Mario Kart Wii, problems for legit NTSC?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by kevin007, Apr 29, 2008.

Apr 29, 2008
  1. kevin007
    OP

    Newcomer kevin007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    I have been playing the PAL version of this game for a while now. I'm kinda sick of the duplicate channels and stuff. Whats this i heard about the legit disc bricking the wii? Will it get rid of the duplicate channels if i get the legit NTSC version? This is the reason why i want the legit version.

    I have a legit brawl that i cannot play on my Wii (as you all know)
    I brought a wii wheel for $15

    so i thought....i rather return the wii wheel, trade in the brawl + the $15 for a legit disc + wii wheel.

    It DOES play on the wiikey right? Any problems with it?

    thanks
     
  2. kevin007
    OP

    Newcomer kevin007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    to put it simply.

    Is it safe to put in a legit NTSC Mario Kart into a Wii that played a backup PAL MKWii?

    Will there be an update this time?
     
  3. Shinster

    Member Shinster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2007
    Messages:
    224
    Country:
    Philippines
    What are you talking about? Legit brawl works fine on my wiikey. As does the legit MKW.
     
  4. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    1: Since you have a modchip, please give us what type of modchip you have. Some of them have addressed the "legit Brawl" issue.

    2: You can remove duplicate channels via a program. Search this forum, as I don't have a link offhand.
     
  5. 420

    Newcomer 420 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm i havent had any problems, i loaded a copy of my friends legit NTSC copy and it played just fine and i was using the Pal version before aswell.
     
  6. kevin007
    OP

    Newcomer kevin007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    Sorry, I was in a rush.

    I have a wiikey and i've been out of the scene for a while. It doesn't matter though, as I've got a backup working copy for brawl.

    Can i remove the channels by simply using a legit NTSC MKWii? Will it ask for an update like the PAL MKWii backup did?

    Thanks
     
  7. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    If the PAL version asked for an update, then the US version will ask for the same update (3.3U, I believe).
     
  8. kevin007
    OP

    Newcomer kevin007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    And...it'll be safe? I think the update will remove the dup. channels...right?

    Man i really don't want to do everything again.

    2 stars for all of 50cc
    2 stars for all 100cc wii cup
    1 star for all 100 cc retro cup
    2 star for all 150 cc wii cup.

    7200 online points [​IMG]

    On the bright side, i don't have any 3 stars yet and my record isn't so great...

    Thanks guys.
     
  9. Sir VG

    Member Sir VG GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2004
    Messages:
    847
    Country:
    United States
    No, updating doesn't remove the dupe channels. There's a program that can do that, but as I said earlier, I don't have a link to it.
     
  10. kevin007
    OP

    Newcomer kevin007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Country:
    Canada
    oh ok thanks [​IMG] the dup. channel is not a big deal anyway.

    Thanks man
     

Share This Page