M3 Real

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by badzman, Nov 25, 2007.

Nov 25, 2007

M3 Real by badzman at 2:25 PM (1,442 Views / 0 Likes) 11 replies

  1. badzman
    OP

    Newcomer badzman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Singapore
    Hi,

    I planning buy a set in China but may I know whether I can use the english firmware on it instead of asia version?
     
  2. g6team

    Member g6team GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2007
    Messages:
    545
    Country:
    Hong Kong
    If you purchase a European Version then you will only be able to use the European Firmware.

    [​IMG]
     
  3. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    You can hack the kernel to allow them to be run on other region M3 Reals. There is a discussion topic in this subforum.
     
  4. CZroe

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    I read in a review that this stopped working in recent versions. I hardmodded mine, so I can't test (and don't need to).
     
  5. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    hrmmm so does anyone have a solid answer? i'm in the same predicament, no point in buying the chinese version if i can't change it over to english language later... from my understanding its not a problem?
     
  6. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    You cannot easily run the English (European, actually) loader on the Chinese Real. You can physically modify the cart to make it work, or you can reprogram the loader, or you can pay the $5 (or however much) extra to just get one in your language in the first place.
     
  7. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    yep think ill do that pity dealextreme doesnt have the english one, yet [​IMG]
     
  8. badzman
    OP

    Newcomer badzman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Singapore
    I guess M3 out then.....funny market strategy.
     
  9. kristijan08

    Member kristijan08 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Messages:
    373
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    actually dealextreme does have english ones, they just dont have the ram pack/gba pack available. not that this matters, nds games don't need the extra ram, right?
     
  10. --=ZerO=--

    Member --=ZerO=-- GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    271
    Country:
    Germany
    Of curse they do...

    Just search for M3 on their page...
     
  11. 4saken

    Member 4saken Retired Ace Attorney

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,358
    Country:
    Australia
    Not at the moment. However the RAM pack does have limited use with homebrew (as well as the official browser)
     
  12. CZroe

    Member CZroe GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    116
    Country:
    United States
    Their site does not even identify the Chinese version as Chinese. You have to read their user reviews to even know!
     

Share This Page