LT+ drive won't play burnt backups

Discussion in 'Xbox 360 - Games & Content' started by ZombiePosessor, Dec 12, 2010.

Dec 12, 2010
  1. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I recently flashed the firmware on a stock Lite-On 74850C with the LT+ firmware, and it will play retail discs fine, but it will not load ANY burnt discs, it just keeps saying "Open Tray" if a DVD+R DL is in there. I know my keys and all that shit dumped just fine on jungleflasher, I've flashed SEVERAL drives, and this is the first time I've used LT+, is there any difference? All of the discs were ABGX verified before burning also.

    tl:dr my newly flashed 74850C with LT+ won't play burnt games, only retail. Wat do?
     


  2. Fudge

    Banned Fudge Remember that death is not the end, but only a tra

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    Messages:
    2,655
    Location:
    New York
    Country:
    United States
    Does the drive spin when you put in a burnt game?
     
  3. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    what media are you using? my liteon 74850C gets really picky about what i use
     
  4. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nothing as simple as the games you are trying not being of the splitvid variety (ABGX360 should tell you)?
     
  5. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using Verbatims, yes the drive spins up when I put in the burnt game, and ABGX doesn't give me any errors. I've tried 5 different games with no luck.
     
  6. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,747
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Errors are one thing, splitvid is another (it was an old method/fix brought back for LT).

    Have you tried the LT+ 1.1 yet (it hit yesterday although it might not be on xbins)?
     
  7. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I'll try LT+ 1.1. I really hope I don't have to get all those games again, I deleted the images after I burnt them. What am I looking for with this splitvid thing? Will it not boot if splitvid is present?
     
  8. Livin in a box

    Member Livin in a box Livin' in a cardboard box

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Purgatory
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If SplitVid isn't on the disc then no, it won't. If you go to ABGX GUI and go to the Mic tab, the SplitVid bit should say "Add it if it doesn't exist or isn't valid". Then it'll fix SplitVid if it is a problem.
     
  9. MFDC12

    Member MFDC12 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2007
    Messages:
    761
    Country:
    United States
    you should be able to copy the image off the disc, try dvd decrypter->iso maybe? i think ive done this before a few times
     
  10. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Jungleflasher hangs on write verification, I think this is where the problem is. It writes ok, banks 0-3 write ok, and as soon as it starts the "Write Verification" the "Intro/Device ID" etc buttons become selectable again, and the log stops on "Testing Bank 0:....." and goes no further. I've been trying to make a bootable USB drive to try dosflash but every stick I use to make a bootable USB drive off of either boots into dos and just displays "j_" and does nothing or gives me a Disk Error message. I HAVE to get this drive flashed and working... any help would be appreciated
     
  11. dbspanks

    Newcomer dbspanks Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    have you tried making a bootable flash drive with Iprep, this program has always worked for me. One quick thing with the burning I assume you have set the layer break in the burning software.
     
  12. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I was going to use iPrep, but I read on the program's author's page that LT+ will not work with iPrep, but I guess I really don't need iPrep to work for anything other than making a bootable USB stick, right? And yes I've set the layer break, a few I "acquired" came with a .dvd file for imgburn, so I just copied the layer break from those .dvd files and used em as my default layer break because all I burn is 360 games w/ my burner.
     
  13. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I'm still having no luck with this... I used iPrep to make a bootable usb stick and I still hang at "j_" instead of going into dos...
     
  14. mocalacace

    Member mocalacace GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    322
    Location:
    127.0.0.1
    Country:
    United States
    Try using this to make a bootable usb drive.

    http://www.mediafire.com/?df6q7796x9jp80b
     
  15. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I finally found a USB drive that would work. I booted into DOS with it, did the liteon in DOSFLASH, and now it won't spin up when I put a disc in. The guy I'm doing this for is getting impatient and being a dick, so I'm just gonna put ix1.6 on here and be done with it, fuck it. This is the biggest pain in the ass drive ever.

    update: I put iXtreme 1.6 on and the same thing happens... it will play retail discs but NOT burnt media... WTF is going on??? I've been fucking with this drive for DAYS now!!
     
  16. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    What games were you using to test? Just a thought but if the console is on the latest dash and has been flagged "Failed AP25 Challenge" then any AP2.5 games will not run.

    Edit:
    If you didn't unplug the laser when you flashed the drive then there is a chance the laser was spiked when the power was switched on and off quickly.

    If the laser has become a little weaker due to a spike then you can tweak the laser pot to increase the voltage to the laser. See the tutorial below.

    http://suhastech.com/xbox-360/pot-tweak-fo...-lite-on-drive/

    Edit2.
    BE WARNED, The tiniest little movement of the pot changes the value quite a bit. Do not try and fudge it make sure you measure the resistance. I breathed on mine and it went from 6.04k to 5.45k.
     
  17. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    I've already tweaked the pot on it, and I flashed it w/ LT 1.1 before putting any games in the disc, so I know the Failed AP25 isn't there, because LT 1.1 handles them fine. The only thing I see is that jungleflasher says "No Calibration Data in Source" or something, but I read that if I have my keys, etc then I should be fine... but I can't get SHIT working on this. I'm going to swap out an old hitachi and put iX1.6 on it and just not bother, who cares if they can't play AP25 stuff later on, I've had this drive for 2 weeks now and have been fucked. We'll see if drive swapping works, but I doubt it.
     
  18. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    I have only just updated mine to LT+ 1.1 and it is ok. "No calibration data" is fine mine is the same, the original dump a few years back never included it but so far it doesn’t seem to matter

    The only thing I can think of is the laser has gone a little low emission and won't pick up the burnt disks anymore. You could try a laser replacement. I haven't done it myself.

    I read a while back that the lasers can get fried when flashing due to the rapid connection and disconnection of the power cable. Since then I have always disconnected the laser ribbon cable when flashing.
     
  19. tk_saturn

    Member tk_saturn GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3,327
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The calibration data isn't used. It's from where the drive was tested in the factory, once it's left the factory it's no longer used.

    If you dump the original firmware over SATA, you will loose this 'calibration data'. You only get the 'calibration data' if you dump the original firmware using the MRA hack.

    While the 'Calibration Data' isn't used, it's been suggested that Microsoft could if they wanted to use missing 'Calibration Data' to detect flashed drives.
     
  20. ZombiePosessor
    OP

    Member ZombiePosessor GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 1, 2008
    Messages:
    445
    Location:
    West Virginia
    Country:
    United States
    Well I adjusted the pot again, and it started showing games in the dash, but gave me DRE when I tried to play it, so I turned my pot screw like 1/32 of a turn and now it won't even play retail games. Drive doesn't spin. I hope I didn't adjust it too much. I'm gonna keep adjusting it slightly until something happens, lol.
     

Share This Page