Looks like you can move most DSiware to 3DS

Discussion in '3DS - Games & Content' started by how_do_i_do_that, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. how_do_i_do_that
    OP

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Looks like you can move most DSiware to 3DS

    Linky here: here1
    Linky here: here2


    You won't have to rebuy all those games like Shantea, etc again.

    It is going to be like palpark, YOU PERMENANTLY MOVE them from the DSi to the 3DS. Don't expect to move it back.

    For those that do trade ins to upgrade, this might be an worth while option. But you have to transfer first before you trade in your old DSi.
     
  2. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Good move by Nintendo, all the 4k points I've spent so far on DSiWare won't go to waste, of course taking into account that ALL of them DO get transferred to the 3DS.
     
  3. ProtoKun7

    Global Moderator ProtoKun7 GBAtemp Time Lord Regenerations: 3

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2009
    Messages:
    7,480
    Location:
    Gallifrey
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Didn't we already know this? [​IMG]
    I did anyway; it's been mentioned months ago, but it's still good.

    Warning: Spoilers inside!
     
  4. how_do_i_do_that
    OP

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    It was speculated, but mostly confirmed for everyone at the 3ds announcements in the usa and europe.

    You might be refering to moving 3ds ware tiles to a new 3ds. Moving DSiware to a 3DS was announced at the announcements.
     
  5. KingVamp

    Member KingVamp Great... AETHER!

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    9,596
    Country:
    United States
    That also mean not used points right?
     
  6. awssk8er

    Member awssk8er GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Country:
    United States
    Sweet idea on Nintendo's part.

    I don't have any DSi games that I would ever want to play again so I'll most likely leave it on there.
     
  7. how_do_i_do_that
    OP

    Member how_do_i_do_that Blue Wizard is about to die.

    Joined:
    May 16, 2008
    Messages:
    4,808
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well if you have left over points, you can't transfer those because it is tied directly to the system.

    Unless you set it up on the nintendo account. Then the points would be tied to that account and not the handheld.





    Joystick's article on the points is that they are tied to the eshop you choose: wii, dsi, 3ds.

    Joystick's article on it here.
     
  8. Isabelyes

    Member Isabelyes GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    557
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I'm assuming European DSiWare won't work on an American DSi?
    ...sucks. >->
     
  9. DiscostewSM

    Member DiscostewSM GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,798
    Location:
    Sacramento, California
    Country:
    United States
    I don't have a DSi, but that won't stop me from having DSi games on the 3DS.
     
  10. _Chaz_

    Member _Chaz_ GBAtemp's Official Mook™

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    5,624
    Country:
    United States
    lol, never thought of it like that.
     

Share This Page