way I personally know how to fix it.
     
  12. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Singapore
  13. Abbbb

    Abbbb Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2020
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Poland
    MiniTool Power Data Recovery is broken there are crc errors in wim file in system32
     
    Last edited by Abbbb, Sep 10, 2020
  14. Ludlulu

    Ludlulu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    How to add a folder with Linux distributions and a logo to the file?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Hey Jairo! How to add a icon to a folder on Ventoy?
     
  15. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    Open the /Ventoy/ventoy.json file in Notepad++ and you'll see how I achieved it.
     
    Ludlulu likes this.
  16. Chansm

    Chansm Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2020
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    Singapore
    Same here, not working.
     
  17. MockyLock

    MockyLock GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    274
    Country:
    France
    @Jayro
    Just to let you know that your stuff helped a co-worker to fix his computer.
    Thank you !
     
    Jayro likes this.
  18. Ludlulu

    Ludlulu Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks!
     
  19. pandabeathugo

    pandabeathugo Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2020
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    @Jayro , i am having the same issues on a Bootcamp (2014 Mac, High Sierra, Boot authorized) and i'm having the same errors regarding secure boot. I am currently trying on the usb boot creator "UNetbootin" and will try with 'YUMI' multiboot usb creator as well.
    When booting on my external SSD Bootcamp Partition, at the boot, i press the "Option" Key to boot on the .EFI partition of Medicat USB, but it can't go past those secure boot errors when prompting an OS or option on Medicat menus.
    Do you have any particular instrutions on how to make sure the usb can go past secure boot ? Or add this option on the img?
    Thanks for your stellar work!
     
    Last edited by pandabeathugo, Sep 12, 2020
  20. Jayro

    OP Jayro MediCat USB and Malwarebytes Bootable Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    8,279
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know the first thing about booting up a Mac. I've never owned one, and I never will. I don't fully understand how Bootcamp even works.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Multiboot, MediCat, Repair