Made a MC server for just my brother and me, need some help.

Discussion in 'Computer Games and General Discussion' started by Aijelsop, Dec 18, 2011.

  1. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    I decided to make a server for me and my brother, but I'm having a little problem. I got it all running and I can connect perfectly fine with 10.0.0.2:25565, but he can't. I think it has to do with my firewall settings? How would I allow it to let him join?
     
  2. omgdaniel

    Newcomer omgdaniel Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    Are you two on the same network?
     
  3. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    10.x.x.x is a private IP, if he's not in your house (so to speak) he can't connect to that one.

    You need to port forward and then give him your external/internet IP.
     
  4. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Yes he is on my network. My ports are fowarded. (I used to host a mc server and people connected not on my network, then I gave it to a friend)

    But yes, we're on the same network, and he can't connect. :P
     
  5. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    What do you mean?
    Isn't his local IP the same? He's on a laptop, same internet connection.
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Can he ping you?
    What's his local IP?
     
  7. Bently

    Member Bently GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2009
    Messages:
    495
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Each device/computer should each have a seperate network IP to differentiate the device/computer on your network, go into the command prompt and type
    Code:
    ipconfig/all
    and find the entry that corresponds with your/his network adapter.
     
  8. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    It should be
    Internet IP is not the local IP.
    Your local IP is 10.0.0.2, right?
    That's not the same as your internet, the internet one is shared, the local is not.
     
  9. Maav

    Newcomer Maav Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    Brazil
    Shouldn't the local IP be 192.168.x.x? :V
     
  10. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    That's for class-c networks, class-a use 10.x.x.x as their private range.
     
  11. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Out of interest, do you have a link detailing the different class networks?
     
  12. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    So on the laptop he has to do ipconfig/all on cmd, and use that local ip?
     
    1 person likes this.
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Classes in genera... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Classful_network
    The private class ranges... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Private_network#Private_IPv4_address_spaces
     
  14. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    Still don't understand how he is supposed to connect. :/
     
  15. Originality

    Member Originality Chibi-neko

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,147
    Location:
    London, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I was about to type up a long-winded explanation on how I set up LAN gaming with my brother, then I re-read the first post and realised what the question actually was.

    Windows Firewall will not (as far as I know) prevent other computers from playing games with you. It's the more active software suites (like Kaspersky for me) that try and block incoming connections if it can't verify where it's coming from. For KAV, I just have to go to the exceptions list in the settings and add the program (e.g. add minecraft.exe). That way, if your brother is connecting to your MC server, it won't try and monitor or block that connection (so long as it's just connecting to that program).

    Find out what firewalls you have active, and there should be a way to do the same with them (or just disable them entirely for the duration that you're playing).
    EDIT: And also double check that 10.0.0.2 is your correct local IP.
     
  16. Aijelsop
    OP

    Newcomer Aijelsop Question Asker

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,000
    Country:
    United States
    How do I find out my correct local IP, ipconfig/all? I did that, does HE connect with the same IP too?
     
  17. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    He types in yours to connect to you.
     

Share This Page