Lost saves in EZ Flash 3-in-1

Discussion in 'GBA - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by triften, Dec 21, 2008.

Dec 21, 2008

Lost saves in EZ Flash 3-in-1 by triften at 9:06 PM (2,745 Views / 0 Likes) 8 replies

1. triften
    OP

Newcomer triften Advanced Member

United States
    I just bought an EZ Flash V Plus with the 3-in-1 expansion. My problem is with retaining GBA saves. I can transfer/play ROMS alright, but every time I power off I lose this information (or it becomes corrupted). I have tried both GBA ExpLoader 57 and 58a, and I've used the SRAM patcher in GBATA to load ROMS directly from my EZ Flash kernel. NOR memory seems to hold the games like it should.

Has anyone heard of the 3-in-1 arriving with a dead battery? Maybe it sat in the warehouse too long. Beware of DealExtreme.com ...

I have no experience soldering, and no tools to replace my battery. Is it worth the cost/time to try it myself, or should I order a new 3-in-1 and hope for the best? I welcome any store suggestions (I'm thinking KickGaming.com).

2. john.jingle

Member john.jingle GBAtemp Regular

United States
    I have the same exact problem and I also believe that my battery is dead.
    I think there are some games that save correctly (but even if you save incorrectly, your save data won't be corrupt, it just won't register your last save point) like Castlevania AoS if you power off your DS and immediately turn your DS back on and start the game.

The battery the EZFlash3-in-1 uses is a cr1220. if you want to solder it yourself, you can probably buy the battery at radioshack (make sure it has the tabs for easy soldering). i have no personal experience with soldering but since I'm in college, I'm bound to find someone who does.

3. Splych

Member Splych GBAtemp's Lurker

Philippines
    I ordered one from KickGaming just last week.

I am experiencing the same problem as you.

I have fixed it, but still learning on how to get it to stay (My Saves)

Try doing this: