Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hylian Phoenix

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Hi, I'm having a weird problem - I'd like to install Luma3DS, but when I download the files, the Luma folder is empty. I've tried several extractor programs, but they all output an empty folder, or tell me the archive is corrupted. I've tried downloading Luma3DSv5.5.7z from a different web browser as well, but get the same result.
     
  2. AkGBA

    AkGBA Nope
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2007
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    France
    Inside the archive, the "luma" folder is always empty.
     
  3. BlazinH

    BlazinH Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    So I'm trying to run Luma3DS on a n3DS via browserhax/homebrew launcher and after the red screen, I get the blank screen.
    I'm thinking I maybe have an incomplete downgrade. My output from downgrade_check looks like this:
    So maybe I need to use sysupdater again. Before I do this I've tried to access a homebrew that would let me make a backup of my sysnand: I've tried to use Gateway and EmuNand9. Gateway has blank screen after the red screen, and EmuNand9 flashes red twice before putting me back in homebrew menu.

    What should I be doing?
     
  4. Hylian Phoenix

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2016
    Messages:
    10
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks.
    (Now I just feel dumb. :blush:)
     
    Last edited by Hylian Phoenix, Aug 11, 2016
  5. Danni95dg

    Danni95dg Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2016
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    I have a Nand backup, yes. But I don't get why I'd need it if you're suggesting to download a TWL Firm.
    What's what I should do with the nand backup?
    And should I uninstall it via FBI and then install the clean one?

    Sorry if it's something obvious but since I'm not a native speaker and a little noob in 3ds scene, there might be some things I don't understand easily lol
     
  6. Omegablu

    Omegablu We shall not yield to the Kingdom of Nohr!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2016
    Messages:
    1,131
    Country:
    United States
    The nand backup is just in case something goes wrong. Uninstall twl firm with FBI and then install a clean one. Also make sure that both of your nands have clean twl firms if your using an emunand.
     
  7. astronautlevel

    astronautlevel GBAtemp Psycho!
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    4,123
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using regular luma3ds or dev? Hold select to check.
     
  8. Februarysn0w

    Februarysn0w GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Japan
    PIN LOCK!
     
  9. noctis90210

    noctis90210 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2013
    Messages:
    926
    Country:
    im excited for the next official release with this feature... no sd+pin lock is awesome...
     
  10. RustInPeace

    RustInPeace Samurai Cop
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2014
    Messages:
    5,802
    Country:
    United States
    I'm actually curious about the point of a pin feature. Extra security?
     
  11. HenryLeonheart

    HenryLeonheart GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    @Aurora Wright It would be nice if the PIN system could be improved with something like a phone PUK. Like, if you failed the PIN three times, you would need to insert your PUK, which should be a specified number of pressed keys. To make sure the user didn't write down a wrong PUK, it could first ask you once for the PUK, then to redo it again and if it mismatches, it brings back the user to the first time they have to write it. If it matches, then the PUK could be shown to the user that time so that they can write it down.
     
  12. peteruk

    peteruk GBAtemp Addict
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,269
    Country:
    I wonder how the no sd feature will work
     
  13. Assasin1990

    Assasin1990 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2014
    Messages:
    139
    Country:
    Moldova
    Request NO Patches Mode to add like retail , without any patches ( for me to test new exploits ). if I am not mistaken in CakesCFW have such option but i can't get working it on firm 11.0
     
    thaikhoa likes this.
  14. Februarysn0w

    Februarysn0w GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1,205
    Country:
    Japan
    corbenik CFW does the job! oh...but the setup is not easy as Luma3DS. little bit complicate.
     
    Last edited by Februarysn0w, Aug 11, 2016
    Lilith Valentine likes this.
  15. Phil5004

    Phil5004 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    887
    Country:
    Germany
    With my o3DS I've got just a blackscreen on first boot..
     
  16. Skyshadow101

    Skyshadow101 The Sky Is The Limit!
    Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2016
    Messages:
    941
    Country:
    United States
    Are you using A9LH? If so, make sure your arm9loaderhax.bin is on the root of your sd. If your using emunand, make sure all the files that is needed to boot Luma is on the sd.

    Sent from my Browser on a New 3DS XL with A9LH
     
  17. Phil5004

    Phil5004 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    887
    Country:
    Germany
    Still blackscreen
     
  18. pbanj

    pbanj The "friendly" neighborhood sandwich
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2014
    Messages:
    2,741
    Country:
    United States
    A9lh or something else?
     
  19. Phil5004

    Phil5004 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    887
    Country:
    Germany
    Only EmuNAND
    o3DS 9.2
     
  20. Koryushin

    Koryushin GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2015
    Messages:
    176
    Country:
    France
    Did you downgrade From GW Menu in the past ?
    if so read the faq of Luma3DS.

    I had trouble with Luma3DS, switching from AuReiNand. BlackScreen on Luma3DS but it worked on AuReiNand so i red the faq to solve my preoblem. It was the downgrade from GW Menu.

    https://github.com/AuroraWright/Luma3DS/wiki/FAQ-and-Troubleshooting
     
    cvskid likes this.
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Firmware, Luma3DS, Custom

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.