M3 Real GBA Exp: can't save FFV other games

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by reiichiroh, Apr 29, 2008.

Apr 29, 2008
  1. reiichiroh
    OP

    Newcomer reiichiroh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Some games save, some don't. Final Fantasy V for one, it just says corrupt, even after I patch the SRAM with BatchGBA. Anyone get this working? Hamtaro heartbreak and its sequel also don't work.
     
  2. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,182
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    I just played FFV advance, saved it
    turned off the DS, restarted FFV and loaded the save just fine

    also my saves load fine

    it might be your MicroSD card
     
  3. reiichiroh
    OP

    Newcomer reiichiroh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    tried with both a 4gb sdhc patriot class 6 and a 2gb patriot.

    could the gba slot 2 be bad?
     
  4. Warren_303

    Member Warren_303 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Westcoast
    Country:
    United States
    I think it may be a possible issue with your slot-2. Although I agree with Joe88 about the micro sd card.

    I've never heard of that brand and don't know if its reliable.
    You might want to backup your games format the card and put all the data back on the micro sd.

    It could be worth the effort.
     
  5. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,182
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    they make pretty good RAM for computers

    I havnt heard of them in the MicroSD market though
    there is possibly the problem though

    try to get a different card
    such as kingston or such and test it
    thats my guess though because I havnt heard of anyone ever using that brand
     
  6. Warren_303

    Member Warren_303 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    376
    Location:
    Westcoast
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah Kingston is good. I'm using two A-data 4Giger micro sd cards, never had problems.

    I bought mine for $30 but it's a steal here like I mentioned in another thread.
     
  7. ds4ever

    Newcomer ds4ever Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    Portugal
    I'm having problems to!
    The M3 save the GBA normally its stay in the card and everything, but when i turn off the DS and turn on the M3 doesn't load the save!
    I'm using 1 GB micro SD Sandisk! and works great on ds games an saves well, but GBA im having this problem o Legend Of Zelda Minish cap!
    Others GBA games like castlevania works great the saves!
    Can some one help me please!
    Thank you!
     
  8. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,182
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    the zelda games wont save for some reason
    try RTS instead, there might be a IPF patch somewhere...
     
  9. reiichiroh
    OP

    Newcomer reiichiroh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    was the gba slot gone bad. i ordered a new one and it worked.
     
  10. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,182
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    hm
    thats odd
    it shouldnt matter since it saves to the MicroSD card

    also ran tests on the 2 zelda gba games

    Zelda link to the past will save regularly and will keep the save (it wont boot with RTS enabled)
    Zelda minish cap wont save regularly your game will be erased, however RTS works fine and you can use that instead
     
  11. Xeronage

    Member Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2006
    Messages:
    612
    Country:
    Its possible the onboard RAM was just faulty or the battery empty..
     
  12. Joe88

    Member Joe88 [λ]

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    11,182
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    yea

    heard you have to let the battery recharge when you get it
    by leaving it in the ds and charging it or playing a ds game or something else
     
  13. reiichiroh
    OP

    Newcomer reiichiroh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    no way to get minish cap to save normally?
     
  14. reiichiroh
    OP

    Newcomer reiichiroh Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Country:
    I can save after I enabled RTS, saved using it once and then saved normally without issues.
     

Share This Page