Maxtor Pata Drive spindown issue

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by icebrg5, Jun 5, 2009.

Jun 5, 2009
  1. icebrg5
    OP

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    I got an older 100gb pata Maxtor internal drive that i put inside an external enclosure.

    WBFS manager detects it fine and everything and the loaders see it fine.

    Playing mario it freezes up after a few minutes plays and its froze numerous times on boom blox bash party.

    I have sopme maxtor software that sees my maxtor one touch mini and lets me change its sleep mode but it will not
    detect this drive.

    Also i tried the program called HDDSCAN and the settings in it say

    Automatic Acoustic managment is on
    set to 128 recommended is 192

    Power management is disabled.

    Advanced power management is disabled.


    Should i turn off the acoustic setting?


    Or does anyone know any other software that might see my drive settings and let me change them?


    My drive is a maxtor pata/ide 100GB model 6L1P100
     
  2. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    search on what hdparm command to use [​IMG] it's in a thread on wd drives spinning down, dont have a link
     
  3. icebrg5
    OP

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    hdparm cant see the drive at all.Its connected through USB thats probly why.

    Does it have to be connected in the computer for hdparm to see it?

    Also does hdparm work on ide/pata drives or only sata?

    Also used hddscan program and both power managements are disabled.
     
  4. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    Can you pull the drive out of the enclosure and connect it to your PC via PATA?
     
  5. icebrg5
    OP

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    I can but what will that do?
     
  6. hdhacker

    Member hdhacker GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    432
    Country:
    United States
    If there is any way to turn off or set the spindown feature, you will have a much better chance of doing it though the native interface instead of USB.
     
  7. icebrg5
    OP

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States

    Well using HDDSCAN program it will let me change the advanced power management settings from 0 to 254 of 255.

    I had it at 0 i thought that was "off"

    The powermanagement says idle time is disabled but it will not me save a new settings with it.
    I can change it to 8-12 hours(thats the max setting) and it will not save it.


    You got aim? if so hit me up please

    icebrg5
     
  8. icebrg5
    OP

    Member icebrg5 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2007
    Messages:
    2,326
    Country:
    United States
    Well i installed the drive inside my older computer that has ide hookups and i changed all the settings with hdparm
    -S 0
    -B 255
    -K 1

    Reinstalled it into the external case and played mario kart and then paused it for 30+ minutes and it started up just fine afterwards.

    Not sure i did it right though on mario kart or not.

    Does it matter what kinda race you do or when you pause the game and leave it set?

    Also are there any other games i can test out to see if the spindown is still an issue.


    Also i used HDDScan on the hard drive after putting the drive back in its external case and its settings still show the same as before.

    Not sure if its right or not.Could be the programs messed up or my drive resets after a powerdown.
     

Share This Page