1. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Hello, may I please get some advice?


    I'm trying to downgrade a 3ds XL (not a new 3ds) that is on 9.9.0.

    I have followed the guide here step by step exactly:

    https://ianburgwin.net/ez3ds/fw.php?lv=2

    I get to the point where it says:

    Getting firmware files information...

    and then the error pops up and things freeze:

    titleException:
    main.cpp:150: Result 0x0
    Installing O3ds pack >6.0 on N3DS will always brick!



    This has happened twice and I had to re-copy all the homebrew files to get homebrew working again after the error freezes things.

    This isn't an N3DS, I don't think, so I don't understand why that error keeps coming up...may I please get some advice on what I'm doing wrong?
     
    rodrigogomes likes this.
  2. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,026
    Country:
    Japan
    Follow the guide in my sig
     
  3. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    9.9.0-26U? try re-downloading the pack I guess (9.2.0-20U(Full).zip). you can also try PlaiSysUpdater.
    the link posted is mine, and it ends up linking to specific parts of Plailect's guide based on the given firmware version. so they are already using it, technically.
     
    Gray_Jack and gnmmarechal like this.
  4. Akira

    Akira I'm not a SHRIMP!!!!
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1,247
    Country:
    United States
    This happened to me too while downgrading an old 3ds, turns out I copied the wrong update files. I copied update files for New 3DS instead of Old 3DS. I think it's the same issue. It's even the same error that I got
     
  5. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I think so too---I have just doublechecked and redownloaded the OLD 3dsXL files and repeated the whole process..

    Now it seemed to go further, verified all the .cia files, and then successfully installed them, and then rebooted itself.

    Now it's stuck at a black screen. The wireless light flashes now and then, but otherwise no movement.
     
  6. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    turn it on without the SD card.
     
  7. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, thanks to proflayton123, ihaveamac, and akira for their advice.

    It successfully downgraded to 9.2.0-20U after restarting.

    I had to remove the old 000000 extdata.

    Now, to do the next part with Decrypt9WIP.


    Edit: I seem to have lost the homebrew launcher by holding d-pad down on bootup.

    Do I have to reinstall a homebrew launcher now that I'm in 9.2.0-20u?
     
    Last edited by testing123, Sep 26, 2016
  8. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    use the browser for homebrew.

    since you are using Old3DS, I suggest https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Decrypt9-(Browser)
     
    proflayton123 likes this.
  9. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States

    Ok, so I followed the instructions exactly and got to :

    https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-3-(arm9loaderhax)


    Specifically, I got to :


    Reinsert your SD card into your 2.1.0 3DS
    Go to http://dukesrg.github.io/2xrsa.html?arm11.bin on your 3DS

    As soon as I went to that site, the bottom screen glitched out and froze. Nothing happened other than the bottom screen being a multicolor mess.

    I brushed the d-pad down button when I picked up the 3ds and it immediately powered off completely.

    Ever since then it doesn't power on. I hit the power button and there's a brief millisecond flash before it just sits there.

    Did I somehow end up with a brick?
     
  10. testing123
    This message by testing123 has been removed from public view by Quantumcat, Aug 29, 2018, Reason: Dupe.
    Sep 27, 2016
  11. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    put arm9loaderhax.bin at the root of the SD card, and make sure it's inserted properly.
     
  12. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Dead and alive
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    15,149
    Country:
    Australia
    You've installed arm9loaderhax, congrats :-) As ihaveamac said, put Luma's arm9loaderhax.bin on the root of your SD card and try starting up again.
     
  13. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    It already was on there, though, as per the guide. It's definitely inserted properly, too.

    I also just deleted and copied the Luma.zip arm9loaderhax.bin into the root again, same result, black screen load.
     
  14. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    try a different SD card.
     
  15. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, look at you, called it. You're a genius, thanks so much.

    So it booted up with the blank SD card.

    What step of:

    https://github.com/Plailect/Guide/wiki/Part-3-(arm9loaderhax)

    Section II - Installing arm9loaderhax

    Should I do now? I should stress I NEVER pushed the select button to do the full install at step 3.
     
  16. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    did it turn on to luma config or home menu?
     
  17. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Home menu it looks like.
     
  18. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    did luma config ever come up? try holding select when the system turns on.
     
  19. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    No, it didn't come up, but I just realized that when you said "try another SD card" I didn't quite realize what you meant. What should I have on the NEW SD card? At the moment it's just empty besides arm9loaderhax.bin
     
  20. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    well, try putting in the old one after the system is already at Home Menu, then try installing again. if it fails, turn on without SD and reinsert once on.
     
  21. testing123

    OP testing123 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    United States
    Just for 100% clarity, what do you mean by "try installing again."

    Do you mean restart + hold select?
     
  22. ihaveamac

    ihaveamac GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    5,923
    Country:
    United States
    it's in the guide? go to the link (http://dukesrg.github.io/2xrsa.html?arm11.bin), try to install again by pressing select.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Installing, downgrade, Result