making a psone emulator on the ds possible?

Discussion in 'NDS - ROM Hacking and Translations' started by blader600, Apr 12, 2007.

Apr 12, 2007
  1. blader600
    OP

    Newcomer blader600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    is this possible or can somemake it
     


  2. WunSick

    Newcomer WunSick Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    65
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado
    Country:
    United States
    Absolutely Not.
     
  3. betaboy

    Member betaboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    181
    Location:
    The BetaNet
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The PS One has a dedicated 3D GPU (Graphics Processor). The DS does not.
    The load on the CPU of emulating the GPU in software would make this impossible.
     
  4. blader600
    OP

    Newcomer blader600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    why not
     
  5. jono_

    Member jono_ GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    334
    Country:
    Australia
    you make it. prove us wrong.
     
  6. blader600
    OP

    Newcomer blader600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    i do nto know how to make stuff like this
     
  7. iori-kyo-k

    Member iori-kyo-k GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    343
    Location:
    Band Of The Hawks
    Country:
    France
    Just get informed on the PSOne and the DS 3D graphics capabilities first.

    Then come again asking funny questions.
     
  8. blader600
    OP

    Newcomer blader600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    it was a thougth that popped up in my head
     
  9. Xeijin

    Member Xeijin GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It can't be done. As a general rule the console being used (DS) should be a certain number of times more powerful than the console it is emulating. Of course if the console is coded especially well this rule can generally be disregarded but its hard to code a tight emulator unless you can have a look at the proper tech specs of the console your emulating (i assume sony would have this for the playstation) but I doubt somehow that sony would be willing to hand over the PSX blueprints.

    I think this is generally true because with the PSP playstation emulator, the emulator was actually made by sony to play some of the PSX classics which could be bought via. the PS3. However, hackers reverse engineered this so that it was able to play all PSX ISOs. In this case sony would have made the emulator and thus would have been coded properly. It also helps that the PSP is more powerful than the DS.
     
  10. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It kinda annoys me that people think that just because the DS can have N64/PSX games ported to it that an emulator for those consoles would be highly possible. They dont seem to fathom that those games were programmed for the DS hardware and that an emulator not only has to run a game but also has to run the emulator at the same time.

    Saying that I welcome any attempt at all, I like it when people try to push certain consoles to their very limits.
     
  11. .TakaM

    Member .TakaM .II

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Messages:
    3,525
    Country:
    New Zealand
    it's sad, but whenever I see a topic like this, I hope its from someone who knows what they're talking about and might make it possible somehow..

    but no.. [​IMG]
     
  12. MaHe

    Member MaHe one lazy schmo

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,101
    Location:
    Maribor
    Country:
    Slovenia
    Same here. But I just ended up buying myself a PSP too. Internet browsing is faster, more comfortable and multimedia capabilities rock.
    It's a pity most of the games suck (except for GTA, haha! [​IMG] ).
     
  13. decept

    Member decept GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    141
    Location:
    Texas
    Country:
    United States

    Then why do you question the fact that it can not be done? Accept the answer and move on with your life.

    If you really want to play PS1 games on the go, get yourself a PSP.
     
  14. blader600
    OP

    Newcomer blader600 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    FOURM END
     
  15. thegame07

    Member thegame07 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,860
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Im off to play some ps1 on the toaster [​IMG]
     
  16. Xcursion

    Member Xcursion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Country:
    Canada
    I made a PS3 emulator for the iPod Shuffle without having a PS3 or an iPod Shuffle. It works quite well!
     
  17. antigirl

    Newcomer antigirl Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    45
    Country:
    Ireland
  18. Heran Bago

    Member Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    2,851
    Location:
    Foggy California
    Country:
    United States
    this
     
  19. archagon

    Member archagon GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Country:
    United States
    Bread Wars FTW!
     
  20. Mehdi

    Member Mehdi Lemonade by Psyfira

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Messages:
    1,071
    Country:
    Netherlands
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page