Looking for good affordable headphones

Discussion in 'General Off-Topic Chat' started by Lucifer666, Dec 11, 2015.

1. Lucifer666
    OP

Lucifer666 all the world needs is me

Apr 22, 2011
    The Fourth Dimension
    I'm not an expert at this stuff

I don't care about wireless (in fact I'd prefer not charging my headphones), I don't care about in-line mics and though that's definitely a plus I prefer more quality within the same budget, I don't like earphones (the ones that go in) because my ears get dirty pretty quick. I'm looking for the over/around ear sort. I'm OK with the ones that are on-ear, so long as they don't cause headaches after hours of use due to pressing against the ear

I have a pair of Sennheiser HD201s which I was very happy with. I considered ordering them again. The problem is that they don't fold, and as a busy college student I put them into my heavy school bag quite a bit so they lasted a good year or so before breaking. The bass is a bit weak; that didn't bother me too much until I sometimes switched to my apple EarPods and realised how much I was missing out on. Also they're pretty ugly.

Basically all I need is
    • Over/around ear (on-ear is OK as long as it's not headache-inducing)
    • Good quality, actually audible bass
    • Foldable (OR just durable)
    • Wearing them in public isn't social suicide
    What do you guys suggest?

2. amoulton

amoulton GBAtemp Fan

Nov 18, 2014
    United States
    Franklin, Massachusetts
    Before I had real money to spend on headphones, I really loved Philips O'Neill 'The Stretch'. Durable with quite good bass response.

3. Attacker3

Attacker3 GBAtemp Regular

Mar 24, 2015
    Canada
    Underground, in my mother's basement.
    Nothing by Beats by Dr. Dre or anything of the like. I personally like the MDR-7506 from Sony. Good quality headphones that are used by professionals and are fairly cheap headphones wise.

4. Duo8

Duo8 I don't like video games

Jul 16, 2013