Maybe buying this but, want to ask...

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by rozzan143, Nov 30, 2007.

Nov 30, 2007
  1. rozzan143
    OP

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    The slot-2 cyclo is it good i have v.7 on my DS havent flashed it yet. when im buying this can i play games and watch movies??
    do i have to Flash my DS???
     
  2. Jax

    Member Jax Pip Pip Cheerioink!

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,092
    Location:
    L.A.V.
    Country:
    Portugal
    Yes, you can play games and movies and you have to have a passcard if you don't want to flash your DS.

    Why would you buy a Slot-2 Cyclo?
     
  3. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    He HAVE to flash his DS..
    IF he wants to play DS games on it from SLOT2 without a passkey
     
  4. rozzan143
    OP

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    which flash verision should my DS have??
    i dont have much money for evu.
     
  5. Monkey01

    Member Monkey01 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2006
    Messages:
    586
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Country:
    Netherlands
    The slot2 cyclo is a slot2 supercard clone with outdated firmware and not even cheaper. Why'd you go for that one?
    And yes you can play games/movies on it, just like you can with any other card.
    And you either need a passcard (which are nowadays the same price as a cheap slot2-flashcart that can also serve as a passcard) or get your nds flashed...
     
  6. rozzan143
    OP

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    in swe the Slot-2 cost 10€
     
  7. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    A Slot 2 Cyclo costs about 300KR (i guess its about 45$) and the Slot 1 Evolution costs about 500KR ( about 70$) i say its totally worth it for such a better cart
     
  8. rozzan143
    OP

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    none (swedish) asso utan passcard så kostar adaptern 100kr
     
  9. noONE

    Member noONE ~~~~~~~~~~~~

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    968
    Location:
    Linköping/Norrköping, Sweden.
    Country:
    Sweden
    That might be true, but where do you find it for that price?
    Iv'e only found it for about 300kr and thats WITHOUT the passcard
     
  10. rozzan143
    OP

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    http://www.psxcare.com/product.php?xProd=586&xSec=81 but it 250kr with out passcard I think
     
  11. Sinkhead

    Former Staff Sinkhead yay p1ngpong.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Across the pond
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't get it, it's not worth it... It has outdated firmware, no support, and bad compatibility. The CycloDS Evolution (slot-1) is really good though.

    - Sam
     
  12. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I agree with sinkhead. It may be cheap, but other cards are so much better.

    For example, I just received my M3 Real for 24 euros. And it's probably the best Slot-1 cart available!
     
  13. rozzan143
    OP

    Newcomer rozzan143 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Sweden
    yee im buying cyclo evu instead... its way to better [​IMG]
     
  14. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    You'll probably get a dead one on arrival. The recent batch 3 evos have been reported to be EXTREMELY poor quality and not even working in some cases.
     
  15. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    Buy one from someone that won't take too long to ship AND will replace from their stock if it's DOA. If you go through Team Cyclops for a replacement it looks like you'll be waiting a minimum of 3w and MUCH more likely longer.

    i.e. If you can either buy from a local retail shop and either bring your DS and insist on testing it right there AND make sure that even if it does work that they'll exchange it from stock if it stops working in a few weeks or so.

    If buying online, do NOT buy from mod-chip.com as they will NOT exchange from their stock, beyond that I don't know of any e-tailers in Europe to recomend as buying from mod-chip was my first purchase from Europe. (I thought that I'd get it quicker from them, but shipping to North America took forever, and the won't exchange from stock. Mine was DOA. It's a nice card but they've REALLY got ALOT of WORK to do CLEANING up their act before I'll recomend one. WAY too MANY reports of DOAs on the official forums and elsewhere.)

    @Golden
    Quality?! What quality?!

    Still not sure what I'm going to get as alternative card before I ship my Evo back for exchange... down to M3 DS Real or Supercard DS ONE SDHC...
     
  16. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    Retail shop?! Pshhhh. I wish they had these in retail shops.

    Anyway, NO ONE should be buying a batch 3 cyclo unless they love team cyclops' ass. This is probably one of the worst DOA incidents if not the worst I have ever heard of.

    As for you cutterjohn, I recommend a acekard RPG as their shells kick ass! and come with 1G of memory.
     
  17. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    If he could, I would. It'd be worth if he could test it BEFORE buying, and they would replace it with stock if it died a few weeks or so after buying... It'd be worth the extra $$$.


    ACEKARD R.P.G.: I looked at these before pulling the trigger on the Evo, but:
    Bottomline is that I want a solid/reliable solution as quickly as I can to reduce what I carry around hardwarewise while travelling. The Evo was supposed to have done that for me, and given me time to leisurely pick up a backup, but... and so:

    Acekard: well, I want another slot-1 fairly fast which means US based e-tailer only.

    Realhotstuff got me an order in 2d, and I know that the replace faulty items from stock so they're good in my book, but they don't carry Acekards, and do carry M3/Supercard.

    Divineo, my other much less preferred choice also carry M3s & SUpercard, but not Acekard...

    Onboard FLASH I ONLY want to see for firmware, i.e. somethng that won't be changed often. I've got enough very good uSDs for any slot-1 card to work well for me already. The open source firmware/kernel look/sound interesting but I edidn't see much of a community yet when I checked several weeks ago, and anyways no US e-tailers that I'd consider buying from ATM carry it. Maybe after I'm settled with the Evo, and the backup, I'll feel like sending off to outer mongolia for an acekard and the accompanying 1m or so delivery time, but I'm not willing to do that right now.

    [EDIT2]
    And IIRC the Acekard RPG was fairly expensive comparatively speaking. The Evo is making me gunshy of higher price tagged cards ATM.

    Bamboogaming: shipping time would suck. Took 2w for my Evo to get to the US from Austria! Almost as bad as ordering from HK.

    My prior order from RHS took 2d.
    [/EDIT2]

    EDIT1: Fixed up some comments a little.
     
  18. golden

    Member golden What a Digital Dummy!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,453
    Country:
    United States
    Bamboo gaming has the acekard for $84 shipping included but I don't know how fast their shipping is as it is from australia.
     
  19. OzModChips

    Member OzModChips GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2007
    Messages:
    570
    Location:
    Melbourne, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Its from hong Kong, not austalia
    So many people think they are from australia, its nuts
     
  20. cutterjohn

    Member cutterjohn GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    648
    Country:
    United States
    It's probably because they list their prices in AUSD IIRC.
     

Share This Page