Mario Galaxy - Disc read error when starting Honey Hive Galaxy

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by f00had, Nov 19, 2008.

  1. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK So I have 3.2E installed on my Wii, made a 1:1 PAL backup onto a Verbatim DVD-R on MAX Setting with Imgburn. I used djtaz's guide to install the cIOS and the backup launcher channel.

    The game starts fine and I have 3 stars from Good Egg Galaxy but when I choose the first mission Honey Hive Galaxy it makes a funny noise and gives game could not be read error. :S

    Is this a problem with the loader? The disc? My Wii?
     
  2. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Most likely the answer is the disc. Possibly the wii if the lens is dirty or something? But probably not if its always in that one spot.. maybe reburn it and make sure all other programs are closed while it burns. I dont think the launcher could be the problem.
     
  3. NeoNight

    Member NeoNight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    Haven't gotten anywhere near that area myself but I would say don't re burn just yet. Wait to see if someone else has the same issue.
     
  4. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    Thats pretty early in most people who play would have reached it by now. But not necessary that anyone is playing it lol. If you dont wanna waste a disc let us know and we can tell you if we get stuck at same spot.

    Well.. someone with a PAL copy can [​IMG]
     
  5. MrBubbles

    Member MrBubbles GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    323
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    If it's a disc read error I'm leaning on the lens being the issue. You'd think if this was a problem it'd be reported more often here seeing as that's really early in the game.
     
  6. NeoNight

    Member NeoNight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2008
    Messages:
    186
    Country:
    United States
    I'am playing through metriod prime 3! Damnit man there is only so much time in a day! xD
     
  7. EmperorOfCanada

    Member EmperorOfCanada GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,478
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You are preaching to the choir man. Between my DS PSP PC and Wii I think ive probably got 5000 games to play. More than I could finish in this lifetime [​IMG]
     
  8. Sportsmaniac1322

    Member Sportsmaniac1322 GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,183
    Location:
    Forman's Basement
    Country:
    United States
    And that doesn't include all the things coming out in the future like the Pandora! Same boat here!
     
  9. jam3972

    Newcomer jam3972 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    21
    Country:
    United States
    I just tried that level on my NTSC 1:1 version of mario galaxy on the gamma loader and it worked fine, probably your disc.
     
  10. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    OK, thanks for your replies, I'll try burning it again. Do you guys have any recommended settings?
     
  11. Slowking

    Member Slowking GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,396
    Country:
    Germany
    Mario Galaxy is a very picky game. I had to burn it 3 times before it worked.
    The first disc allways froze at the intro and the second allways at the surfing game. So yeah it's probably the disc. Just burn it again.
     
  12. quim69

    Member quim69 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2008
    Messages:
    485
    Country:
    Andorra
    Which country are the verbs from? try 8x or 12x for best results with them.
     
  13. f00had
    OP

    Member f00had GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No idea what country they're from, I just buy the individual discs from my college xD

    Anyway reburning it worked when I picked up another Verbatim, I went through 3 Imation discs and none of them would work. Booting straight from the backup launcher would give me a black screen with lots of code and trying the disc channel (rebooting with hooks) would show a ? and blank out the start button.
     
  14. Ericthegreat

    Member Ericthegreat Not New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2008
    Messages:
    1,765
    Location:
    Vana'diel
    Country:
    United States
    Id recommend burn at 1x, I've heard its easyer on the wii.
     

Share This Page