Mario Galaxy on D2C

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by MC DUI, Dec 25, 2007.

Dec 25, 2007

Mario Galaxy on D2C by MC DUI at 10:36 PM (1,346 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

  1. MC DUI
    OP

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Guys, searched using assistant and manually but couldn't find any obvious answer.

    A friend was given a PAL D2C modded Wii for Christmas, they have asked me to burn them a whole bunch of games including Mario Galaxy.

    My question is do D2C modded Wii's need to run the Mario Galaxy update, with the duplicate channel power off trick?
    Or can I just burn them a brickblocked copy of Mario Galaxy and it will run fine?

    Thanks in advance. [​IMG]
     
  2. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    mario galaxy has been released in all regions! So just get it for your own region dude! ALL wii's need to run the mario update, regardless of chip or region. Get a mario of yer own region n run it. Games yer own region are always fine to update.
     
  3. sekhu

    Member sekhu moo?

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,156
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    1) get iso for your own region
    2) burn to dvd WITHOUT brickblocker
    3) do the game update required to play the game
    4) play the game

    No one's sure how D2Ckey can be updated, if at all, but it runs SMG out of the box
     
  4. MC DUI
    OP

    Member MC DUI GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Messages:
    1,916
    Location:
    Newcastle, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    I would prefer to not have to download a whole new version of the game just to give a friend a copy.

    Not all of us have Usenet access with unlimited downloads from our ISP.

    But thanks for the answer anyways.
     
  5. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Look at the RegionFrii list on the GBATemp Wiki. SMG doesn't play out of region anyway.

    Edit: actually, the results conflict with each other, some people say yes, others no [​IMG]
     
  6. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    US mario plays fine on PAL, but you need to do the metroid trick, i.e. burn it twice etc.
     
  7. HelloWii

    Newcomer HelloWii Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Im a noob to wii hacking so dont get mad if i ask a noob question [​IMG]

    So if i rented Trauma Center New Blood NTSC-US for my USA Wii, dumped the iso, burned it, and updated on my USA wii it would be ok right?
     
  8. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Or you could just download the game. Wii games aren't like 360 ones.
     
  9. HelloWii

    Newcomer HelloWii Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    LOL I did already [​IMG]
    Now All i need to do is get a wii....
     

Share This Page