M3 v.30

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by guzh, Nov 8, 2006.

Nov 8, 2006

M3 v.30 by guzh at 2:31 PM (3,162 Views / 0 Likes) 21 replies

  1. guzh
    OP

    Newcomer guzh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Guys, the gbalpha team, just released the new version of GM n Firmware (v.30) for SD and CF.
    For now, I'm using the GM v.30, but unfortunately I don't know whether the provided v.30 firmware is for an English Languages or not. (I have difficulties in reading Chinese writing)

    Any idea, guys? Pls advice...

    Thanks in advance
     


  2. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    If gbalpha are providing the firmware on their chinese website then it'll be the chinese firmware without english support.

    Sit tight, I'm sure you'll release the english updates soon [​IMG] I hope the G6 update will follow
     
  3. falco123

    Member falco123 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2006
    Messages:
    293
    Country:
    United States
    Hooray!
     
  4. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,303
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    FINALLY FINALLY FINALLY I will be severely dissapointed if this doesn't make tonyhawk werk, it would be rad if they fixed the graphics probs with recent games like spyro
     
  5. shadowboy

    Member shadowboy :D

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    1,347
    Country:
    United States
    I bet that it doesn't do thdj, just like g6 v 4.6b
     
  6. Scorpin200

    Banned Scorpin200 Iceman

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2006
    Messages:
    1,098
    Location:
    Maryland
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] This is not even real news the update that's been out today isn't even a download it's just a fake link. The person that posted it on another site with along with older versions of the m3 updates, so its going to be a while till the real thing comes out.

    P.S The g6 and everything else already have updates though, but m3 isn't doing a damn thing.
     
  7. yuyuyup

    Member yuyuyup GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2006
    Messages:
    3,303
    Location:
    USA MTN timezone
    Country:
    United States
    seems that G6 update did not fix tonyhawk
     
  8. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
  9. thefoxhole

    Member thefoxhole GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    what exactly is getting updated when a cart has an update release.. how does an update fix certain roms...
     
  10. jumpman17

    Former Staff jumpman17 He's a semi-aquatic egg laying mammal of action!

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Messages:
    8,972
    Country:
    United States
    It updates either A) the game manager which changes how the games are written to the SD card or B) the firmware which re-writes the programing to fix it so it can read games that previously didn't work
     
  11. thefoxhole

    Member thefoxhole GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    117
    Country:
    United States
    thanks man
     
  12. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    it's up on gbalpha, so it's legit. Problem is 2 things 1) Tony Hawk does not work (I personally don't care, but a lot of people do) and 2) rom #622 Common sense training is still not working....this I care about since my gf will be disappointed. Otherwise seems to have fixed everything else.....not that there was that much to fix.
     
  13. guzh
    OP

    Newcomer guzh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Have u checked the gbalpha? for I already had the GM v.30, but not the firmware for English lang. yet.. Btw, got it yesterday and installed it.

    If you want the link for GM and Firmware v.30 for Chinese lang.. just PM me...
     
  14. x_comp

    Member x_comp GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,054
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    New Game Manager icon too. Kind of reminds me of DJMax or EA's logo. They seem to have removed the Force R/W option too [​IMG]

    Yeah, too bad Common Sense Training isn't working because I'm curious to know what other stuff Japanese are supposed to know. I would buy it if it was a localised UK version but no point getting this if it only teaches you stuff about Japan mostly and it seems that way from the opening test questions [​IMG]
     
  15. guzh
    OP

    Newcomer guzh Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    Indonesia
    Yup, u got it rite! [​IMG]
    For to me, the new icon look much better than the previous one...
     
  16. rockwaldo

    Newcomer rockwaldo Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2004
    Messages:
    9
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    anyone see the english firmware yet? Im hoping it will solve my saving problem...
     
  17. Jasafar

    Newcomer Jasafar Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    United States
    Folks, I'm running v3.0 of the Game Manager as well and no fix for Tony Hawk. I did see Chinese Firmware, so those of us running English firmware will have to wait. The Game Manager is safe however; I didn't experience any issues and the menus are entirely in English. I don't know the ramifications of using this if you have an English card, but I tried loading Tony Hawk and it didn't appear to mess with anything else.

    I did an English translation on the release notes:

    GM upgrading :
    Improvement projects :
    1. Solve the "classic card games and different forms of chess table games 0580-42 (Japan)," the problem can only be fully included in the model runs. now using the rapid included;
    2. Solve the "classic card games and different forms of chess table games 0595-42 (United States)" mode of operation can only be fully included, now using the rapid included;
    3. Resolve "0602- English (EU)," the only safe mode of operation. now using the rapid included;
    4. Resolve "0604- spiro legend at the beginning of the new (U.S.)," Lack of screen background. now normal game;
    5. Resolve "0621- fence wall crazy Khami (EU)," Lack of screen background. now normal game;
    6. Resolved "at the beginning of the new Legend 0635- spiro (EU)," Lack of screen background. now normal game;
    7. Resolve "0639- fence wall crazy Khami (U.S.)," Lack of screen background. now normal game;
    8. Resolve "0643- hunting season (EU)," the only safe mode of operation. now using the rapid included;
    9. Resolve "0649- standing Nye ensure the well-being of the United States and the kitchen (Japan)" can not operate. now included in the normal use of rapid game;
    10. Resolve "0650- love hamsters (Japan)" can not operate. now included in the normal use of rapid game;
    11. Resolve "0659- crazy priest (USA)" can not operate. now included in the normal use of rapid game;
    12. Resolve "0661- DS Yoshi Island (USA)," the only safe mode of operation. now using the rapid included;
    13. Chinese name of the game to increase the use of automated functions, NDS games without manually add amendments to the file name will be automatically re-named as the Chinese name;
    14. Update "refers to links" set up the game change, Before the 3655 games automatically identify whether NDS need to use compulsory reading choice.

    You can download the new version here.
     
  18. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm... while I do find it annoying that some roms still aren't working (not that I care at all for Tony Hawk), I s'pose this is nice...

    Edit: oh, and btw, the update's on the official site now as well.
     
  19. Madrigal

    Member Madrigal GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    218
    Location:
    Victoria, B.C
    Country:
    Canada
    Yep. Update v30 English is on the official site now. The new default internal Moonshell skin is nice. I wish they would stop fooling around with it though and just simply give us touch screen support for the main firmware. I can't image why it would be so hard since they already did it with the internal Moonshell.
     
  20. cenotaph

    Member cenotaph GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2006
    Messages:
    341
    Country:
    United States
    Not to mention that the G6 GUI has touch screen support...
     

Share This Page