Looking for noise blocking earphones

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by leafeon34, Mar 11, 2016.

1. leafeon34
    OP

leafeon34 GBAtemp Fan

Sep 30, 2014
    At uni when I'm studying there is always background noise. People walking around, people talking, someone watching anime without headphones and so on. It is distracting.

so what I'm after is a pair of earphones that blocks 99.9% of sound so unless someone physically touches me or waves their hand in front of my face I can keep my concentration.

The earphones I'm after don't have to play music, just be comfortable and block sound.

2. FAST6191

FAST6191 Techromancer

pip Reporter
    Nov 21, 2005
    In that case there are three or four things to consider

1) Basic builder style ear defenders. Old school ones will attempt to block everything, or at least drive everything right down, but newer ones will just try to block or attenuate loud or harsh sounds -- far nicer to not have to remove them to still have a conversation, and then risk hearing damage if someone starts up on the jackhammer right next to you. They come in over ear and ear insert flavours, ear inserts almost definitely being the attenuate sound variety as people also pick them up for concerts where you want the sound, just not ear damagingly loud.
    2) Active noise cancellation headphones. These will try all sorts of fun with sound physics to make it so no sound other than the one you want will reach your ears. I am personally not a great fan of these and some people really struggle and fall over and get seasick (I have that for in ear headphones) so see if you can try some out before you spend out.