M3 DS REAL to DSi XL

Discussion in 'M3 Adapter' started by barticus1, May 20, 2010.

May 20, 2010

M3 DS REAL to DSi XL by barticus1 at 9:10 AM (7,849 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. barticus1
    OP

    Newcomer barticus1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using an M3 DS Real for ages, and today my gf bought me a DSi XL. I've searched the forums and other sites as much as my patience will allow, and now I have to ask.

    Is it possible to update my M3 Real to work with the DSi XL, or do I need to buy a different card?

    If I can update - What do I update to?

    If I need to upgrade - What do I upgrade to?

    Any help is appreciated guys, sorry if I'm accidentally repeating a dumb question.
     
  2. Infinite Zero

    Member Infinite Zero Almost!

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,922
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    United States
    I dont think the M3 DS Real will work on the DSi. Only the M3i Zero
     
  3. Djay187

    Member Djay187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2008
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sorry but you need to get one of the i cards, M3i Zero, Acekard 2i etc. Reason being Nintendo can update the firmware on the DSi/XL, thus stopping our cards from working, so to get around this we have to flash new firmware onto the card and the old cards can't do this.
    Well that's my understanding of it, someone else might be able to explain it better.
     
  4. thedicemaster

    Member thedicemaster GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Messages:
    2,412
    Country:
    Netherlands
    if you're used to the m3real, the m3i zero is a good replacement.
    it uses the same firmware as the m3real, and the only differences really are an updatable bootloader, and booting like a game rather than auto-boot.
     
  5. barticus1
    OP

    Newcomer barticus1 Newbie

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Got an M3i Zero and it's working just fine, thanks for the help everyone.
     

Share This Page