1. |<roni&g

    |<roni&g GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2010
    Messages:
    294
    Country:
    United States
    True, GameCube was awkward till the Wii homebrew came along but still didn't need a chip
     
  2. Tony_93

    Tony_93 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2015
    Messages:
    2,414
    Country:
    United States
    People are definitely going to try. And then $3 cheaper chinese clones are going to flood ebay, just like the payload injectors lol
     
  3. Bladexdsl

    Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    18,201
    Country:
    Australia
    MAGIC
     
  4. PhyChris

    PhyChris GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2009
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Canada
    it looks like a snap-on eMMC module
     
  5. Adran_Marit

    Adran_Marit Walküre's Hacker
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2015
    Messages:
    2,520
    Country:
    Australia
    I'ld be very interested if you had a link to a Chinese clone of the DragonInjector, mainly for keks
     
  6. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Which is why TX will flood the market in one go, so there are few customers left before nintendo patch it lol.
     
  7. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,165
    Country:
    Sweden
    Man it would be a shame if it can get patched.
     
  8. smf

    smf GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    3,713
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Everything can be patched, even if it means they have to put out a hardware revision to do it. But until someone figures out how it works then we can't know what nintendo will need to do to stop it working.

    I can't see Nintendo giving up so soon though, so they will do what is necessary.

    Certainly don't update.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2020
  9. linuxares

    linuxares I'm not a generous god!
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2007
    Messages:
    7,165
    Country:
    Sweden
    Of course, I meant update via software. If that's possible the custom firmwares really need to build in a block for Sysnand so the function can't boot and/or force restart.
     
  10. Retroboy

    Retroboy GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2015
    Messages:
    2,208
    Country:
    You dont need a modchip for the cube, it can be softmodded.
     
  11. naxil

    naxil GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    779
    Country:
    Italy
    Softchip??
     
  12. thesjaakspoiler

    thesjaakspoiler GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2018
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Afghanistan
    In this video the hacksters mention that the first boot rom is stored in plain text in the eMMC without any encryption.
    https://media.ccc.de/v/34c3-8941-console_security_-_switch#t=1538
    Although the Terga has features like encrypted boot roms, it wouldn't surprise me if Nintendo didn't enable it because it was never available on the Tegra dev kits.
    So I presume that TX just injects their own bootrom.

    I'm only curious to see how they solder that modchip to a Lite system as it has it's eMMC soldered directly to the motherboard.
     
    Boydy86 likes this.
  13. coldrush

    coldrush Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2019
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    Canada
    If the modchip for mariko switch starts shipping out on January 25th for pre-order. Then when do you think switch lite mod chip announcement will come?
     
  14. Boydy86

    Boydy86 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2019
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I really wish I knew a lot more about this stuff.... I would assume that on any CFW, the portions of edited data that allow the installation and execution of unsigned code, exist within the RAM not eMMC, (Hence shutdown removes exploit.). I would guess these mod chips are intercepting and modifying data whilst information is being transferred from eMMC to RAM.

    As for Switch Lite, I can't begin to guess... I have replaced a few 32gb eMMC chips with 256gb models. Although brain surgeon levels of application and equipment are not needed, It's still a sh*te job, far from plug and play...
     
  15. PatrickD85

    PatrickD85 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    637
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Back to the hardmod days. Nice going though.

    But frankly I'll be keeping my OG and ipatched setup as is for the forseeable future.
    Only new Switch coming here is a Switch 2 / Pro / CHUNKY KONG ... or whatever it is going to be.
    Then I will see if it needs homebrew on it
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - MaxConsole, modchip, photos