MediCat DVD: A Multiboot Linux DVD

Discussion in 'Computer Software and Operating Systems' started by Jayro, Feb 2, 2014.

  1. Zalex

    Zalex Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Mar 13, 2019
    Spain
    Also,

    A question about Opera:

    Tried to update the default installed and then stoped working.

    It has any custom settings?
    Any that we would retain to update the browser normally?


    Thank you




    Redmi Note 7 Pro | Tapatalk
     
  2. Zalex

    Zalex Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Mar 13, 2019
    Spain
    To continue with the App Suggestions:

    QTTabBar: Tabs on the Windows Explorer.

    Would be nice if would be considered if works it on the Live 10, - needs a log out to be applied -.
    Attached, there is a settings file - unzipp it -.
    Would be easier to check some of its features, it has a lot.

    There are other Apps as Clover, but QT integrates itself on the WinExplorer.

    Clover Portable hangs opening new windows outside the App, at least the versions I've tested.


    Also,
    The current W10 Live Explorer takes lots of space with the Ribbon menu opened, at least for my the bar is mostly unused.



    Thank you

    Redmi Note 7 Pro | Tapatalk
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited by Zalex, Oct 9, 2019
  3. NANASHI89

    NANASHI89 GBAtemp Addict

    Member
    11
    May 3, 2012
    United States
    Next week? Week after?
     
  4. Jayro
    OP

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Member
    15
    GBAtemp Patron
    Jayro is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 23, 2012
    United States
    Octo Canyon
    Whenever Lubuntu 19.10 stable drops, MediCat will follow a day or two after.
    (My uploading bandwidth is absolute garbage, so it takes over 24 hours to upload all 4 ISO images.)
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Oct 9, 2019
  5. webrod

    webrod Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 10, 2019
    France
    Hi,

    My WIndows 10 pro does not start anymore (critical process died).
    I tried first with my WIndows 10 USB key to re-install (keeping the files and SW), but it didn't want, it's very crazy that it wants me to run that process by ... starting windows first!!
    which of course I can't...
    I'm trying some LiveCDs. so I'm trying medicat now.
    Mini WIndows 10 does work, but I tried to launch Windows 10 repair so I clicked on it from the medicat menu, it starts to load files but then fails because of a missing file (something like 'winload'). .
    I don't have old restore points anyways (seems it was not enabled) so now I think I will just restart from a backup I have done some weeks ago with Easeus TODO BAckup.
    I wanted to use Medicat (I know I can generate a rescue disc from Easeus TODO backup by using another PC, but my goal is to have everything with medicat), but it's not in the list of Medicat SW (norton ghost is there instead). i found on this forum that it was there in the past but has been removed :-(

    My question is: is there a procedure described somewhere to add such tool to Medicat?
    I didn't find a portable version of Easeus TODO BAckup. that would have been easy, I would just have copied the .exe on the Medicat USB key. But what I have is the SW installation of Easeus todo backup, thus my question about how to add it, in case this is possible.
    if not I will check if I can run the installation from mini Win 10.

    thanks you for you awesome project. There are tons of nice tools!
    thanks
    Rod
     
  6. Zalex

    Zalex Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Mar 13, 2019
    Spain
    You can add isos.

    Look for some pages before on How to enable them on the Menu.


    Also, there is AIOMEI Backup on MCat.
    Didn't tested any of them, AIOMEI/EaseUS.
     
  7. Mat69

    Mat69 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Mar 17, 2016
    Canada
  8. Graveen

    Graveen Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 10, 2018
    France
    Hi @Jayro , can you point me a documentation to include my own Win10PE.iso in any menu (preferably the Windows 10 8 7 one) if possible ?
    Sorry if this question already been asked but search was not successfull :(
     
  9. Graveen

    Graveen Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 10, 2018
    France
    In addition, i also would like to integrate Win 10 installer in my language, in many flavors (1803,1809, 1903, 1903 with Veracrypt drivers). I guess it should be similar as running an addition .iso containing a PE image ?
    Also, can you see a problem in installation iso integrated this way on 2nd stage install ?
     
  10. webrod

    webrod Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 10, 2019
    France
    thanks I have found how to add an ISO!
    now how can I add an app? I guess I need to add to the Programs folder, but then how to access it?
    Actually I'm looking at adding a .bat file that would jus run those commands
    bootrec /FixMbr
    bootrec /FixBoot
    bootrec /ScanOs
    bootrec /RebuildBcd

    it solves 90% of the crashs I had last years.

    thanks
    Rod
     
  11. Zalex

    Zalex Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Mar 13, 2019
    Spain
    You could store it on a folder at the Pen's Root, on Docs from PortableApps, or similar and then search there.

    PortableApps has Auto run feature for Apps, you may try it with a custom CMD App.

    You can search for Launchy app and use it to launch it just typing - short info and Link 2 pages ago (Apps Suggestions) -.


    Maybe there are more options.

    Redmi Note 7 Pro | Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by Zalex, Oct 12, 2019
  12. Graveen

    Graveen Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 10, 2018
    France
    Can you describe HOW to add an ISO and boot it from Medicat interface ? Thank you.
     
  13. Zalex

    Zalex Member

    Newcomer
    2
    Mar 13, 2019
    Spain
    It's on the topic, look around since 10 pages before.


    I don't remember the file and can't access MediCat right now.


    Redmi Note 7 Pro | Tapatalk
     
    Last edited by Zalex, Oct 13, 2019
  14. webrod

    webrod Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 10, 2019
    France
    jusqt add your iso to the iso folder.
    then edit main_menu.cfg to add an entry
    copy/paste one of them and just replace labels and names + the name of the iso file
    e.g. I did this to add easeus TODO backup:
    label Easeus TODO backup
    menu Easeus TODO backup (Rod) ==>
    kernel /boot/grub.exe
    APPEND --config-file="find --set-root --ignore-floppies /ISO/Emergencydisk.iso ; map --heads=0 --sectors-per-track=0 /ISO/Emergencydisk.iso (hd32); map --hook; chainloader (hd32)
    text help
    Restaurer une image EASEUS
    endtext

    only change what I put in red

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    I tried the "Win 10 recovery" option from medicat (below mini win 10 option") and it does not start.
    it says it misses a file or contains error
    \windows\system32\boot\winload.exe
    status: 0xc0000225

    I tried on 2 PC (64 bits ).
    any idea?
    Win8 recovery work well.
    min Win10 too

    thanks,
    Rod

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    wow I sent 2 posts and they are merged automatically lol
    hopefully someone will see my question below my answer :-)
     
    Zalex likes this.
  15. Graveen

    Graveen Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Dec 10, 2018
    France
    Merci mec ;)
     
  16. SteveSi

    SteveSi Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Apr 22, 2017
    Some notes on getting Medicat to work fully when prepared using Rufus or Easy2Boot.

    Fix for Gparted not booting
    Fix for UBCD utils not booting
    SuperGrubDisk 2 not working
    LazeSoft ISO missing
    etc.
    Site at rmprepusb dot blogspot dot com for 2019 Oct 13 post
     
  17. webrod

    webrod Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Oct 10, 2019
    France
    Hi,

    the recovery folder has 3 sub folders, one per recovery (7,8 and 10).
    Is it possible to add another one and then see it from the menu?
    if so which file should I udpate?

    main_menu.cfg is only about the main screen of medicat.
    it has one entry about recovery that redirects to a sub screen where we can select either mini WIN10 or one of the 3 recovery.
    How to edit that sub screen to add a fourth recovery?

    thanks,
    Rod
     
  18. Jayro
    OP

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Member
    15
    GBAtemp Patron
    Jayro is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 23, 2012
    United States
    Octo Canyon
    After fighting for hours and hours and HOURS with GRUB, finding no help online, etc... I finally got my Windows Installer menu up and running. It will be on the Main Menu.

    After flashing your USB stick with Rufus, you'll see 3 new folders on the root called:

    InstallWindows8
    InstallWindows81
    InstallWindows10

    Windows 8, 8.1, and 10 are currently supported. Just extract your windows disc files into the right folder. It's utilizing wimboot, so Windows 7 is not supported (nor will I waste any more time trying). You edit grub.cfg on the root of the drive to add more Windows entries. Here's a screenshot of my shitty and crude menu:

    grub_menu.


    If anyone knows the proper syntax to get this to 1024x768 or 1280x1024, I'm all ears. Nothing I've tried works for me. Not even background images.


    And the Main Menu is looking great so far:

    main_menu.
     
    Last edited by Jayro, Oct 20, 2019
    CuirMoustache likes this.
  19. madbomb122

    madbomb122 Member

    Newcomer
    1
    Feb 1, 2017
    United States
    Jayro likes this.
  20. Jayro
    OP

    Jayro MediCat USB and Mini Windows 10 Developer

    Member
    15
    GBAtemp Patron
    Jayro is a Patron of GBAtemp and is helping us stay independent!

    Our Patreon
    Jul 23, 2012
    United States
    Octo Canyon
Quick Reply
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...