Maximum SD size for R4DS

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by MADacoda, Jul 26, 2007.

Jul 26, 2007

Maximum SD size for R4DS by MADacoda at 11:21 PM (7,444 Views / 0 Likes) 15 replies

  1. MADacoda
    OP

    Newcomer MADacoda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Leiden, NL
    Country:
    Netherlands
    What is the maximum size of the microSD that I can use on my R4DS? And if it is possible did anyone try something bigger then 2GByte?
     
  2. PikaPika

    Member PikaPika GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2006
    Messages:
    695
    Location:
    AZ
    Country:
    United States
    I'm pretty sure 2GB is the biggest usable on an R4, since it doesn't support SDHC.
     
  3. NightKry

    Member NightKry GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    278
    Location:
    Like, here?
    Country:
    Canada
    There are 4gb microSD cards...
     
  4. roboz

    Member roboz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Japan(I wish)
    Country:
    United States
    The 4gb micro sd cards are the SDHC ones and R4 doesnt support it, unless you can make a 4gb Transflash card.
     
  5. Zombie_Mario

    Member Zombie_Mario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    426
    Country:
    United States
    Aww.... I was getting all hyped up for a 4GB MicroSD card for nothing! [​IMG]
     
  6. JacobReaper

    Member JacobReaper I Love You....

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1,677
    Location:
    Spoomo
    Country:
    United States
    well i got a 3GB card, BAM.. lol
     
  7. MADacoda
    OP

    Newcomer MADacoda Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    36
    Location:
    Leiden, NL
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Well let's hope that the R4DS team updates their firmware with support for SDHC [​IMG]
     
  8. bfoos

    Member bfoos GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Messages:
    328
    Location:
    Upstate, NY
    Country:
    United States
    Hope all you want, it won't happen. It's a hardware limitation.
     
  9. .::5pYd3r::.

    Member .::5pYd3r::. Viva La Pizza

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    766
    Location:
    The GREAT Southern Land :D
    Country:
    Australia
    You can get 4GB non SDHC microSD cards
     
  10. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Then prove it. We can't let such information confuse people if they don't actually exist.
     
  11. hankchill

    Member hankchill I Pwn n00bs.

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    2,344
    Location:
    Outer Space
    Country:
    Canada
  12. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Doesn't seem to be released yet.

    edit: the point is, that certain people were under the impression 4GB micro non SDHC cards were out a while ago and they had used them, and I can find no proof of this
     
  13. roboz

    Member roboz GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    142
    Location:
    Japan(I wish)
    Country:
    United States
  14. retman

    Banned retman Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Why did the R4 team put down the R4DS can support 4Gb when 4GB is only available in SDHC and the r4ds cant use SDHD?
     
  15. Wez

    Newcomer Wez Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    There were unofficial 4GB microSD cards which can be used in the R4DS.
    'unofficial' because they was not the official SD standard specification. More of a hybrid-SD standard in between 1.0 & 2.0 (SDHC).

    I've yet to find a 4GB microSD card, because they don't follow the SD standards, so stores are usually neglect buying them.

    Edit: found a non HC 4gb SD card (not MicroSD but a start):
    http://www.mymemory.co.uk/memory/MyMemory/...Secure/Digital)
    http://www.onlinememory.co.uk/transcend-4g...peed-p-717.html
     
  16. marth989

    Member marth989 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    225
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just to clear up a thing to, when r4 said that the r4 can use 4gb microsd they were correct it can,

    this is because they don't exist and no one can try them, so r4 cn not be proven wrong, if they

    wanted to they could say that its compatible with 32gb microsd but they will never exist because

    sdhc is required, also they 4gb nokia microsd is more than likely a hdsc, especially considering they

    2 of the first mobile phones to except hdsc and the card is being made for them,

    i hope this clears up a few misunderstandings [​IMG]
     

Share This Page