MAME questions

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by hypochondriac, Jun 7, 2008.

Jun 7, 2008

MAME questions by hypochondriac at 12:41 PM (1,620 Views / 0 Likes) 14 replies

  1. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well I have finally got MAME to boot properly and have got the simpsons up. Firstly is there a MAME out which works with the wiimote? I'm presuming there isn't and that's fine but I can't seem to get my gamecube controller to add coins in. Any ideas of what the controls are?
     
  2. Whizz

    Member Whizz When things don't go right, go left.

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Messages:
    628
    Location:
    Turn around...
    Country:
    Netherlands
    They're in the readme file:
    CONTROLS
    --------
    [Grey ANALOG/DIGITAL PAD] Move the characters and handle the menu options
    [A] Button 1 / Select a rom
    Button 2
    [Y] Button 3
    [X] Button 4
    [L] Button 5
    [R] Button 6
    [Z] ESCAPE (CANCEL)/(EXIT)
    [START] Pause/Options menu
    [YELLOW Analog UP] Coin PLAYER 1
    [YELLOW Analog DOWN] START PLAYER 1
    [YELLOW Analog LEFT] SAVE STATE
    [YELLOW Analog RIGHT] LOAD STATE

    And a bit offtopic, how did you get The Simpsons up and running?
     
  3. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i started a topic like this yesterday... but other than that, since you've just got it working now, how long did it take you to get mame working? i've heard that it takes a long time to load up then takes a while to run games n stuff...

    thanks
     
  4. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Takes about 3 minutes to load up the simpsons so not too long. I just can't seem to get it to respond to the controller though. It's really annoying.

    Posts merged

    I downloaded the simpsons file and put it in the directory mameroms still zipped then selected it.
     
  5. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    so i'm guessing from what Whizz said that the emulator is wiimote suported ey? well thats class. will try it out soon. if that doesnt work i'm also guessin that it'll have GC controller function too.

    thanks for the info
     
  6. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No I think whizz was pointing out the GC controls. There is no wiimote controls that I'm aware of.Dinosaurs and caddalacs is working as well. I'm still trying to get controls to work though.
     
  7. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Woop. I changed the version and it is now working perfectly. Goldenaxe works great as well as simpsons caddalac and dinosaurs and that basketball game.
     
  8. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    i've just downloaded the version in the sticky at the top of this forum. know if that works?
     
  9. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I didn't use that one but it probably should. If you have any problems, send me a PM and I'll end you a link to the version I used.
     
  10. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    alright not a problem. just one more thing, does it support use of 2 wiimotes/ GC controllers yet?
     
  11. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It supports up to 4 GC controllers
     
  12. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    niceee, but i just came across another problem... i went to play the emulator and it sticks on a screen saying something like looking for sdlmamefs-fs. i'm looking for that file but i'm just not finding anything [​IMG]
     
  13. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  14. mikeyt1998

    Member mikeyt1998 YouTube Glitcher

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2007
    Messages:
    1,358
    Location:
    Dalton-in-furness, north west
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    that opens like a zip file and there is one file inside it called release-wii-sdlmame-full.tar, do i need to rename it as mamefs-fs? thanks for all the help by the way
     
  15. hypochondriac
    OP

    Newcomer hypochondriac Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2008
    Messages:
    31
    Country:
    United Kingdom

Share This Page