ROM Hack Lunar Knights - UNDUB

hellionz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
630
Trophies
0
XP
777
Country
Hopefully it's just the save games that are messed up. I'm starting this game right from the begining with the undub. I played the first 10 minutes or so, and I agree, I like it a lot better than the dubbed version. I thank you for making this and putting it on usenet!

the problem is that , ez4client dun recognize the new created rom (or the undubed version) ,and, if you force the transfer, you dun patch the game on the proper way (eemprom, 512k).

anyone knows how we can get this rom into the romlistds archive for the ez4client can recognize it with the proper configuration valor?

PD: plz forgive my english, sux like hell
rofl2.gif
rofl2.gif
rofl2.gif
 

darqfyre

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Feb 22, 2007
Messages
2
Trophies
0
XP
7
Country
Malaysia
the problem is that , ez4client dun recognize the new created rom (or the undubed version) ,and, if you force the transfer, you dun patch the game on the proper way (eemprom, 512k).

anyone knows how we can get this rom into the romlistds archive for the ez4client can recognize it with the proper configuration valor?

PD: plz forgive my english, sux like hellÂ
rofl2.gif
Â
rofl2.gif
Â
rofl2.gif
You just need to copy the Lunar Knights line in the romlist and change the CRC hash to the new one. It detected fine and used the same filesize and everything but it just won't load.
frown.gif
 

dbgtdob

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Messages
588
Trophies
0
XP
101
Country
United States
send me a pm for the undub, and what you need to do is make a save file with the normal rom, then delete it and replace it with the undub and the save file will already be made, so ill help you guys out with a download link but i cant roms post so pm me.
 

hellionz

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2007
Messages
630
Trophies
0
XP
777
Country
the problem is that , ez4client dun recognize the new created rom (or the undubed version) ,and, if you force the transfer, you dun patch the game on the proper way (eemprom, 512k).

anyone knows how we can get this rom into the romlistds archive for the ez4client can recognize it with the proper configuration valor?

PD: plz forgive my english, sux like hellÂ
rofl2.gif
Â
rofl2.gif
Â
rofl2.gif


You just need to copy the Lunar Knights line in the romlist and change the CRC hash to the new one. It detected fine and used the same filesize and everything but it just won't load.
frown.gif

how u can know the roms crc? (anyways if u said that u did it and dun work dun matter)

i tryed savefile method and neither work....

lets wait to european release or newer patch :'( (or...another flascard
laugh.gif
)
 

Kensuke

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
10
Trophies
0
XP
117
Country
if you're planning to play it on M3 adapters...use DSLazy...no other programs will work
frown.gif

actually i'm playing it and work flawless
 

Knab

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
306
Trophies
0
Age
41
Website
Visit site
XP
197
Country
United States
Pretty quick and easy "hack"...

I thought I'd let people know that all you need to do is literally swap the movie/sound (.VX/SDAT) files from the Japanese ROM into the USA one to create an UNDUB. All of the movie and ingame audio will be Japanese

i know this is a noobish question but how do you take it apart to do that?
 

dbgtdob

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 14, 2007
Messages
588
Trophies
0
XP
101
Country
United States
Pretty quick and easy "hack"...

I thought I'd let people know that all you need to do is literally swap the movie/sound (.VX/SDAT) files from the Japanese ROM into the USA one to create an UNDUB. All of the movie and ingame audio will be Japanese

i know this is a noobish question but how do you take it apart to do that?

its done for you already, you just need to find the IND release of the game.
 

Hidoshi

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 21, 2007
Messages
69
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
92
Country
Netherlands
I don't understand usenet :S
I can't find the game.
I tried making the fix myself, but it doesn't work. DSLazy doesn't work (for some reason)
Isn't there another way to get this game working?
 

Maikel Steneker

M3 Fanboy
Member
Joined
May 16, 2007
Messages
3,393
Trophies
0
Age
30
Website
ndss.nl
XP
350
Country
Netherlands
Isn't it possible to take the Japanese version and replace all text and sound with the English ones? Then we could play the online mode of the Japanese version and enjoy the game in English.
 

gukid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
102
Trophies
0
XP
413
Country
Canada
Went ahead and did the UNDUB, works great. I have sort of a request though, which will probably be quite a bit more work. Being Canadian, I have a hard time with the lack of metric units (Celcius and KM/hr), is there any way to change these back to how they were in the Japanese version as well? I even checked the UK rom and it's not Metric (which is doesn't make any sense since from what I know everyone in the UK relies on the metric system...)

Obviously this would probably take a bit more technical know-how, but it's something that I just can't get the hang of while playing the game. Can anyone help me out with this?
 

FAST6191

Techromancer
Editorial Team
Joined
Nov 21, 2005
Messages
34,911
Trophies
2
Website
trastindustries.com
XP
24,317
Country
United Kingdom
Metric is a somewhat recent addition to the UK it seems (I personally can not visualise anything else though) and it is not mandated by law as far as computer games are concerned.

None the less conversion will be a tad more difficult than an undub assuming the data is not still in the rom. I assume you want the temperature readings to read something sensible.
Changing it to display Celcius in as much as it is has a °C will probably not be difficult (at its easiest it will be a picture hack or a basic text hack, compression and odd fonts can make this a bit harder) but it will still display the number for Fahrenheit (i.e 70°C).

The number may be harder to pull off, I can imagine a few ways it would work:
random number within limits varying per level
set pattern that appears random

A problem may also come if weapons/armour requires a temperature to function, this could be as simple as hacking on a display tweak (read memory, convert to, display as opposed to read->display.

If you have a cheat code that controls it that would be great.
 

gukid

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2006
Messages
102
Trophies
0
XP
413
Country
Canada
Actually I never thought of how the weapons and armour would react, as they are set to do different things depending on the temperature and windspeed. I guess these would have already been changed over to the farenheight system as well... which would make this a LOT more complicated in my mind. Unless of course as you mentioned, the code for farenheight and celcius is still in there and all the rom would need is a simple setting change.
 

Embarko

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 24, 2007
Messages
37
Trophies
0
XP
114
Country
Canada
sweet works on cyclods...just wondering, u think this little hack isnt limited to only lunar knights? you think maybe this will work for any of the games that earn a dubbing? for example, professor layton is coming to north america soon, you think it would be possible to swap the jap one for the (most likely it will be dubbed) english one?
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    NoobletCheese @ NoobletCheese: Hi Ramesh, please join our weird puddle.