Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. SRKTiberious

    SRKTiberious GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2014
    Messages:
    214
    Country:
    United States
    A whole lot of this.

    Nintendo already caught a ton of flack for the brick wave that Wii Update 4.2 caused for legitimate users, so I really doubt they'd be wanting to repeat that experience any time soon. Wii U is on its way out, as is 3DS, and with the Switch nearing release, releasing a 3DS update that causes a brick wave will essentially kill the Switch before it even launches. I'd hope you could see how that would be bad for business.

    Edit: Question about splash screens with CTRNAND boot is still there.
     
    Last edited by SRKTiberious, Dec 16, 2016
  2. BadBoyXxX

    BadBoyXxX GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    i have a question i have luma 5.2 i need to update to the last update what i can do i see are no more the folder luma on the update i need to erase all and put only the folders of the update? need help thanks
     
  3. pixelmasher

    pixelmasher Gaming Gamer
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,665
    Country:
    United States
    If you're on a9lh, you need to just copy the new arm9loaderhax.bin to the root of you (micro)SD card. If you're using menuhax, refer to the wiki or wait for someone else.

    Oh, you should probably update your payloads at the same time. Decrypt9WIP, Hourglass9. etc.

    When you boot, it should take you to the config screen, if it doesn't just delete the config.bin in luma folder on your (micro)SD or press select and hold it while you turn on your 2/3DS.
     
    Last edited by pixelmasher, Dec 16, 2016
  4. Februarysn0w

    Februarysn0w GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Japan
    Just replace or overwrite updated .bin, .dat or 3dsx file for your setup.
     
  5. Urbanshadow

    Urbanshadow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    Has anyone tried to update sysNAND after installing luma to ctrnand? The update uninstalls it?
     
  6. Februarysn0w

    Februarysn0w GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Japan
    basically, Do not need to do anything after update. but If you got some problem, delete luma folder that is in the rw folder.
     
  7. Vepaot

    Vepaot Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Post was removed by user.
     
    Last edited by Vepaot, Dec 18, 2016
  8. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Official Cubi: *pout* :f
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    23,750
    Country:
    Antarctica
    The update will not remove it. Luma3DS continues to run with all the same protections no matter where you run it from
     
    Urbanshadow likes this.
  9. Urbanshadow

    Urbanshadow GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    Uhm, cool. Thanks.
     
  10. Asia81

    Asia81 GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2014
    Messages:
    6,106
    Country:
    France
    Do someone know why all my AGB games show as glitched on the upper screen?
    Using Asdolo's Ultimate GBA Injector.
    Sorry for the crap quality...

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I'm using Luma 6.6, on a New 3DS.
    I restored the AGB firm downloaded with 3DNUS, same problem.
    But I think it's not due to my CIA, because they work fine on other 3DS.
     
  11. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    United States
    Generic question - I just set-up A9LH + Luma on my N3DS. Everything's working smoothly so far. If/When I choose to uninstall a game (.cia) I no longer want to keep, how do I go about doing that? I've been away from the scene for a year so re-learning everything. Thanks!
     
  12. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    System Settings or use FBI's Titles Option.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  13. Kenneth196

    Kenneth196 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks! I'm coming from using GW so I remember that I wasn't supposed to go into Data Management for various reasons, but since that's no longer an issue with A9LH + Luma...

    Thanks again!

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    *Sorry for the double post*

    One more question... Again, just re-teaching myself everything... am I able to update games straight from the home menu (When you highlight a game and it says "UPDATE NOTICE: An update is available", can I update is that way as opposed to installing an update .cia?)
     
  14. KunoichiZ

    KunoichiZ GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2012
    Messages:
    8,830
    Country:
    United States
    Yes you can download from the Home Menu IF the games are from your region. If they are not, you'll have to find the update CIA.
     
    Kenneth196 likes this.
  15. hoist20032002

    hoist20032002 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United States
    Oh, so I updated A9LH & Luma and now Luma won't boot into EmuNAND. I've tried different Luma builds (old & new) and nothing happened. Trying to get this to work and I've googled and read all. Still no idea why Luma just goes black. Do I need to do the black screen fix?
     
  16. Serfrost

    Serfrost GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
    Question... I've searched around Google and whatnot but to no avail--

    Is there a .bin build of Homebrew Launcher where I can launch it from a hotkey like with Hourglass, Decrypt9WIP, and Emunand9?

    Mainly for ease of access; I do have it on the Home Menu, but if you could boot into it this way, it'd be that much faster.

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Are you making sure to select the options and hold the correct button on boot?

    Honestly, you don't need emunand if you already have A9LH; emunand just takes up more space on your SD card.
     
    klear likes this.
  17. tvall

    tvall GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Country:
    United States
    nope. homebrew launcher is arm11 and makes lots of use of system services and such. a9lh payloads run in arm9
     
    Serfrost likes this.
  18. Serfrost

    Serfrost GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2015
    Messages:
    344
    Country:
    United States
    Alright, that answers my question. Much thanks.
     
  19. CGNetwork

    CGNetwork GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2016
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    I was able to install both a9lh and Luma3DS CFW the the long process of DSiWare Downgrade method, but couldn't launch Homebrew Loader at all from the Home Menu using FBI that I installed it from, and I'm stuck. Is there a way to get a certain payload to make it work again?
     
    Last edited by CGNetwork, Dec 22, 2016
  20. naddel81

    naddel81 GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,393
    Country:
    United States
    maybe try homebrew launcher loader.cia? or maybe an old fbi 1.4 install would work?
     
    CGNetwork likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Firmware, Luma3DS, Custom

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.