M3 Pro questions

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by ionized, Nov 5, 2006.

Nov 5, 2006

M3 Pro questions by ionized at 8:36 PM (813 Views / 0 Likes) 5 replies

  1. ionized
    OP

    Newcomer ionized Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Greece
    Hi

    I m interested in buying the M3 pro mini SD but I am a bit confused about the diferences with the standard M3 mini SD version.I know that the pro version cant play GBA games and that it doesnt have a battery.I would like to know if not having a battery prevends the m3 pro from saving tha NDS games.Does it saves the games in the same way the normal M3 does?

    I have read in another topic that M3 pro does not support "DS/GBA linking feature".can anybody tell me what is this?
    Finally M3 pro does not support "DS Normal/DirectCopy mode".what about this??
     
  2. azndragonguy115

    Member azndragonguy115 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    United States
    the pro version works teh same as a gba version...without the gba



    gba linkage is when you want to link a gba and nds rom together as if it was two real games in the 2 slots. doesnt work so well
     
  3. Vincent Vega

    Member Vincent Vega GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2006
    Messages:
    125
    Country:
    Brazil
    M3 Pro can play GBA ROMs up to 32Megabits = 4MegaBytes.
     
  4. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    Exactly, and this will not affect NDS compatibility really (unless you're trying to run games in normal mode where it loads the game into internal memory first). Most likely you may notice a difference running various homebrews that preload certain parts into the internal memory.

    P.S. Normal mode is where it attempts to fully copy the rom into its internal memory before running. This of course is the quickest way to for the rom to run with the exception that memory is limited (I believe current m3 has internal memory of 32 megabytes) so only roms fitting that size will fit in there...downfall = initial loading times to copy the rom onto the internal memory.
     
  5. Tir

    Member Tir GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2006
    Messages:
    151
    Country:
    Australia
    Do any DS games need normal mode though? Could slowdown be a problem without it? Really need a lot more reports from people who actually have a Pro.
     
  6. tama_mog

    Member tama_mog Kupo

    Joined:
    May 6, 2006
    Messages:
    1,288
    Country:
    United States
    consult the wiki on games that runs better in normal mode. Off the top of my mind I know before Super Mario needed to run in normal mode so the wifi multiplayer and mini games don't lock up and animal crossing needed normal mode so wifi visits from friends don't lock up.

    www.m3wiki.com
     

Share This Page