M3 Real – what version of card do you have?

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by Swalk, Jan 30, 2008.

?

Does your M3 work properly and what version is it?

  1. I have an old "2" and it works great

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. I have an old "2" and it's freezing

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. I have a new "E" and it works great

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. I have a new "E" and it's freezing

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Jan 30, 2008
  1. Swalk
    OP

    Newcomer Swalk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thought this deserves its own topic and a poll, to see if there's anything in this.

    I have two M3 Reals bought in December that Zelda and every rom I've tried so far work perfectly (including online play), but a new one bought in January crashes constantly - or fails to run roms at all. All M3s were bought from the same supplier, just different batches.

    The DS crashes when the gameplay changes and a new screen should load, I assume it's loading data from the SD card to either memory in the M3 cart or the DS and it's when accessing the SD card that it crashes.

    The problem seems directly related to the size of the rom: small roms like Mario Kart, Catz 2 and Brain Age 1 seem to load and run fine.
    Medium size are intermittent, some load the first screen then crash when selecting an option, others load and run for a while before giving a blank screen.
    Large roms like Zelda and Simpsons often give a blank screen as soon as you try to load or fail at the first screen change, but have occasionally run for up to half an hour..

    This is using any one of three SD cards that are all Japanese Kingston 1GB with a mixture of FAT, FAT32 and 2.9 or 2.8 and all work perfectly in the older M3s but not the new. I've already had one replacement for it but the problem's the same, still trying to get it resolved. My supplier has been brilliant, but he's getting fobbed off by the distributors who refuse to accept there's a problem.

    More than a week of testing with three NDSL consoles, three SD cards and three M3 Reals and a varied selection of roms and homebrew prove in my mind that it's not firmware or the supplied card reader but the latest batch of M3 Real carts, it could possibly be an SD card compatibility problem but the posts on here show people with just about every brand and size of SD card having problems (I work in IT/Systems and am used to diagnosing this kind of problem).

    Whether you have problems or not could you check the code on the pins of your M3, the new batch are marked "M3-NdsReal-CPE" previous are "M3-NdsReal-CP2" – 2 = good, E = problems!

    If as many people as possible answer the poll then we might get a clear picture of what's going on.

    Thanks!

    Sorry about the blank poll option, one too many returns and I can't edit it...
     


  2. Chedderknight

    Member Chedderknight GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    128
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Country:
    United States
    I have the new batch M3-NdsReal-CPE, and so far eveything has worked well other than cooking mama 2, which freezes at the pizza section, I"m running a kingston 4gb microsdhc if that helps
     
  3. Myztikal_

    Newcomer Myztikal_ Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Australia
    M3 DS REAL - CP2

    Works almost-perfect with roms.

    Freezes very rarely, experienced it maybe twice in the last month.

    all games have worked so far.

    I'm using SanDisk 2gb and use a FAT32 system.
     
  4. Swalk
    OP

    Newcomer Swalk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just cooked a pizza with the problem card! Cooking Mama 2 is one of the few mid-sized roms that doesn't seem to problematic. And it's always worked perfectly with the older cards... I'm just getting more confused now!
    What roms have you had running without problems?
     
  5. Hogmeister

    Member Hogmeister GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    144
    Country:
    United States
    M3 DS REAL - CP2

    ordered it from divineo.com sometime after the new year (can't remember i thinkkkkk around the 15thish), was the Real Perfect bundle (comes with GBA and Rumble packs)

    working perfectly thus far, just got it in the house yesterday but i put it through its paces... everything from GBA roms and NDS roms to media w/ videos and mp3's... all of which play just fine, also tried the rumble pack on my older european black ds lite (worried about rumors of the rumble pack bricking some peoples lites... noticed the casing on the rumble pack was reaaaalll loose so i tightened the screw down and gave it a shot) works fine from what i could note, didn't brick my ds either.

    the only thing i had any problems with was the built in media player function when playing dpg movies the bottom screen is bright f'en pink and that irritated me also the video skipped a good bit. not sure whats up so i through on a regular version of moonshell and it played the videos fine *shrug*

    oh 6GB Class 4 Sandisk MicroSDHC is being used [​IMG]
     
  6. budrow66

    Member budrow66 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2007
    Messages:
    194
    Location:
    T.N.
    Country:
    United States
    CP2 on the one I use. Kingston 2GB. I have had no problems.
    E on my other one with a 1GB Lexar. No problems on it either.
     
  7. idono1301

    Newcomer idono1301 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    United States
    cp2 also from divineo.. only the rumble pack.

    it works great though
     
  8. snowcorn22

    Newcomer snowcorn22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Malta
    CP2 works fine....
    just recieved a new one today and it's a CPE...

    Put the MicroSD 4GB SanDisk (i use in the CP2), and games also ran fine so far (to early to have checked many games)
    Will let you know if I'm having any trouble with it..

    Are there any particular games which are freezing?
    So i'll check them out...
     
  9. Agjsdfd

    Member Agjsdfd My title

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,208
    Location:
    Arctica
    Country:
    Check "Castlenavia POR" and DOS.
     
  10. snowcorn22

    Newcomer snowcorn22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Malta
    Dawn of Sorrow worked fine...
    did it even load up for you?
    haven't tried POR....
     
  11. Swalk
    OP

    Newcomer Swalk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Zelda PH, Simpsons, Brain Training 2, Nintendogs Labrador, Catz 2, Tony Hawk's Proving Ground, Tony Hawk's American Sk8land and apparently Cooking Mama 2 (my earlier test just shows how inconsistent it is!) have all been particularly bad with some refusing to load at all.
    There are others that are flaky but these are top of the list from those we've tried.
     
  12. DutchRurouni

    Newcomer DutchRurouni Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Euhm, I seem to have a CP3. is that good or bad? [​IMG]
     
  13. Swalk
    OP

    Newcomer Swalk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That's thrown a spanner! Dunno, does it work?
     
  14. DutchRurouni

    Newcomer DutchRurouni Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Netherlands
    works perfectly. Every game I tested (got this thing for a week now) works like it should
     
  15. Swalk
    OP

    Newcomer Swalk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'll have one of those then [​IMG]
     
  16. kreatosoupa

    Newcomer kreatosoupa Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    Greece
    I've had a CP2 from Kickgaming for about 3 weeks now. No problems whatsoever. I use a Japanese 2GB Kingston card.
     
  17. Xuio

    Member Xuio GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2007
    Messages:
    158
    Country:
    Poland
    I have old M3-NdsReal-CP2 and it works great (with sandisk 6gb class4) except DoS intro, which lags... a lot (no freezes though).
     
  18. snowcorn22

    Newcomer snowcorn22 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2008
    Messages:
    24
    Country:
    Malta

    Hey... so, i tried out Zelda PH, Simpsons, Tony Hawk's Proving Ground & Cooking Mama 2, ALL worked fine and loaded.. also played them for a short while.. and saved progress too...
    Did they even load for you? when didn't they work?

    Didn't try the others you mentioned yet...
     
  19. naes

    Member naes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2007
    Messages:
    172
    Country:
    United States
    CPE, I use a 4GB A-Data Class 6 Card. No problems whatsoever so far. I use the GBA and the Rumble pack from the Perfect Bundle.
     
  20. Swalk
    OP

    Newcomer Swalk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds like your M3's a good 'un, for me they fail to load 80-90% of the time, 10% they'll start then crash when you begin game play and just occasionally they''ll run up to half an hour before crashing, but crash they always will.
     

Share This Page