1. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    I've recently received a SATA adapter for my PS2 and whenever I use my SATA HDD on it, it will always show a black screen after the Matrix logo (I can still disable the chip and access other Matrix options). After a few tests, I've discovered that the hard drive itself and the adapter is fine because if I access the HDD via FreeMcBoot/OPL, it can read the drive with no problem and can access the games easily.
    Just to clarify, Matrix has no problem reading my IDE HDDs.

    My problem now is, is there a way for Matrix Infinity to load in the SATA hard drive with no problem or is FreeMcboot/OPL the only way for me to access the drive from now on?
    If it's the latter, is there a way to permanently disable the Matrix Infinity chip on the PS2 without having to physically remove it or is soldering it out the only option? I find it a hassle to disable the Matrix after every restart especially since pressing the restart button whenever a game is up would lead to the system to go on stand by mode which would then mean having to disable the chip once again followed by another restart just to access OPL.
     
  2. Snomannen_kalle

    Snomannen_kalle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Norway
    How do you use the chip to access the hard drive? If FMCB is involved, that might be the issue -- I had some problems a couple of years ago myself with my Matrix Infinity chip and internal HDD (although I have a PATA drive), where FMCB installers v1.965 and older doesn't cause issues with my setup. Not sure if they've fixed it since as I haven't played around with it since back then. I use FMCB to load OPL and wLaunchElf though, so it might not be comparable to your setup
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  3. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,628
    Country:
    United States
    there may be a disable option. I think there is with matrix, but I can't recall. it's usually used for games with modchip protection, but you can't turn it on and off afaik. some games like dino crisis have checks throughout the game. capcom was very antipiracy during the psx days.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    you'd have to google the matrix infiniy's documentation to be sure. I had one of those with my first ps2 slim. now, I'm using a clone in a second ps2 slim. I can't recall for sure if it has a way to disable it, but I'm thinking it does.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    iirc, the latest firmware for matrix is 1.93, so if yours says 1.99 you have a clone. don't try updating it or installing firmware or it will brick iirc.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    that modchip protection really fucked people over too. I believe even a legit disc will not run if it detects a modchip.
     
    Snomannen_kalle likes this.
  4. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    The PS2 in question was already installed with a modchip when I got it a year or 2 ago. The PS2 will always boot up Matrix, regardless if a hard drive is inserted or not, when turned on and there's no FMCB or whatever required. For the hard drive it's basically just plug and play, insert the configured HDD to the Network Adapter at the back and it would automatically connect. That's all I know really so I don't know any more technical stuff.

    I've only got the SATA adapter and the FMCB memory card (with OPL installed) just recently and I managed to test them out just yesterday. I don't mind opening up the PS2 and check the modchip if needed.
     
    Last edited by Carnov, Mar 2, 2021
  5. godreborn

    godreborn GBAtemp Legend
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2009
    Messages:
    16,628
    Country:
    United States
    I don't know anything about soft modding a ps2, but the matrix logo appearing is normal.
     
  6. alexander1970

    alexander1970 Jodelhoiti....
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2018
    Messages:
    12,921
    Country:
    Austria
    Good Morning. 1tee.gif

    This can be disabled in the Menu by
    hold [​IMG] + [​IMG] at power on the PlayStation 2

    Option "Boot Logo"

    (if it is a Matrix Chip - if it is a Clone - not all have a Menu):)
     
    Snomannen_kalle likes this.
  7. Snomannen_kalle

    Snomannen_kalle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Norway
    I don't know much about the functions of the chip (I only used mine to make my PS2 region free), as I have only used FMCB to launch games from USB and HDD, but I guess you're somehow using it to boot OPL normally? Does it still boot to black screen if you try it without the MC connected? And how is the HDD set up? Is it a clone of one of your working IDE drives? If not, perhaps you can try to do that and see if that works
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  8. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    I can access OPL normally if I disable the chip. The black screen is still present regardless if the memory card is inserted or not. As for the HDD, it's already configured for the PS2 when I bought it since games are already installed and all that (same with the IDE when I bought it back then). I even reformatted it via winhiip since I thought it would fix the problem (but it did not).

    Just some info regarding with the Matrix chip and the system itself just in case:
    The Matrix's version is 1.99
    The system's model is SCPH-50003

    By the way, if ever the black screen problem still persist, it's safe to just remove the Matrix chip right? Might just stick with FMCB if it's still an issue for a long time.

    Edit: Just discovered this video and it seems to have similar problem with mine mainly with the whole can't access OPL if the chip isn't disabled in the last part
     
    Last edited by Carnov, Mar 3, 2021
  9. Snomannen_kalle

    Snomannen_kalle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Norway
    Well, if the stuff I suggested didnt't work, then I'm out of ideas. Maybe someone more knowledgeable than I can help you.

    And to answer your question regarding the chip: It is probably safe to remove it without breaking anything. It might be difficult to completely remove it if you're new to soldering though, and even harder to put back if it breaks something in your setup; perhaps it's sufficient to just remove the power supply wire
     
  10. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    That's good to hear regarding with the chip. I'll take a pic of it though since I don't know which wire is the power supply of the chip.
     
  11. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    I've finally managed to open the system and this is how the board/chip look. Which one of the wire is the power supply of the chip so that I can remove it while keeping the rest intact just in case


    20210305_184918.jpg

    20210305_184945.jpg

    20210305_190007.jpg
     

    Attached Files:

  12. Snomannen_kalle

    Snomannen_kalle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Norway
    It's the one marked 3.3V on the chip
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  13. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    Is removing the wire from the chip good enough or should I also remove the wire connected to the board? Also, is cutting the wire good enough or is soldering the only way?

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Edit.jpg
     
  14. Snomannen_kalle

    Snomannen_kalle GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2018
    Messages:
    254
    Country:
    Norway
    Cutting should be fine. Only removing one of the solder joints and letting the wire hang should be OK, but in that case you want to be very careful that the end is insulated and do not risk touching any component or the metal casing of the console (at least if you remove the part of the wire connected to the chip), as this might short circuit a component or ground to the 3.3V rail, and can cause all sorts of problems. You can do this with a piece of electrical tape
     
    alexander1970 likes this.
  15. Carnov

    OP Carnov Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2021
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Philippines
    After some delays, managed to disabled it. Thanks for the help
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Infinity, problem, Matrix