Luma Splash Screen Not Appearing After Moving to a Bigger SD Card

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by RyGuy176, Jan 26, 2017.

  1. RyGuy176
    OP

    RyGuy176 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Dec 8, 2015
    Canada
    Hey all,

    As title says above, when I was on the original SD card that I had used to put Luma and Arm9 on in the first place (32GB microSDHC), the custom splash screen I had set to load on system bootup worked fine. After moving all the files to a bigger SD card (64GB microSDXC), this is the one thing that doesn't work. My backups, homebrew apps, the launcher, themes, etc all work like before. Anything I can do to get it to run again?

    I've tried:
    - Turning on before and after payload boot up
    - Reinstalling the splash.bin files
    - Installing a different splash screen
    - Turning off the Splash Screen feature , rebooting the 3DS, and reactiving
     
  2. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    938
    353
    Aug 17, 2015
    Germany
    Inside your bootloader (´◉◞౪◟◉)
    Is the sd card FAT32? SDXC cards come with exfat and the 3DS doesn't support it. Windows 7 can only format big cards to exfat or ntfs. Try SdFormatter. This should work.
     
  3. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,754
    368
    Apr 23, 2007
    United States
    As einhuman197 said, make sure the card is formatted to FAT32. Of course you would notice if it weren't as you wouldn't see installed games on your homescreen, or any theme you previously selected. Plus you seem to be able to get into the Luma3DS menu?

    So let's assume you did format correctly. Which version of Luma3DS are you using? If nightlies, then update. There were recently 2 commits to fix the bootscreen issue. If you're on 6.6, verify your files are where they need to be, verify they are also not corrupted. What is your arm9loaderhax.bin named? Is there an _si prior to the .bin part? Not even sure if that's still required.

    Are you using Luma3DS' splash screen or a third party? If Luma, you are sure the config is setup correctly? Can you post a pic of it please?

    Lastly, did you test your new SD card with h2testw prior to using it? It is possible that you were sent a faulty card.
     
  4. RyGuy176
    OP

    RyGuy176 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Dec 8, 2015
    Canada
    Yep, the SDXC card has been formatted to FAT32 prior to me putting all the files on it.

    I'm using Luma 6.6, at least that's what the version number is when I hold select on boot-up to get there. All the files are in the correct locations, (refered back to 3DS. Guide, the site I followed to mod). Arm9loaderhax.bin is named exactly that, and is in the root of the SD Card, no _si.

    The splash screen is a third party screen downloaded from 3DSThemes.
    [​IMG]

    Looking at the picture I just took, I see I'm missing some Luma options now too. Default EmuNAND, Autoboot SysNAND, and Use SysNAND FIRM if booting with R are all missing now too. Does that have something to do with it?

    Link to the picture, didn't seem to upload right
    http://imgur.com/h1qjw5V

    Also seems like Hourglass9 isn't booting up now.
     
    Last edited by RyGuy176, Jan 26, 2017
  5. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    938
    353
    Aug 17, 2015
    Germany
    Inside your bootloader (´◉◞౪◟◉)
  6. RyGuy176
    OP

    RyGuy176 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Dec 8, 2015
    Canada
    Just tried the latest nightly Luma, nothing.

    Also how can the SD be corrupted if everything else works fine?
     
  7. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    938
    353
    Aug 17, 2015
    Germany
    Inside your bootloader (´◉◞౪◟◉)
    My Luma made problems too and games worked. The SD was corrupted.
     
  8. RyGuy176
    OP

    RyGuy176 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Dec 8, 2015
    Canada
    Okay, so I just try h2testw to see if that works?
     
  9. einhuman197

    einhuman197 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    938
    353
    Aug 17, 2015
    Germany
    Inside your bootloader (´◉◞౪◟◉)
    Yes.
     
  10. RyGuy176
    OP

    RyGuy176 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Dec 8, 2015
    Canada
    No problems found with the SD Card. Used both h2testw and chkdsk /f, to no avail. SD checks out fine. Also spent 4 hours on the discord server last night looking for help. Very friendly and helpful folks, but we couldn't figure it out. Still not able to load into Hourglass
     
  11. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru

    Member
    5,843
    5,254
    Jan 28, 2016
    United States
    Set hourglass9 as your arm9loaderhax.bin
     
  12. RyGuy176
    OP

    RyGuy176 Newbie

    Newcomer
    8
    0
    Dec 8, 2015
    Canada
    The one on the root of the SD or the one in the sysNAND? Changing the one on the SD card does nothing, 3DS boots normally
     
  13. OrGoN3

    OrGoN3 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,754
    368
    Apr 23, 2007
    United States
    And if you change the one in CTRnand?

    Personally I'd backup the SD card. Reformat with GUI formatter. Put only essential files on there (Luma, AES keys, etc.). Configure Luma correctly. If it boots the skeleton system then you can add things one by one to figure out the culprit.

    When in sysnand are you able to install non signed content with FBI? If not A9LH may be gone.
     
  14. wiinwinn

    wiinwinn Member

    Newcomer
    20
    3
    Nov 21, 2016
    Thailand
    I have the same problem. Did you find a solution yet ?