Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ooka

    Ooka Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    30
    Country:
    United States
    The authors don't have any intent of blocking this. Unless they start covering their tracks now that they look silly. :3
     
  2. ombus

    ombus GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2015
    Messages:
    460
    Country:
    United States
    if this is true then lazy nintendo..
     
  3. Zaphod77

    Zaphod77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    634
    Country:
    United States
    The problem is some legit homebrew apps are useless when not online. so to use them we need some sort of blocker to stop nintendo from getting telemetry.

    A non complete list follows

    1) luma updates
    2) freeshop
    3) homebr3w

    there are probably others.
     
  4. Plailect

    Plailect GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2016
    Messages:
    546
    Country:
    United States
    Being banned only limits your access to Nintendo's online services, not the entire internet...
     
  5. Zaphod77

    Zaphod77 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2015
    Messages:
    634
    Country:
    United States
    Well it's possible for a system that doesn't pirate anything to be still banned. if that's the person's only system, they lose the ability to play online even though they do not pirate.

    These bans hurt legit cfw users more than pirates.

    and there are unconfirmed reports of people also having their clean systems banned, because of this exact fact. if you keep hacked stuff on one system, and never do stuff online with it, then nintendo knows that to cost you money they have to ban the clean one too.

    I agree that if true, that's totally unfair, but i understand the logic.

    So i think a solution to prevent bans of legit cfw users (say ntr streaming?) from getting banned would be good.
     
  6. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,150
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    I made a little thing that should make the switch from a9lh to boot9strap a little less painless:
    https://github.com/zoogie/FIRMify

    This will batch convert all a9lh payloads in the current directory to .firm format. Python2 or 3 and no extra libraries needed. Just run it in the sdmc:/luma/payloads directory.
     
    TuxSH and KunoichiZ like this.
  7. Windowlicker

    Windowlicker INTJ Idiot
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2016
    Messages:
    654
    Country:
    Greece
    Just wanted to clarify, latest hourly works perfectly.
     
    KunoichiZ and thaikhoa like this.
  8. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    I guess I'll ask here as well. Chainloader menu does not boot up; when holding START, the screen flashes once, a slight pop from the speakers and the 3DS boots normally.

    Tried a lot of things, I was on A9LH, moved to B9S without issues, everything works properly aside from the chainloader. Help?
     
  9. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    1) Try reupdating to Luma 7.1. I've seen reports that even after that, the chainloader doesn't always load for whatever reason.
    2) You do have GodMode9 in your luma/payloads folder, right?
     
  10. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    Did, yep, even renamed it to force it to start directly by holding X.
     
  11. Redferne

    Redferne GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2015
    Messages:
    838
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It could be because it's the same button to enter the menu and exit it.
    It happened to me once yesterday, I entered the chainloader menu and before I could select a payload it exited and load the Home menu. I wondered what happen and I realized that I was still holding Start.
     
    KunoichiZ likes this.
  12. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    Ah, I didn't realize there was a way to exit the chainloader without selecting an payload.
     
  13. tloberif

    tloberif Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Brazil
    Morning dud

    I update here...luma3ds with Luma Updater v2.1 and.......all work fine.

    Current installed version : 7.1-8308e1a8 :wub:

    THANK´S
     
    Last edited by tloberif, Jun 1, 2017
  14. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    Doesn't matter, renamed and tried multiple times, same thing happens
     
  15. pixelmasher

    pixelmasher Gaming Gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,665
    Country:
    United States
    Pop sounds like a hardware issue.
     
  16. zoogie

    zoogie playing around in the dsiware
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2014
    Messages:
    8,150
    Country:
    Micronesia, Federated States of
    A little warning. The latest build, at least the latest hourly build available (4c87800-b9s-next) from lumaupdater, is broken. It just turns off the system on both sd and ctrnand.

    Whoever is running that app should stick with the master branch and avoid the experimental ones, like b9s-next.
     
    Last edited by zoogie, Jun 2, 2017
  17. hidd12

    hidd12 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    Croatia
    Can't replicate issue anywhere aside from when I try to start the chainloader. Ugh, I'm probably missing some file or smth, idk what could be the issue

    EDIT: luma's payload is in NAND root, luma's folder is in /rw, rest of the payloads on sd:luma/payloads, bleh
     
    Last edited by hidd12, Jun 2, 2017
  18. TuxSH

    TuxSH GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2015
    Messages:
    614
    Country:
    France
    B9S-Next requires the next branch from b9s, both will be the upcoming releases. Using Luma3DS/b9s-next with b9s v1.0 is undefined behavior and should be avoided at all costs.

    Also, @zoogie https://github.com/SciresM/boot9str...a1e5#diff-9e11087a3a4c3a71e41db1c8bc151afdR30 the 0x23FFFE00 stuff is gone, requiring code change in payloads (already done by d0k3 on at least gm9).
     
    Last edited by TuxSH, Jun 2, 2017
    daxtsu likes this.
  19. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    It's not up to me for the hourlies. That's all on astronautlevel. They just told me the link to use. It's not my fault.
     
    pixelmasher and zoogie like this.
  20. SamanthaKitKat

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    I'm a humongous noob, but I have a question. Can I install Luma3ds CFW on a New 3dsxl that is on FW 11.4? I've looked for the answer but haven't seen anything. I don't want to hard mod anything. I currently have Ninjhax and homebrew.
    Thanks :)
     
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Firmware, Luma3DS, Custom

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.