LU90 technical questions and SoftModing for USB Loader and Gamma Loade

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by evilfiz, Aug 23, 2009.

1. evilfiz
    OP

Newcomer evilfiz Newbie

United States
    How I got here from there….

I have been browsing the Wii Forum community since I got my LU63 Wii in Feb. 09. I was able to successfully mod my LU63, install HBC, run USB and Gamma Loaders, and downgrade it to 3.2U using the TP Hack. Having done most of this as a novice I made several mistakes which I hope to not make this time around. My sincerest thanks and gratitude go out to all the developers who have produced the Apps my family and I have benefited from. You would be surprised how long a 4 Yr. old can play the Wii and how many times they want to switch games. For this reason alone I think the USB loader is the most significant App. On the homebrew scene (I know my opinion is biased.) My story follows.

1) I started by bricking my Wii using Dop-IOS incorrectly (I know…boneheaded move)
    2) I sent my LU63 brick in for warranty repair and got it repaired under warranty (Lucky break, I told them the power went out during a system upgrade)
    3) I got back a LU90 with system Ver. 3.3U

What I have done since getting it back.

1) Bought an ORIGINAL GameCube controller on eBay (Confirmed working)
    2) Installed HBC and BootMii using BannerBomb and HackMii installer (latest Ver. As of 8-18-09)
    3) Ran a NAND backup using BootMii

What I want to get accomplished

1) Softmod mi Wii so I can use USB and Gamma Loaders for game backups
    2) Install only the absolute minimum of mods needed to accomplish this goal

My questions

1) How can I find out what my LU90 Wii was before it was re-serialed as a repaired unit? Or is LU90 a new series of Wiis?
    2) If during the BootMii installation I selected to install BootMii to BOOT2 and I was subsequently able to run a NAND backup with successful verification from within BootMii, did BootMii actually install to BOOT 2?