Hardware Max Micro SD Card Size?

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,612
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,059
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

Just picked up a 256GB Micro SD for the switch since the 128GB was pretty much full...

Just wondering what format it should be in? Currently got it set to exFAT with 128kb unit allocation but I'm not 100% on what unit allocation is anyway to be honest. The old SD was exFAT so just set this one to that, haven't tested it yet but seem to have a problem already.

Trying to copy a backup of everything on the 128 card to the new card, it appears everything has transferred correctly, but when I compare the files (highlight all properties) of both folders, the new SD has significantly less data on it!

Going through each folder I've determined that it's just the Nintendo folder which isn't voting properly. I imagine it's just something to do with the amount of data being transferred at once but wondered if anyone could confirm?

I've used H2testw to confirm that the card is a legit 256GB so, that shouldn't be the issue here.

Any help appreciated!
 

Guacaholey

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2021
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
135
Country
United States
Set it to the same settings the 128 GB is. Setting your cluster size to 128kb means that's the minimum space a file can take up. So a 12KB text file would be 128KB. Also make sure it's the right file system. Maybe make it FAT32 as well because that's supposed to be the most stable on the Switch. The max is apparently 2 TB, so any card on the market should work.
 

Guacaholey

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2021
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
135
Country
United States
Yes, but at least windows usually separates two sizes in properties: real usage (so how much space is allocated in hardware) and file usage (all file sizes combined)
True, but I suspect this is their issue if more space is being taken up by the same files than their other micro SD. Or the reverse is true and the original card has a higher cluster size. Unless stuff isn't copying but they should be able to tell through their properties option how many folders and files there are and compare it to the original card.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,612
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,059
Country
United Kingdom
I've answered the question now to be fair, I just copied over the files that the switch needs in order for an injection to boot it up and it works, it's just the transferring of all installed games to the SD that's taking it's time now. I'm just gonna do them in 10GB lumps and see if that helps!

So when your SD is full, you just buy another one even larger?
I mean, if it's something that's gonna save me a lot of time installing and uninstalling crap all the time then I'm more inclined to get a bigger card and use the other for something else, yano?

Set it to the same settings the 128 GB is. Setting your cluster size to 128kb means that's the minimum space a file can take up. So a 12KB text file would be 128KB. Also make sure it's the right file system. Maybe make it FAT32 as well because that's supposed to be the most stable on the Switch. The max is apparently 2 TB, so any card on the market should work.
Ahh yeah I understand now. That's why the 'file size' vs 'size on disk' varies slightly, isn't it.

Answering the question in topic's name:
2 TB.

And what you should use is always the same: use FAT32, otherwise you risk data corruption.
From previous experience and a bit of research the FAT32 filesystem only seems to support up to 4GB files, as in, the max size any one single file can be 4GB.

Since the majority of switch games are over 4GB exFAT is the required filesystem (I think), with a much higher single filesize limit!

True, but I suspect this is their issue if more space is being taken up by the same files than their other micro SD. Or the reverse is true and the original card has a higher cluster size. Unless stuff isn't copying but they should be able to tell through their properties option how many folders and files there are and compare it to the original card.
That's exactly my issue. Stuff isn't copying and I can tell from the properties tab when comparting the 2 sets of copied data. All the folders copied, but there were over 200 files that didn't transfer!

Since that's the case and I know the switch boots with the new card, I'm just gonna transfer them all a clump at a time and see if it's just a problem with how much data is being transferred causing an issue. Not sure why it would be but... Meh, when playing games it's not an issue.


Also, thanks everyone for the quick responses!
 

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,745
Trophies
2
XP
7,995
Country
Poland
Since the majority of switch games are over 4GB exFAT is the required filesystem (I think), with a much higher single filesize limit!
Nintendo fs has workaround for this limit. It's splitting those big files to chunks, put them to folder with filename, sets archive bit for this folder and this folder by HOS is detected as file.
And this is done whenever you use or don't use exfat by HOS (because HOS on system level cannot detect if you are using exfat or not). That's why if you did not put manually any file bigger than 4GB, then you can copy without issue whole exfat card content to fat32.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,612
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,059
Country
United Kingdom
Nintendo fs has workaround for this limit. It's splitting those big files to chunks, put them to folder with filename, sets archive bit for this folder and this folder by HOS is detected as file.
And this is done whenever you use or don't use exfat by HOS (because HOS on system level cannot detect if you are using exfat or not). That's why if you did not put manually any file bigger than 4GB, then you can copy without issue whole exfat card content to fat32.
Ahh yeah that's something I've noticed in the "/Nintendo/Contents/" folder, tons of folders which I can only assume are games and updates split up into various folders!

Well, Copying those folders in chunks sadly doesn't work properly either. I'm having to put entire NSP files on the SD Card and I'll just reinstall them.

Only issue is, there are updates and DLC all over the place stored on the Console storage and the SD card so, I'm not really sure how to go about installing it all again ahahah! I'd have to install everything back where it was, presumably... How annoying.
 

Perrito123

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 2, 2021
Messages
65
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
93
Country
Argentina
You guys who say 2tb where? These are not being sold!!!! 1tb max microsd card I still can't believe there is people who say 2tb without informing
 

Guacaholey

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Nov 7, 2021
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
25
XP
135
Country
United States
You guys who say 2tb where? These are not being sold!!!! 1tb max microsd card I still can't believe there is people who say 2tb without informing
Nobody said 2 TB is being sold, but that's the max the Switch is supposed to support according to SD card manufacturers like Kingston.
 

deathblade200

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 10, 2016
Messages
759
Trophies
0
XP
615
Country
United States
Ahh yeah that's something I've noticed in the "/Nintendo/Contents/" folder, tons of folders which I can only assume are games and updates split up into various folders!

Well, Copying those folders in chunks sadly doesn't work properly either. I'm having to put entire NSP files on the SD Card and I'll just reinstall them.

Only issue is, there are updates and DLC all over the place stored on the Console storage and the SD card so, I'm not really sure how to go about installing it all again ahahah! I'd have to install everything back where it was, presumably... How annoying.
why would you ever move them onto the sd and then install them? not only is that wasting time but also wasting write cycles. Just Use DBI to install over usb or install games directly with Tinfoil.
 

MikeyTaylorGaming

YouTube Glitcher
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 11, 2007
Messages
1,612
Trophies
0
Location
North West England
Website
youtube.com
XP
1,059
Country
United Kingdom
Found that my issue is likely to be the SD card. For some reason it's just not allowing me to transfer files to it properly. I suspect that it's got fake capacity. I'm actually allowing the H2testW software to do a full write and verify now.

Even just transferring over some basic stuff like .nro's for the hombrew menu is screwed. I transferred the same files onto the old SD and they appear fine. On the new card it's like it's missing out bits of information so the file isn't complete... Strange.
 

masagrator

The patches guy
Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2018
Messages
4,745
Trophies
2
XP
7,995
Country
Poland
You guys who say 2tb where? These are not being sold!!!! 1tb max microsd card I still can't believe there is people who say 2tb without informing
"The Secure Digital eXtended Capacity (SDXC) format, announced in January 2009 and defined in version 3.01 of the SD specification, supports cards up to 2 TB"
Wikipedia, my friend.
By stating 1TB you will make your answer outdated when 2TB will release.
There are posts that were stating max is 256 GB in 2017 and they got outdated pretty quickly...
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I just got my MacBook to triple boot 90% of the way I want it to today :) OSX,Win10 and MInt
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Amanda Show lol
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Theirs definitely going to be a pro but probably not for another 2 or 4 years it would be dumb of them to loose out that much money when they're already loosing money on this console
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Mmm.. yeah that too. Steam is on everything so why have dedicated hardware now? They should have started that earlier on
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Their competitors price similar marked at a grand easy to get those specs at $400 is definitely a money loss
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Yeah, you know what I want one of? Thise GPD portable computers.
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I want their tiny netbook
    Gift
  • KennieDaMeanie @ KennieDaMeanie:
    Those go around $800+ last I checked
    Gift
  • Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    But sti;;, I like the stuff they offer. And they do actually have a device or 3 that compete with the Steam Deck
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    they have some nice stuff but the gpd pocket 2 is rather overpriced
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    for a certain audience, it's the perfect thing, but it's small enough that you're sacrificing some functionality
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    True about the price- but the designs are really interesting
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I like the form factor
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    and it's not as thin as some modern laptops so i'd rather get a slim modern laptop with a larger screen personally
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Deal breakers might be whatever they use for on board devices. I want one with specific radio and features.
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    See, thin laptops are cool too- but they sacrifice larger and more reliable storage
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    I don't like mSATA and m.2 :P tbh
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    laptop is cheaper, more powerful, slimmer, just more *useful*
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    i really love how pocketable the gpd pockets are, but i can't justify them compared to a laptop
    Gift
  • SacredMilkOG @ SacredMilkOG:
    Yeah useful until you need hardware functions that got scrapped
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    if you already have a laptop it can be a nice secondary laptop to just bring around with you everywhere
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    if you have the money to waste
    Gift
  • The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye:
    but probably money better spend upgrading your desktop or something
    Gift
    The Real Jdbye @ The Real Jdbye: but probably money better spend upgrading your desktop or something