MarcaDS Version 3.0 Released

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by TheSpade, Dec 3, 2006.

Dec 3, 2006

MarcaDS Version 3.0 Released by TheSpade at 6:16 AM (5,923 Views / 0 Likes) 27 replies

  1. TheSpade
    OP

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States








    MarcaDS Version 3.0 Released

    For the arcade nuts!







    [​IMG]
    MarcaDS is a Z80 arcade emulator, which includes famous titles, such as Arkanoid, Donkey Kong and more. While it's by far short in game count versus the infamous M.A.M.E., this is a good sight to see for DS homebrew. This emulator began back in September 2005 and is a former NeoFlash Competition entry. Let's check the overview including the V.3.0 release this weekend:



    · 108 classic arcade titles are compatible (7 are not playable)

    · Only Pac-Man and clones currently have sound

    · Complete overhaul of the emulator as of V.3.0

    · No High Score saving (yet)



    To play these games using MarcaDS, you must first acquire the appropriate arcade ROMs. As with all ROM issues here at GBATemp, we will not provide any information on how to obtain these games. Sorry. [​IMG]

     


  2. HugeCock

    Member HugeCock Oh My....

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    534
    Country:
    United States
    This is AWESOME!!! Seriously HELL YA....like HELL YA!!! Don't know what else to say but HELLLLL YAAAA Can't wait for future releases. This ROOOOCKS
     
  3. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Finally I can play proper Donkey Kong!
     
  4. FusionDexterity

    Member FusionDexterity Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2004
    Messages:
    62
    Location:
    Caiman
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    interesting.
     
  5. monkeymachine

    Member monkeymachine GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    Japan
    Can't wait for full sound support, would love to have retro game tunes pumping out my DS =)
     
  6. plasmatron

    Member plasmatron GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Country:
    Germany
    Don`t think that the emulation is running in good speed on most of the newer games
    I think games like FINAL FIGHT will run fuckin slow. :'( GAmes like DONKEY KONG or GALAGA should run good.
     
  7. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    Did you even RTFA before posting?

    (can't believe I posted this on GBATemp... [​IMG] )
     
  8. Jasafar

    Newcomer Jasafar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    This is great news!!
     
  9. plasmatron

    Member plasmatron GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Messages:
    416
    Country:
    Germany

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  10. teonintyfive

    Member teonintyfive GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Greece, Somewhere in Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    I want Metal Slug :'(
     
  11. Arm73

    Member Arm73 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,025
    Location:
    Zurich
    Country:
    Italy
    Aren't you happy with Metal Slug Advance ?
    This is the closest you'll ever get to play such a game on your DS (or GBA).
     
  12. TheSpade
    OP

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, the port of Metal Slug 1 (arcade) is coming 1Q 2007 to GBA in North America, unless it's delayed again.
     
  13. Scorpin200

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    How do you work this stupid thing?
     
  14. dblank

    Newcomer dblank Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Have you read "readme.txt" ?

    It explains it.. but if you've read it and still don't understand, maybe you could tell us what problem you're having?

     
  15. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    I can get it to fire up no problem. M3 Perfect SD .... but it wont run any games. I see the games in the list, they do show up, but when I hit start or A on them, it just blinks and stays at the main menu. Maybe I have the wrong roms? I'm just using the ones I use for PC MAME, with no compression like it says.
     
  16. dblank

    Newcomer dblank Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    I had that problem too, make sure you have all the files listed in gamelist.txt for your particular games (uncompressed) zip.

    Pacman for example, you'd want:
    82s123.7f,82s126.1m,82s126.3m,82s126.4a,pacman.5e,pacman.5f,pacman.6e,pacman.6f,
    acman.6h,pacman.6j

    all inside pacman.zip

     
  17. Retrievil

    Member Retrievil GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Messages:
    360
    Location:
    Vancouver
    Country:
    Canada
    Yeah, I figured it out. MarcaDS wants unmerged roms, and most peoples MAME sets are merged 6 ways to Sunday .... so yeah check the exact rom banks you need for each game. Its listed to the far right in gamelist.txt (open with a command prompt to read it properly, edit gamelist.txt).

    I've only tried a couple games since I havent the time to track down all the unmerged romsets, but its pretty damn sweet I must say. If he gets all those games working with sound, I will be a happy man.

    The only gripe I have is the screen positioning. Its kind odd to have 3/4 of the screen on the top, and 1/4 on the bottom. I hope he includes some kind of sideways mode. The DS screen sideways is almost exactly the dimensions and resolution of old arcade monitors.
     
  18. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    Anyone get this working on Supercard? Tried it on my Supercard Lite, but it doesn't get past the "Searching for FAT Folders" screen... [​IMG]
     
  19. heyyouguys

    Member heyyouguys GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    Messages:
    338
    Country:
    United States
    to get it to work on your sclite run .nds thru moonshell patcher. put the uncompressed zip files in a folder called marcads in the root dir.

    it works on sclite
     
  20. [M]artin

    Member [M]artin .

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    3,658
    Country:
    United States
    Umm... Moonshell Patcher? No idea what that is (the SC Software patcher, or boot it from Moonshell, or huh?) Also, I'm trying to run Ms. PacMan. I have a folder with all the separate rom base files in it, but it's zipped. Should I unzip it and add or leave it zipped and just drag it onto the SD card? Lastly, I have to add the rom stuff into the MarcaDS root folder but what about the MarcaDS.nds file itself? Does that go into the MarcaDS folder too or outside of the folder? Thanks for your time! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page