Low Level Brick (w/ Bootmii installed to boot2

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by morgan8200, Jan 5, 2010.

  1. morgan8200
    OP

    Newcomer morgan8200 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I think I have a low level brick because my screen remains black and bootmii doesn't load although I have it installed to boot2.

    I have virtual console games on my Wii hard drive that I installed using WADs.

    1) will Nintendo repair my wii eventhough I have the HBC, backup loader channel, etc

    2) I've heard of nintendo fining people for having unauthorized software on their wii...is this true?
     
  2. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Did you try another SD card with the bootmii files on it?
     
  3. morgan8200
    OP

    Newcomer morgan8200 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    yes. I still just get a black screen. I tried savemiifrii too. Forgot to mention that my wii is just soft-modded.
     
  4. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    do you remember what you were doing before it got bricked and are you sure you installed bootmii
     
  5. morgan8200
    OP

    Newcomer morgan8200 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I was installing an ISO from a USB mass storage device and was an idiot and turned off my wii while it was installing. I'm pretty positive I installed bootmii. I used to load fine from the SD card before bricking.
     
  6. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Installing what ISO?!?!? Installing ISO's doesn't write anything to the Wii Memory!!!
     
  7. morgan8200
    OP

    Newcomer morgan8200 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I didn't think it would write anything to the wii memory and that's why I thought it wouldn't do anything to the wii when I turned the wii off. I was trying to install the Indiana Jones 2 ISO via the SD/USB Loader v1.5.
     
  8. blitzer320

    Member blitzer320 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    370
    Location:
    NYC
    Country:
    United States
    try what i just sent you in pm if that works you have bootmii installed as boot2 if not you have it confused and only have bootmii as ios in which case you are fucked
    and yes like tattar8 said you can't messup the wii from installing a iso to the hard drive it was something else you did why not try being truthful we are all pirates here (except me right nintendo if your watching [​IMG] ) speak freely
     
  9. morgan8200
    OP

    Newcomer morgan8200 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I tried what you just sent me and it didn't work. I just read somewhere that on newer wii bootmii can't be installed to Boot2, not sure if this is true...I have a newer wii...fall 2008.

    I am being honest. This is exactly what happened..

    Start up my wii and loaded the SD/USD loader from the HBC.
    I mounted my USB drive
    I went to install LEGO Indina Jones 2 [PAL]
    It started installing. It was going to take 30 minutes so I decided to just turn off my wii
    A black screen flashed up with of code on it which I didn't see what it said
    Then my wiii wsa bricked.

    I'm ok, with sending in my wii to nintendo and paying the $75 if that is my last resort. I just don't want them to fine having unauthorized software
     
  10. morgan8200
    OP

    Newcomer morgan8200 Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    United States
    I just pulled up my install.log and it looks like I installed it on boot2 correctly


    -----------------------------
    Ok for boot2 install

    preparations done!The test results are in:


     Using IOS versions: Installer: 34, HBC: 61, DVDX: 36

    The Homebrew Channel:
    Can be installed
    DVDX: Can be installed
    BootMii:
    Can be installed
    A
    BootMii install requires a SD card.

    Runtime
    files will be written, these are required to
    properly boot BootMii.


    Mounting SD card...

    Creating directory '/bootmii'...

    Writing '/bootmii/armboot.bin'...
    Writing '/bootmii/ppcboot.elf'...

    Writing config file...

    Done.

    A BootMii install requires a SD card.


    Runtime files will be written, these are required to
    properly boot BootMii.


    Mounting SD card...
    Creating directory '/bootmii'...
    Writing '/bootmii/armboot.bin'...

    Writing '/bootmii/ppcboot.elf'...
    Writing config file...
    Skipped, file already exists


    Done.

    Testing usable NAND blocks...
    testing block 3
    writing test pattern
    verifying test pattern

    Erasing test pattern
    testing block 4
    writing test pattern

    verifying test pattern
    Erasing test pattern
    testing block 5

    writing test pattern
    verifying test pattern
    Erasing test pattern

    Calling boot2_run(1, 34)
    Waiting for boot2 to load ...
    boot2 loaded, waiting for IOS

    IOS loaded: IOS34 v13.20
    IPC started (487)
    Erasing NAND block 3
    Writing NAND block 3

    Verifying NAND block 3 to block 0 of BootMii
    Erasing NAND block 4
    Writing NAND block 4

    Verifying NAND block 4 to block 1 of BootMii
    Calling boot2_run(1, 34)

    Waiting for boot2 to load ...
    boot2 loaded, waiting for IOS
    IOS loaded: IOS34 v13.20
    IPC started (488)
     

Share This Page