1. The_Cylon_Surfer

    OP The_Cylon_Surfer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Hi Everyone,

    My mother is having a small problem with her NDS + M3 Simply slot 1 device. Some games, not all when transfered to the micro DS card will not load correctly - She recieves a prompt to create a new .sav which of course she agrees to do but then gets the following error:

    "Unable to read save data. Switch off nintendo ds console and reinsert the game card."

    Now I have been able to fix some roms in the past using Sim City (J) and some tool I found BUT I purchased this slot 1 solution for her as at the time it seemed very straight forward to use, i.e rom patching was required. Does anyone have any idea what could be causing this error and more importantly does anyone know of a fix for this that does involve me having to patch roms for her?

    I've looked on google but have yet to stumble across anything other than the patching trick I described above.

    Many thanks

    CS
     
  2. Destructobot

    Destructobot Crave the Hammer
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Country:
    United States
    Sounds like she's got an old loader on the cart. Delete _DS_MENU.DAT and _DS_MENU.SYS from the memory card, and replace the old _DS_MENU.DAT with this one: http://gbatemp.net/index.php?download=2310

    A new _DS_MENU.SYS file will be created automatically.
     
  3. The_Cylon_Surfer

    OP The_Cylon_Surfer GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    130
    Country:
    Cheers - I'll give it a try when I get home [​IMG]
     
  4. maguspk

    maguspk Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I replaced the .dat file and it generated a new .sys file however I still encounter the same error as the OP.

    A google search for "Unable to read save data" reveals similar occurrences with other people attempting to play the Kirby Super Star Ultra nds file with the M3 Simply. If anyone could post the solution or what their current files are with it working properly, that'd be greatly appreciated.
     
  5. JAWS_XS

    JAWS_XS Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2007
    Messages:
    69
    Country:
    United States
  6. Narin

    Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,629
    Country:
    United States
    The R4DS and M3 Simply are the same flashcards. The M3 Simply is just a rebranded R4 but uses the R4 firmware which means you are out of luck when it comes to compatibility updates. I suggest you use YSMenu instead, then you don't have to patch the games yourself all the time.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Simply,