Making my own Website. How can I improve it?

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Jran Sakarra, Jun 22, 2010.

Jun 22, 2010
  1. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    I have been messing with HTML for a few years now heer and there and I finally got a spare computer to set up as a server.
    I decided to host a website on it and need some tips before I go any further.
    TEAM 151 (My Site)
    Right now I only have the gallery, Guides, and front page up.
    So before I finish it I would liek some advice on what I should change or keep.
     
  2. Twiffles

    Member Twiffles танковые победы

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,925
    Country:
    Germany
    Would help if the site was online? Maybe it's only me not being able to connect.
     
  3. shlong

    Member shlong in memoriam of gravitas

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Charlotte's maze
    Country:
    Italy
    nerp, same here... [​IMG]
     
  4. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    i second this.
    I cant open the URL [​IMG] either
     
  5. naglaro00

    Member naglaro00 Mildly disturbed

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,381
    Location:
    Pulse
    Country:
    Philippines
    Maybe he messed up with the HTML file?
     
  6. Berthenk

    Member Berthenk Epitome of Awesomeness

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,314
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Maybe he has slow upload speeds?
     
  7. ByteMunch

    Member ByteMunch GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    444
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Are you sure that's set up right?
    EDIT: Do you have a favicon? If not, try favicon.cc
     
  8. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    it's probably a problem with his DNS server/settings, which makes him think it's online because he can still see it

    i didn't really wait a while to see if anything happened though because i didn't get a response after like 20-30 seconds
     
  9. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    You're trying to host a website on DSL, either without the right ports forwarded, or with the ISP (listed as bellsouth, but they merged with AT&T, right?) blocking inbound port 80?

    Get a webhost, first off.
     
  10. Jran Sakarra
    OP

    Member Jran Sakarra GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    197
    Location:
    Somewhere in Kanto
    Country:
    United States
    Sorry I took it offline to change the layout.
    It is back up.
     
  11. exangel

    Member exangel executioner angel

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,574
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    Country:
    United States
    It looks pretty good to start with, but things aren't aligned perfectly.
    I looked at it in Chrome and Internet Explorer 8.

    Also, your logo is beautiful except for the most meaningful part. If you're going to have a banner that big with a detailed background you absolutely have to antialias the font presenting the title. Also, check out one of the dozens of genuinely free font foundries such as http://www.dafont.com (they even have some pokemon dingbat fonts to make it easy for you to create a logo without actually ripping off a graphic)
     
  12. Linkiboy

    Member Linkiboy GBAtemp Testing Area

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Messages:
    4,888
    Country:
    United States
    Free templates = no
     

Share This Page