M3 DS & G6 DS News

Discussion in 'GBAtemp & Scene News' started by TheSpade, Jan 5, 2007.

Jan 5, 2007

M3 DS & G6 DS News by TheSpade at 5:17 PM (8,563 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. TheSpade
    OP

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States








    M3 DS & G6 DS News

    A lot of good, a little bad







    During my present examination of M3 DS Simply, I wrote Danny, Team G6/M3's spokesperson, with a few observations along with several questions. Allow me to share what he had to say on a few matters.



    · While remaining tightlipped about the specifics of the upcoming M3 DS Real, Danny does hint that it will include all of the features of the M3 Perfect. Does that mean GBA support? We'll have to wait and see.

    · Expect to see the M3 DS product line added to the homepage very soon.

    · The M3 DS Skinning Tool is indeed being prepared and should see a public release soon.

    · For those wishing to run Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin on M3 DS Simply, Danny advises using either Kingmax or PNY brand high-speed memory. He also states that Kingston and Sandisk brands, while unable to play the game without freezing, will work for all other games. Of course, you can buy the game and rule out any flash card issues..and you should!

    · The G6 Lite 8GBit hardware is complete, but the software development for it has not been completed. Sadly, Danny speculates that it may not ever be released, but please understand that this is not confirmed.

    · The G6 DS will be coming in the near future in 8Gbit and 16Gbit sizes. Pricing for each size along with which version (Simply or Real) will come first have not yet been announced.

    · While the M3 DS Simply does not presently support multiple save games, the M3 DS and G6 DS will both support the feature in the future.




     


  2. teonintyfive

    Member teonintyfive GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Greece, Somewhere in Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    2 GigaBytes!? Dear god!
     
  3. Gamesphere

    Member Gamesphere GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    209
    Country:
    United States
    YES the Mysterious M3 Real.

    Everyone speculates but the real actuall purpose of the M3 REal is to be the 1st slot one flash cart with GBA playback.

    How it will do this?, No one knows
     
  4. Mars

    Member Mars Radioactive Propaganda Minister

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Country:
    United States
    I take it the G6 DS is a slot-1 solution, no?
     
  5. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    I hope the skining tool is actually a skinning tool and not a couple of .bmp that you can change like the R4. I think a G6 DS would only sell if it was priced under the DS-X. Even it it has twice or 4 times the space.
     
  6. westboy

    westboy Newbie

    will m3 drop the support for simply once the real is out??
    makes me regret buying a m3 ds simply... should have gotten the R4 instead or waited for the real.. [​IMG]
     
  7. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States
    There's always another corner around the corner.

    A 16gbit G6 in Slot1 sounds like a keeper, huh.
     
  8. fryguy

    Member fryguy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2006
    Messages:
    265
    Country:
    Sweden
    Anyone who tried the TwinMOS microSD Card 1024MB, (10MB/8MB R/W) with M3 Simply?

    (I used to have a TwinMOS CF card for my SuperCard CF and it didn't lag in the Castlevania intro.)
     
  9. tehcamel

    Member tehcamel GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2006
    Messages:
    107
    Country:
    United States
    i knew i should of waited and continued to use my supercard lite. 2gigs is real freaky naughty. and it's not like im finding much differences between my supercard lite and the m3s (no patching however i still use third party software to trim roms)

    and any word on a firmware update for the m3s? we want custom skins...and multiple file support for their file trimmer.
     
  10. TheSpade
    OP

    Member TheSpade GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    504
    Location:
    Eastern U.S.A.
    Country:
    United States
    To answer a few of the questions:

    Gamesphere: GBA is still not confirmed. Until it is 100% certain either way, play it safe and don't expect it. Besides, there are plenty of slot-2 solutions out there for GBA.
    westboy: M3 DS Simply and Real will most likely use the same system files and updates, just like M3 Perfect and Professional presently do.
    marz93: Yes, G6 DS is slot-1.
     
  11. Kyro

    Member Kyro GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2002
    Messages:
    111
    Location:
    California
    Country:
    France
    hi,

    so when are we gonna see a review of the m3 ds simply?
     
  12. Satangel

    Member Satangel BEAST

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,255
    Location:
    Bruges, Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    If the G6 DS will be that large, it will be quite expensive...
    Because the DS-X only had 4 Gbit and it costs around 120 $ so the G6 DS will at least be 100 $...
     
  13. zatelli

    Member zatelli GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2003
    Messages:
    540
    Location:
    Always on the move...
    Country:
    France
    The M3 DS Real looks like a serious competitor, especially if it were to run gba backups (Final Fantasy VI Advance is still to be released aswell as Boktai 3 & trick star). Definately a nice feature to have on a slot-1 flashcart. [​IMG]
    I think the G6 DS either the 8 or 16Gb flavor will be quite costly since it'll use fixed NAND Flash memory,that kind of memory is very performant but it comes at a hefty price. [​IMG]
     
  14. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Hmm. I'm getting an R4 and a Sandisk card, be interested to see how it plays POR with it seeing as the M3 Simply apparently can't
     
  15. Hanafuda

    Member Hanafuda GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,585
    Country:
    United States

    don't feel bad camel, I bit too. Now I'm back to using my SCLite ... found a buyer for the SCDS. It's not that it doesn't perform well ... it does. It just doesn't really perform any better than the SCLite.

    at this point, I'm gonna watch the Slot1 market until I'm sure theyre producing a mature product. In the meantime, I'm hoping they overship the old Slot2 G6's and the dealers end up with overstock and cut the price ... I've always wanted to try one of those.
     
  16. ssj4android

    Member ssj4android GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2006
    Messages:
    180
    Country:
    If they found a way to run GBA games from the DS slot, wouldn't it be in software and thus theoretically usable on the M3 Simply, or other DS cards?
     
  17. mastertop101

    Member mastertop101 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    100
    Country:
    Canada
    well... if it can play gba games, it will use the same way DS link does it, uses a 256Mb gba flashcart (cheap) , burns from M3/micro sd to gba flash cart and plays it from gba flashcart...
     
  18. s00pcan

    Newcomer s00pcan Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    So my 1gb kingston I just bought isn't going to run PoR any better than my supercard? That's disappointing.
     
  19. BlueStar

    Member BlueStar GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,094
    Location:
    UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    That was my first thought as well, some kind of bundled slot-2 deely to get around the GBA unfriendly restrictions of slot-1.
     
  20. forkyfork

    Member forkyfork GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    146
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Country:
    United States
    I'm confused about the castlevania thing. I have an m3 simply, and using complete save file, with a kingston 1gb (FAT) I was able to go in out of the paintings without any freezing. Would it be different if I started from the beginning of the game?

    Also, I don't see how GBA support can exist in a slot-1 solution without SOME kind of emulator.
     

Share This Page