M3 stopped producing M3 Simply?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by boo1981, Jul 2, 2007.

Jul 2, 2007
  1. boo1981
    OP

    Newcomer boo1981 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just got this info from a retailer. Any one knows?
     
  2. igboo

    Newcomer igboo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Most stores are still having trouble keeping them in stock since they sell out so quickly. Unless they are releasing another card to replace the simply immediately, discontinuing the simply would be a pretty dumb busuness move.
     
  3. Fat D

    Member Fat D GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2006
    Messages:
    1,117
    Country:
    Germany
    just get an R4. it's the same anyway, just better.
     
  4. Costello

    Administrator Costello Headmaster

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    12,031
    I think the point here is for people who already got an M3 DS simply and are afraid that the M3 DS Simply might not be updated in the future.
    Well, don't worry anyway - the R4 DS loader can be patched to function on a M3 DS simply. So your M3 will have updates anyway!
     
  5. - Wrath of God -

    Member - Wrath of God - God

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2003
    Messages:
    975
    Country:
    United States
    Yep - thank god. I just hope that the R4 keeps being produced otherwise everyone's screwed.
     
  6. linkycat

    Newcomer linkycat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Country:
    United States
    What would they be replacing it with so soon? Unless they just call it something else. Developing and producing this hardware seems like it would be pretty expensive for only a few months of production. More likely they are changing manufacturers of the hardware, to someone who is doing it cheaper, and having a hiccup in the process?
     
  7. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    The M3 team would have to be pretty stupid to stop releasing updates for the Simply when all they have to do to convert the R4 loader is change one bit for the hardware check, a few pieces of text, and paste in their own default skin.

    Hey, we just stopped supporting our old cart that you bought two months ago. Buy our new cart!
     
  8. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    True, pretty stupid if they did stop selling them. It is probably getting them a huge amount of profit (possibly more so than the slot 2 cards, seeing how popular slot 1 has been recently)
     
  9. cheeo

    Newcomer cheeo Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2006
    Messages:
    99
    Country:
    United States
    I herd about this as well, because the M3 team don’t have anything to do with manufacturing the M3 simply, it’s R4’s hardware. M3 makes very little on the simply compared to other cards they manufacture. The only reason they made this deal with R4 is because at the time when R4 & SC were coming out with there slot-1 cards M3 at the time had nothing, so they made a deal with R4 to lease there technology.

    M3 thought because of their name alone they would out sell R4’s with all of their loyal customers. But people aren’t that stupid, well most people anyway. With R4 making the hardware for both & being cheaper plus getting updates a few days earlier. The R4 has been out selling the Simply about 100 to 1, so with M3 not making the money they expected the Simply has become more of a burden to the M3 team. But with the R4 DS loader out now at least there are no worries if anything happens.
     
  10. Chanser

    Member Chanser :o

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,648
    Country:
    Macau
    I guess M3 really need to release their own version as soon as possible.
     
  11. gameyeeeah

    Newcomer gameyeeeah Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2006
    Messages:
    62
    Country:
    China
    It's only because the CMOS Chip out of stock for a week, it's will be start supply in this days.
     
  12. dbgtdob

    Member dbgtdob GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    588
    Country:
    United States
    is the m3 real close to release then? or did their contract with R4 expire and r4 did not want to continue it, or maybe the R4 team wanted more money then M3 was willing to pay for the new lease.
     
  13. fyww611

    Banned fyww611 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG] acutally, i went to many stores for R4, but most of them are out of stock currently, or some prices are very high. Finally, i order mine at digimartz.com, fast shipping. Great!
     
  14. Maikel Steneker

    Member Maikel Steneker M3 Fanboy

    Joined:
    May 16, 2007
    Messages:
    3,396
    Country:
    Netherlands
    No! Not the M3 Real! That'd make my M3 Simply useless! Well, I could use hacked R4 firmwares, but rather not!

    I don't believe it exists anyway...
     
  15. ZeWarrior

    Member ZeWarrior TheWarrior

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    2,810
    Country:
    Brazil
    No R4's factory was closed, so No R4's = No M3S's Get it?
     
  16. HellShade

    Member HellShade GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2007
    Messages:
    220
    Country:
    Canada
    Lol IB M3 Real >_>
     

Share This Page