Lord of the Rings: Conquest

Discussion in 'NDS - Console and Game Discussions' started by imz, May 24, 2008.

May 24, 2008

Lord of the Rings: Conquest by imz at 8:32 PM (2,480 Views / 0 Likes) 20 replies

  1. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    So, I was browsing around IGN looking out for news of coming releases and I happened to come across an interview with Eric"Giz" Gewirtz, the director behind the upcoming game 'Lord of the Rings: Conquest' the game is being developed by the company 'Pandemic Studios' the same company which made star wars battlefront 1 and 2. The game pits players on battlefields from both the films and books, and some are created by the developers, but unlike most battlefield games its not an RTS it has a combat system very similar to that of the star wars battlefront games and as I read the interview it really seemed like a huge project. But what happened to catch my eye was on the right hand side of the screen where it had game details it said 'Also Available On: PlayStation 3, PC, Nintendo DS' that's right, nintendo DS! At first I thought this was a mistake but then I searched the title on both IGN and gamespot and each website listed the same four platforms for the game: XBOX 360, PS3, PC and Nintendo DS. I doubt that both sites could make the same mistake, so if this is true, then w0000000t!!!!!!! [​IMG]

    I've been waiting for this moment for a very long time

    gamespot Lord of the Rings: Conquest DS page:
    http://uk.gamespot.com/ds/action/lordofthe...=result;title;3

    IGN Lord of the Rings: Conquest DS page:
    http://uk.ds.ign.com/objects/142/14252978.html
     


  2. 0xyG3N

    Banned 0xyG3N Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2007
    Messages:
    359
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Ive heard it come out in the end of 2008
    I dont expect much of this
     
  3. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    yes but I'm a huge LOTR fan,and have been so for the past few years now, I've been waiting for even an announcement like this, and how can you not expect much from it when they haven't released any info on it yet? We don't even now the genre yet, I mean we do for the console versions but of course the DS game will be completely separate, they can't just scale down a huge console game onto the DS, it just wouldn't be able to handle it.
     
  4. DarkUli

    Member DarkUli GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    130
    Location:
    Portugal
    Country:
    Portugal
    Smells like win, but maybe this would be better on the PC, rather on such a small screen like a DS.

    I'm predicting if it's two opposing fronts, bad guys go on the upper screen and good guys go below, then welcome some turn-based action.
     
  5. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    That's pretty awesome, if only to finally have a LotR game on the DS. I'm surprised it's taken this long to put a LotR game on the system, considering the popularity of both LotR and the DS. Plus, being developed by Pandemic is a nice plus (if it actually ends up being developed by them). Since it's being published by EA, however, I will gladly play this game for free while I laugh with glee at how I didn't give any more money to that company. My hatred for EA grows with each day, and any opportunity I can get to exploit their wares, I will gladly take it with spite in my heart. [​IMG]
     
  6. Hadrian

    Former Staff Hadrian Better than Craigslist

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    Messages:
    16,978
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Think it was announced in March or sometime.

    Never got into LOTR the book or film but I'm hoping good things from this as the DS could do with more of these, especially if Pandemic are the ones handling the DS version, I know there is nothing official about who is developing it.
     
  7. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    I have high hopes, since this is coming from the battlefront team. but waht I can expect is them to try and do the graphics like what nintendo is doing for Fire emblem DS.

    I am a huge LOTR fanatic, I hope they include stuff from the silmarillion. i wanna play as melkor and isildur


    ten bucks i'll own y'all asses with the dwarves.
     
  8. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Well, that's the only thing I'm not so sure about. I'm a huge Tolkien fan, and Pandemic has made some good games, but I find it hard to believe that they will be the ones working on the DS version. But who knows. Supposedly, Maxis (also an EA developer) is working on all versions of Spore, including the DS version, so it's possible. I'll be waiting to hear for sure, though. Of course, that's no guarantee the DS version will be great, even if it's made by Pandemic. They've made some duds in the past, as well, not to mention the fact that EA is god-damned cheap when it comes to the resources they dole out for games made on Nintendo platforms.
     
  9. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Here's some XBOX 360 screens, not bad!

    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]



    [​IMG]




    [​IMG]
     
  10. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    lmao all the images for this game on gamespot are from Lord of the Rings online
     
  11. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No they're not, they seem to have 5 at the moment, 4 of which i posted and another one featuring an ent
     
  12. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    no i meant under the gamespot link you posted all the gameplay pics were from lotro
     
  13. Raestloz

    Member Raestloz GBATemp's Lone Wolf

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,775
    Location:
    The World of Illusion
    Country:
    Indonesia
    They are 360 screens, which will be very different in NDS. :sigh: I won't have high hopes
     
  14. Dylan

    Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    who cared about the ds version! the 360 screens look sweet!
     
  15. GeekyGuy

    Global Moderator GeekyGuy Professional loafer

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2007
    Messages:
    4,739
    Country:
    United States
    Well, this is a thread about the DS version, I believe, and it is in the NDS - Games forum, so I'm guessing at least a few of us "cared about the ds version!" [​IMG]
     
  16. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    well there doesn't seem to be any screen shots in the link I posted, but then again mine is directly linked to the UK site, maybe the US site has some slight variations
     
  17. silent sniper

    Member silent sniper !dennaB

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    1,392
    Location:
    Vancouver, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    well, if the ds version does end up sucking, i'll get a 360 just for this.
     
  18. Pimpmynintendo

    Member Pimpmynintendo GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    608
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Country:
    United States
    click on your UK gamespot link and click on images
     
  19. Dylan

    Member Dylan 100 MILES AND RUNNIN'

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    haha there was a typo there obviously
     
  20. imz
    OP

    Member imz GBAtemp's vigilante

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2007
    Messages:
    825
    Location:
    Gotham city
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    oh I see, I don't normally use that tab as when the screen shots are released they are posted on the main page of the game
     

Share This Page