M3 real GBA expansion pack internal clock question...

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by R2DJ, May 2, 2008.

  1. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've read the review of the M3 Real and when I came down to the testing of GBA ROMs, Pokemon Sapphire does not work properly because of the internal clock does not exist. I also noticed that the review is kinda old so is the problem already fixed? I'm considering this bundle and I want to buy it. Thanks.
     
  2. RaiDesu

    Member RaiDesu GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    169
    Country:
    United States
    It would work, just time features like berries and the shop events are gone. Not a big effect on core gameplay.
     
  3. R2DJ
    OP

    Member R2DJ GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,900
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Any other GBA ROMs that has features that use the internal clock?
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The Pokemon games are the primary games that use the RTC, hence why many devices don't bother adding one in.
     
  5. Destructobot

    Member Destructobot Crave the Hammer

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    5,005
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Country:
    United States
    IIRC some of the MegaMan Battle Network games use a clock as well.
     
  6. taichi1082

    Newcomer taichi1082 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    Germany
    .
     
    Last edited by taichi1082, Mar 19, 2016
  7. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Call this weird but, I feel like it HAS an RTC built in. I did a test using Pokemon Emerald (unpatched), set the clock to 12 AM, then left my DS off for a few hours. Lo and behold, the time changed!
     
  8. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    ah, but did it change for the amount of hours you had your DS turned off?
    wouldn't be surprised if it would just show random times.
     
  9. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    It did.
     

Share This Page